Jump to content

Canyon Clash time at Canyon Speedway Park


Recommended Posts

Canyon Clash Time at CSP

by Lonnie Wheatley


PEORIA, Ariz. (April 28, 2015) – The spotlight shines Saturday night at Canyon Speedway Park as the wingless USAC Southwest Sprint Cars headline the Fifth Annual Canyon Clash atop the 1/3-mile clay oval near Phoenix.

Following an open practice on Friday from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday’s Canyon Clash fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Along with the USAC Southwest forces, Saturday’s action also includes the 9th World Vapor IMCA Modifieds, Micro Sprints and Arizona Differential Pure Stocks.

While Charles Davis, Jr., defends his Canyon Clash title on Saturday, it’s reigning series champion R.J. Johnson that carries the hot hand into the much-anticipated tilt.

Johnson has reeled off three consecutive USAC Southwest triumphs, a streak that began with the March 28 Hank Arnold Memorial at CSP.

Johnson, who claimed three CSP triumphs last year in USAC Southwest action, has built a 37-point lead over Davis, Jr., in the series title chase on the strength of his three recent wins with Matt Rossi, Stevie Sussex and Mike Martin also among the current top five.

After Jeremy Sherman topped the inaugural pair of Canyon Clash events, Johnson took 2013 honors before Davis, Jr., outdueled Johnson to win the 2014 edition.

Bo Partain and Mike Strobl have topped the opening two rounds of 9th World Vapor IMCA Modified action at CSP, but it’s George Fronsman out to the early track championship points lead with a slim three-point lead over Shawn Zelenka. Partain, Garrett Funk and Bryson Curry round out the current top five as only nine points separate those top five drivers.

Chris McCurdy, Jr., holds a one-point lead over Matt Martinez in the Arizona Differential Pure Stock points chase with Zack Madrid and Steve Bitting tied for third, just six points off the lead pace. Martinez topped the most recent event on April 4 to put a stop to McCurdy’s win streak at two.

Colton Hardy topped the most recent Micro Sprint feature during the Hank Arnold Memorial on March 28 after Gary Winter topped two of three Winter Challenge events.

Tickets for Saturday’s Fifth Annual Canyon Clash are just $16, with a $3 discount for Military, Seniors and Students. Children ages 7-12 are $6, with children 6 and under admitted free. VIP passes are available for $20.

Hotel Information can be found at http://www.canyonspeedwaypark.com/fan-info/lodging/ or by calling the Courtyard by Marriott at 623-580-8844.

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings, sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News. The track update registration can be found at the top of the www.canyonspeedwaypark.com home page.

The entire 2015 Canyon Schedule can be previewed online at http://www.canyonspeedwaypark.com/schedule/.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway. For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE (7223) or check online at www.canyonspeedwaypark.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...