Jump to content

LOLMDS Awards Banquet Set for Thursday Night


Recommended Posts

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Awards Banquet Set for Thursday Night

WAYCROSS, GA (December 10, 2014) - The 2014 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series year-end awards banquet will take place Thursday night, December 11th in Carmel, IN at the Lucas Oil Estate. The series will honor and present awards to the Lucas Oil Champion, Dunn-Benson Ford Rookie of the Year and the top ten in the final point standings.

Other awards to be presented include: the COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Year, Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Year, Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Year, Miller Welders Fast Time of the Year, Simpson Products Top Five Finisher of the Year, Allstar Performance Performer of the Year, Keyser MFG Point Leader Spoiler Challenge Winner, Sunoco Race For Gas Award, Wrisco Most Feature Wins Award, WELD Wheels Most Popular Driver of the Year, FAST Shafts Most Heat Race Wins Award, ASi Crown Jewel Cup - Presented by DirtonDirt.com Award, Bad Boy Mowers TV Challenge-Presented by E3 Spark Plugs Award and the Mike Swims Award of Excellence.

Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN, driver of the Clint Bowyer Racing car #5 will be honored with his first series championship. O'Neal, who finished second in the series points title chase three times (2012, 2006, 2005), finished 65 points ahead of Jimmy Owens to win the 2014 series championship. O'Neal won seven (7) events on the tour and finished in the top five (5) in twenty-six (26) series point events in 2014. O'Neal becomes the oldest driver in the history of dirt late model racing to win a national touring series championship at age fifty.

In the final series championship point standings, Jimmy Owens (IN) finished second, followed by Scott Bloomquist (TN), Steve Francis (KY) and Eddie Carrier Jr (WV), to round out the top five. Sixth through tenth in the series championship point standings include: Earl Pearson Jr. (FL), John Blankenship (WV), Jared landers (AR), Dennis Erb Jr (IL) and Jason Hughes (OK).

Jason Hughes of Westville, OK will be honored as the 2014 Dunn-Benson Ford Rookie of the Year. Hughes beat out fellow Rookie of the Year contender, Jason Papich from Arroyo Grande, CA by 45 points. Both drivers have battled against some amazing drivers all season long on the tour, while competing at new venues for both drivers, for most of the season.

"We look forward to honoring all the great drivers and teams that competed on the LOLMDS in 2014 at the awards banquet Thursday night. It has been a great season for the LOLMDS, filled with great stories and accomplishments. We look forward to our awards banquet and a chance to recognize all our great partners and track promoters that support the series. It will be a great night of celebration as we reflect back on the 2014 season", stated Ritchie Lewis, Director, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

For the latest breaking news about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the 2015 tour schedule, TV schedule, drivers, sponsors and all the information about the series visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.

Follow the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on the social media outlets at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and https://twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...