Jump to content

Jimmy Owens wins St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway


Recommended Posts

Jimmy Owens wins St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway


MACON, IL (April 30, 2015) Jimmy Owens scored his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Thursday Night at Macon Speedway. Owens inherited the lead when race-long front-runners Bobby Pierce and Billy Moyer pitted to change flat tires. Owens then led the rest of the way to win the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100.



Courtesy of LOLMDS PR


Trailing Owens to the finish line were Jason Feger, Devon Moran, Shannon Babb, and Ryan Unzicker.


"It feels great to get the first Lucas Oil Series win for Bryan Rowland. We learned a lot from last year running here and we made the proper changes tonight and got the job done," said Owens, who collected his 53rd career LOLMDS victory.


"We came here last year for the first time in a late model. We nearly got lapped early on by Bobby [Pierce], but we made our way back to finish third. Tonight, I guess Pierce and Moyer cut down tires and that left the door open for us. You have to hit that turn three and four at an angle to scotch it off. It worked out pretty good."


Pierce and Moyer battled back and forth for the lead several times as lapped traffic was causing Pierce issues.


Pierce had led the first 20 laps until Moyer took the lead on lap 21. Pierce fought back and retook the point on lap 32.


Pierce and Moyer ran one-two until a fateful caution on lap 58 as both drivers would go pit side with flat right rear tires. Owens then inherited lead and held on till the end.


"I would like to thank Widow Wax Car Care Products, Sunoco Race Fuels, Red Line Oil, Keyser Manufacturing, Ford, Midwest Sheet Metal, Cornett Engines, and Club 29 Race Cars. It is a great way to start the weekend."


Feger, who has ran a limited schedule thus far in 2015 was happy with his second-place finish. "I am tickled to death with this run. After coming back from a broken arm, we have had bad luck so far, but this makes it a whole lot better," said the driver of the Cheap Cars, Pro Tire and Automotive, Griffin Sign Shop, and Titan #25.


Moran made his first appearance at Macon and came home third in the final rundown. "I have to thank Jerry Hupp for getting us to come over here. We weren't going to come, but he wanted us over here. To place third against this stacked field is just tremendous. We have never been here, and it was fun."


Completing the top ten were Chris Brown, Brandon Sheppard, Bobby Pierce, Don O'Neal, and Eddie Carrier Jr.


In preliminary action, Billy Moyer set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 30 entrants, with a lap of 10.228 seconds. Bobby Pierce set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 10.558 seconds. Billy Moyer, Jimmy Owens, Bobby Pierce, and Brandon Sheppard won their respective heat races. Devin Moran and Jonathan Davenport won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary - Thursday, April 30th, 2015

St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 - Macon Speedway - Macon, IL


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Billy Moyer / 10.228 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Bobby Pierce / 10.558 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Kevin Weaver, Ryan Unzicker, Steve Francis, Chris Brown, Ryan Little, Greg Kimmons, Kyle Logue


FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Don O'Neal, Daryn Klein, Devin Moran, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chuck Mitchell


Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Jason Feger, Scott Bloomquist, Jake Little, Jonathan Davenport, Chris Dick, Dennis Erb, Jr., Andrew Barnes


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Jared Landers, Shannon Babb, Levi Kissinger, Dennis Vandermeersch, Terry Babb, Mike Benedum


Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Devin Moran, Chris Brown, Ryan Little, Greg Kimmons, Kyle Logue, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chuck Mitchell


Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Erb, Jr., Terry Babb, Andrew Barnes, Mike Benedum, Chris Dick, Dennis Vandermeersch


Feature Finish (100 Laps):




Race Statistics
Entrants: 30
Lap Leaders: Bobby Pierce (Laps 1 - 20); Billy Moyer (Laps 21 - 31); Bobby Pierce (Laps 32 - 58); Jimmy Owens (Laps 59 - 100)
Cautions: Terry Babb (Lap 22); Steve Francis (Lap 53); Bobby Pierce (Lap 58); Jared Landers (Lap 58); Brandon Sheppard (Lap 80); Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 83); Jared Landers (Lap 95); Jared Landers (Lap 97)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson Jr.; Mike Benedum
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jimmy Owens
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Devin Moran (Started: 17th; Finished: 3rd; Advanced 14 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performer of the Race: Chris Brown
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Rookie of the Race: Chris Brown
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Black Diamond/Club 29 Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Kenny Holt (Jimmy Owens)
CV Products Fastest Lap of the Race: Bobby Pierce (Lap #6 - 12.205 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Bobby Pierce (47 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Bobby Pierce
Time of Race: 62 minutes 17 seconds


Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...