Jump to content

Sussex snares Hank Arnold Memorial at CSP


Recommended Posts

Sussex snares Hank Arnold Memorial at CSP

by Lonnie Wheatley


PEORIA, Ariz. (October 18, 2014) – Stevie Sussex inked his name into the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars victory ledger for the first time by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s Hank Arnold Memorial atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While Sussex enjoyed his first taste of USAC Southwest glory, other winners on the night included Matt Martinez in Pure Stocks, Gary Winter in Micro Sprints and Cory Brown in Dwarf Cars.

Starting from the pole position, Sussex raced to the checkered flag in the non-stop feature event ahead of Mike Martin with Matt Rossi, Charles Davis, Jr., and Josh Pelkey rounding out the top five. Current USAC Southwest points leader R.J. Johnson crossed the stripe sixth after starting 13th.

After reeling off three consecutive Pure Stock wins in the heat of summer, Matt Martinez snapped a four-race winless streak by racing from eighth to take victory honors ahead of John Parmeley, 13th-starter Zack Madrid, Joe Vlasity and 16th-starter Ty Warner.

Gary Winter advanced from fourth to take his first Micro Sprint feature win of the year at CSP ahead of Colton Hardy and Dennis Carrier, while Cory Brown was a first time winner in the Dwarf Car ranks as well by crossing the stripe ahead of Mike Strobl and Brian Stehr.

Next up at Canyon Speedway Park is the Mr. Excitement 40 Tribute to Terry Belcher on November 7-8 featuring West Coast Late Models vs. CDM Late Models along with IMCA Modifieds, Pure Stocks and Renegades.

Canyon Speedway Park
Hank Arnold Memorial
October 18, 2014 Results:

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 7k-Bruce St. James, 2. 21az-Stevie Sussex, 3. 16-Mike Martin, 4. 20x-Shon Deskins, 5. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 6. 32b-Brian Hosford, 7. 98-Matt Lundy, 8. 93-Justin Quinn.

Second Heat: 1. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 2. 5-Tye Mihocko, 3. 02-Matt Rossi, 4. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 5. 11c-Michael Curtis, 6. 12-Josh Pelkey, 7. 0g-Glenn Styres, 8. 28-Mike Morin.

“A” Feature: 1. 21az-Stevie Sussex, 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 02-Matt Rossi, 4. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 5. 12-Josh Pelkey, 6. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 7. 7k-Bruce St. James, 8. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 9. 20x-Shon Deskins, 10. 11c-Michael Curtis, 11. 32b-Brian Hosford, 12. 5-Tye Mihocko, 13. 0g-Glenn Styres, 14. 93-Justin Quinn, 15. 98-Matt Lundy, 16. 28-Mike Morin.

Pure Stocks:

First Heat: 1. 92p-John Parmeley, 2. 17L-Nick Langer, 3. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 4. 40sr-Jeff Stafford, 5. 75-Jason Suchta, 6. 13m-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 7. 5m-Zack Madrid, 8. 6s-Christian Torres, 9. 28-Mike Herrera, 10. 2jr-Robert McClelland.

Second Heat: 1. 15-Speedy Madrid, 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 3-Ashley Stafford, 4. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 5. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 6. 24-Josh Carter, 7. 11-Brad Masciotra, 8. 01-Ty Warner, 9. XX-Chuck Thornton, 10. 46r-Dane Reblin.

“A” Feature: 1. 21m-Matt Martinez, 2. 92p-John Parmeley, 3. 5m-Zack Madrid, 4. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 5. 01-Ty Warner, 6. 40sr-Jeff Stafford, 7. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 8. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 9. 75-Jason Suchta, 10. 17L-Nick Langer, 11. 28-Mike Herrera, 12. 13m-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 13. 3-Ashley Stafford, 14. 6s-Christian Torres, 15. 24-Josh Carter, 16. XX-Chuck Thornton, 17. 15-Speedy Madrid, 18. 11-Brad Masciotra, 19. 2jr-Robert McClelland, 20. 46r-Dane Reblin.

Micro Sprints:

First Heat: 1. 6-Dave Van Ess, 2. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 3. 53-Joe Pritts, 4. 29-Paul Martin, 5. 50-Cliff Cormany, 6. 94-Cassie Klenkie, 7. 12-David Tardiff, 8. 10-Ryan Hennessey, 9. 101-Jim Branum.

Second Heat: 1. 41-Colton Hardy, 2. 2-Dennis Carrier, 3. 6az-Gary Winter, 4. 7k-Ian Koons, 5. 42-Kenny Hilton, 6. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 7. 71-Cody Batten, 8. 77-Dustin Cormany.

“A” Feature: 1. 6az-Gary Winter, 2. 41-Colton Hardy, 3. 2-Dennis Carrier, 4. 6-Dave Van Ess, 5. 94-Cassie Klenkie, 6. 12-David Tardiff, 7. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 8. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 9. 50-Cliff Cormany, 10. 42-Kenny Hilton, 11. 29-Paul Martin, 12. 101-Jim Branum, 13. 53-Joe Pritts, 14. 71-Cody Batten, 15. 10-Ryan Hennessey, 16. 7k-Ian Koons, 17. 77-Dustin Cormany.

Dwarf Cars:

First Heat: 1. 47-Steve Kapaun, 2. 43-Tim Cotherman, 3. 04-Mike Strobl, 4. 44-Daniel Lamm, 5. 22-David Brodeur, 6. 11-Heather Hennessey, 7. 14-Dillon Miller, 8. 3-Kevin Cain.

Second Heat: 1. 46-Kevin Davis, 2. 10-Helen Hennessey, 3. 29-Cory Brown, 4. 18-Keaton Swane, 5. 31-Greg Loper, 6. 3x-Russ Maurer, 7. 90-Randy Deines.

Third Heat: 1. 88-Ed Schuhlke, 2. 76-Brian Stehr, 3. 52-Matthew Mabbit, 4. 9-Glen Branham, 5. 60-Jacob Mabbit, 6. 69-John Levitt, 7. 95-Rat Stafford.

“A” Feature: 1. 29-Cory Brown, 2. 04-Mike Strobl, 3. 76-Brian Stehr, 4. 43-Tim Cotherman, 5. 47-Steve Kapaun, 6. 22-David Brodeur, 7. 31-Greg Loper, 8. 46-Kevin Davis, 9. 10-Helen Hennessey, 10. 60-Jacob Mabbit, 11. 90-Randy Deines, 12. 11-Heather Hennessey, 13. 14-Dillon Miller, 14. 88-Ed Schuhlke, 15. 3x-Russ Maurer, 16. 69-John Levitt, 17. 44-Daniel Lamm, 18. 52-Matthew Mabbit, 19. 18-Keaton Swane, 20. 9-Glen Branham, 21. 95-Rat Stafford.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...