Jump to content

Wood Takes Home NCRA Sprint finale, Championship Undecided


Recommended Posts

Wood Takes Home NCRA Sprint Finale, Championship Undecided

September 27, 2014 Park City, Kansas - The National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products sprint car division wrapped up their 25th consecutive anniversary season Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City and it was Norman, Oklahomas Danny Wood taking home his second tour victory of the season. And while there was no doubt on his convincing victory, the battle for the 2014 championship is still undecided.

Wood and Campbell started on the front row for the twenty-five lap feature with Wood quickly taking the lead as the green flag fell. Patrick Stasa and J.D. Johnson were your top four after lap one with Wood jumping out to a quick ten car length lead.

The first caution flag fell on lap two when John James spun to the bottom of turn two.

Once racing action returned to green, Wood once again took off from the rest of the field and by lap six opened a ten car length as he approached slower traffic. While Wood used the top side of the track to work his way through the back markers, it was sixth starting Don Droud, Jr. taking advantage of traffic as he passed Stasa for the third position on lap seven.

Just past the half way point the second caution flag fell and was a costly one as the oil line broke on Campbells #10c while running in the second position. Campbell would be credited with a 16th place finish and dim hopes of a championship after having come into the night with a 40 point lead in the standings over four-time and defending champion C.J. Johnson.

A couple more cautions would slow the pace of the feature the last half of the race yet at the end there was no stopping Wood as he would cruise to a ten car length victory. Droud would bring the familiar #1x Ochs Brothers sprinter home second while sixth starting Danny Jennings came home third. Stasa finished fourth while seventeenth starting and former Liberal, Kansas resident Jason Martin worked his way up to round out the top five.

C.J. Johnson was credited with a seventh place finish and would fall just five points short of a three-peat championship. However, as is customary at the conclusion of each divisions season when the point battle is this close, officials will double check results and points once the series office opens Monday morning.

The two, ten lap heat races for the 18 car field were won by Wood and Campbell.

NCRA Sprints - 81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas, 09/27/14

18 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Danny Wood, 2) J.D. Johnson, 3) C.J. Johnson, 4) Don Droud, Jr., 5) Rick Wright, Jr., 6) Jon Freeman, 7) Chris Kelly, 8) John James, 9) Jason Martin

2nd Heat: 1) Jeremy Campbell, 2) Patrick Stasa, 3) Danny Jennings, 4) Andy Shouse, 5) Kaden Taylor, 6) Jordan Weaver, 7) Jeff Stasa, 8) Jake Greider, 9) Keith Meyer

A Feature: 1) (1) Danny Wood, 2) (5) Don Droud, Jr., 3) (3) Danny Jennings, 4) (4) Patrick Stasa, 5) (17) Jason Martin, 6) (11) Jordan Weaver, 7) (7) C.J. Johnson, 8) (12) Jon Freeman, 9) (16) Jake Greider, 10) (9) Rick Wright, Jr., 11) (18) Keith Meyer, 12) (13) Chris Kelly, 13) (8) Andy Shouse, 14) (3) J.D. Johnson, 15) (15) John James, 16) (2) Jeremy Campbell, 17) (10) Kaden Taylor, DNS) Jeff Stasa

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...