Jump to content

2015 Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour begins with $10K to win event


Recommended Posts

2015 Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour to Begin with $10,000 to win Ronald Laney Memorial


TULSA, Okla. (October 8, 2014) One of the most highly anticipated events in dirt track racing is without a doubt the Winter Nationals at Tampa's East Bay Raceway Park. A gathering of the nation's finest dirt track warriors, it's seen by many fans as the official kickoff to the dirt track racing season.


The last time the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real was a part of the Winter Nationals lineup was 2008 with Kenny Adams, Terry McCarl, and Jason Johnson each garnering victories at "The Clay by the Bay".


In 2015, that list of winners will grow as officials with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real and East Bay Raceway Park are pleased to announce the National Tour's 2015 season opener at the 39th annual Winter Nationals and 14th annual Ronald Laney Memorial, happening February 19-21, 2015.


"I'm looking forward to having the ASCS (American Sprint Car Series) back in the house. They've always done a great job for us and always put a good show so hopefully, it'll be another homerun for us," commented East Bay Raceway Park Promoter, AL Varnadore.


Beginning in 1999 as the "King of the 360's", Gary Wright won the inaugural event worth $4,000.


Ronald Laney captured the coveted crown in 2000 but would not get his second victory at East Bay as the Humble, Texas racer tragically lost his life in 2002 at the age of 29 after hard contact with the wall exiting turn-two sent Laney flipping into oncoming traffic. Racing continued with the event renamed the Ronald Laney Memorial. Tennessee's Jason Sides was ultimately crowned the 2002 champion.


What has become a truly star studded event will offer drivers a champion's payout of $10,000 with preliminary nights paying $2,000 to win. Oklahoma's Wayne Johnson claimed the winner's purse in 2014, marking the second time the 2000 Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion has won the King of the 360's and Ronald Laney Memorial.


"It's been too long since the Lucas Oil ASCS has been a part of the Ronald Laney Memorial," said ASCS National Coordinator, Matt Ward. "Al and his staff have always been awesome to work with, and the event is second to none for anyone who enjoys dirt track racing Personally, Ronald meant a lot to all of us and to have his race be a part of ASCS is important."


Along with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real, the three nights will include the Florida Mini Sprints. Racing will be preceded by practice on Wednesday, February 18, 2015. Entry forms, ticket information, and full schedule of events for the 2015 East Bay Raceway Park Winter Nationals is available at http://www.eastbayracewaypark.com.


For continued updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Event Information:


What: $10,000 to win King of the 360's and Ronald Laney Memorial
Where: East Bay Raceway Park - Tampa, Fla.
When: February 19-21, 2015
Website: http://www.eastbayracewaypark.com


Entry: Drivers are encouraged to pre-enter. Concrete parking areas are reserved based on advanced registration. Registration forms can be downloaded at http://www.eastbayracewaypark.com/winternationals/driver-registration


Tickets: Tickets can be purchased by calling 1-877 457-5611 or (813) 677-7223. Three night tickets are $70 each. Single day tickets are available. Thursday tickets are $15, Friday tickets are $25, and Saturday tickets are $30.


ASCS National History - East Bay Raceway Park: Thirteen events have been held at the East Bay Raceway Park with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour with eight winners. Lucas Oil ASCS Winners - East Bay Raceway Park: Terry McCarl 4, Gary Wright 3, David Steele, Garry Lee Maier, Jason Johnson, Kenny Adams, Larry Pinegar, Travis Rilat


Lucas Oil ASCS Winners (by date) - East Bay Raceway Park: David Steele (2/11/1996), Garry Lee Maier (2/12/1996), Larry Pinegar (2/9/1997), Gary Wright (2/10/1997), Travis Rilat (1/26/2006), Terry McCarl (1/27/2006), Terry McCarl (1/28/2006), Gary Wright (1/25/2007), Terry McCarl (1/26/2007), Gary Wright (1/27/2007), Kenny Adams (1/31/2008), Terry McCarl (2/1/2008), Jason Johnson (2/2/2008)


King of the 360's Ronald Laney Memorial Champions: Wayne Johnson (2014 and 2010), Danny Holtgraver (2013), Glenn Styres (2012), Daryn Pittman (2011), Jesse Hockett (2009), Jason Johnson (2008), Gary Wright (2007 and 1999), Terry McCarl (2006), Chad Kemenah (2005), Sport Allen (2003), Jason Sides (2002), Jeff Sheppard (2001), Ronald Laney (2000)


The 2015 season will mark the twenty-fourth year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.


Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.


Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.


Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.


Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.


Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...