Jump to content

Last Lap Pass Nets Morrison Win on Opening Night at Salina Speedway

Recommended Posts

Last Lap Pass Nets Morrison Win on Opening Night at Salina Speedway

by Dusty Wiegert


SALINA, Kan. -- Mother nature finally shined on the Salina Speedway on Friday May 1st as the Browynn Birdsong Childhood Cancer Awareness Night kicked off the 2015 season.


With seven divisions in action there was plenty of entertainment for the packed grandstands, who were on to help support Browynn Birdsong's family on Childhood Cancer Awareness Night.


The finish of the night occured in the 1st Class Chassis IMCA Modified main event. Twenty-three of the best in the area checked in for the feature, with Corey Lagroon showing the way for a majority of the race after starting third. Lagroon was briefly challenge by many drivers before seventh starting Morrison closed the gap. As the field took the white flag Morrison dived low in corners one and two and it stuck to overpower Lagroon out of two and to the finish line. With Lagroon finishing runner-up Van Gemmill followed in third with Danny Holt in fourth. Clay Sellard, Lagroon, and Gemmill won the heat races.


Morrison also came close in the Auto House Mod Lite feature, but had to settle for second to defending Champion Justin Kinderknecht. Kinderknecht placed his Chris Unruh owned entry in first from the pole and held it despite numerous challenges from Morrison. Morrison followed in second with Brandon Gray third and Mike Zrubek fourth. Morrison and Gray won the heat races.


It looked as if the Smith show would continue in the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Late Model division early in the feature event. Dan Smith jumped out to an early lead but had a pack of competitors in hot pursuit. Darrick Klima came from eighth to battle door to door with Smith and take away the top spot. From there Klima was untouchable, piloting the #2K to the opening night win. Dan Smith finished second followed by Delbert Smith and Chris Kratzer. Delbert Smith and Kratzer won the heats.


Scott Miller has picked up plenty of wins in the past couple of seasons, and continued his streak this time aboard a IMCA sanctioned Coors Light Stock Car. He picked up the win but was hounded by Arnold Williams for much of the race. Williams finished second with Jerry Phillips making his return to finish third with Duane Toyne fourth. Williams and Miller won the heat races.


Daniel Gottschalk solidified his stand for the 2015 Championship with an early points lead after capturing the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMod feature. Gottschalk started eighth on the grid and was able to work past veteran driver Rodger Peck in his return to the track to pick up the hardware. Peck finished second, Kurtis Pihl third, and Brenden Damon fourth. Gottschalk and Tyler Post won the heat races.


Tommy Fose obliterated the field in the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock division. Fose made short work of Aaron McBride to take the lead and powered away to a decisive victory. Travis Coop came from tenth to finish second with Duane Wahrman third and McBride falling back to fourth. Wahrman, Shay Simoneau, and Fose won the heats.


For his first time at the track M&H Motors IMCA Sport Compact feature winner Randy Murphy made it look easy, besting a second finishing Art Herzog for the trophy. Art Bird came home third with Dallas Dunn rounding out the top four. Paco Montague won the heat race.


Fans were treated to excellent racing all night as the heat races each paid $50 to win courtesy of Don Damon and Xtreme Motor Sports.


Racing continues next Friday night May 8th with the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Late Models, 1st Class Chassis IMCA Modifieds, Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMods, Auto House Mod Lites, and Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stocks on the card. The night's racing will be presented by featured sponsors Glass Masters and Will Electric.


For more information on the Salina Speedway:


Visit our website at www.racesalinaspeedway.com

Visit and Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/salinaspeedway

Visit and Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/salinaspeedway1

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...