Jump to content

Canyon Speedway Park Salute to Indy this Weekend


Recommended Posts

CSP Salute to Indy this weekend

PEORIA, Ariz. (May 19, 2015) Two big nights of racing action are on tap for Canyon Speedway Park as the track hosts the Fourth Annual Salute to Indy on Saturday and Sunday.

The USAC Southwest Sprint Cars will headline both nights of fierce competition atop the 1/3-mile clay oval with Micro Sprints, Arizona Differential Pure Stocks, Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive Renegades and AMA Mod Lites in action as well.

Both nights of racing action get under way at 7:00 p.m. after an open practice session on Friday night from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

CSPs Salute to Indy is an event that R.J. Johnson has enjoyed in recent years, picking up three of four feature wins over the past two years. After sweeping through both nights of the 2013 edition, Johnson split last years Salute to Indy honors with Josh Pelkey.

Dalten Gabbard and Colby Copeland split Salute to Indy wins in the inaugural version in 2012.

Winner of the three of the past four Salute to Indy features, Johnson has also topped the most recent pair of USAC Southwest non-wing Sprint Car events at CSP.

Atop series points, Johnsons victory streak of four in a row overall was finally put to a halt this past weekend by Charles Davis, Jr., who is just 53 points off Johnsons lead pace.

Pelkey is another 17 points back in third with reigning Western World champ Matt Rossi and Stevie Sussex also among the current top five in USAC Southwest points. The balance of the top ten includes Michael Colegrove, Shon Deskins, Mike Martin, Brian Hosford and Bruce St. James.

Since Gary Winter topped two of three Winter Challenge events in Micro Sprint action, Colton Hardy and Cliff Cormany have taken recent wins.

Winner of two features, Chris McCurdy, Jr., has moved atop the Arizona Differential Pure Stock point charts with a four-point advantage over Matt Martinez with Zack Madrid another three points back in third. Steve Bitting and Joe Vlasity are also among the top five.

Daniel Romero has claimed two of three Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive Renegade features with Tyler Merrill the most recent AMA Mod Lite victor.

Tickets for the Fourth Annual Salute to Indy are just $16 each night, with a $3 discount for Military, Seniors and Students. Children ages 7-12 are $6, with children 6 and under admitted free. VIP passes are available for $20 each night.

Hotel Information can be found at http://www.canyonspeedwaypark.com/fan-info/lodging/ or by calling the Courtyard by Marriott at 623-580-8844.

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings, sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News. The track update registration can be found at the top of the www.canyonspeedwaypark.com home page.

The entire 2015 Canyon Schedule can be previewed online at http://www.canyonspeedwaypark.com/schedule/.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway. For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE (7223) or check online at www.canyonspeedwaypark.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...