Jump to content

San Antonio Raceway Wins Division 4 IHRA Summit Team Finals‏

Recommended Posts



San Antonio Raceway wins Division 4 Summit Team Finals team championship




Six drivers advance to Summit SuperSeries championships in Memphis




LUFKIN, Texas (September 30, 2014) - The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL season continued this past weekend with the Division 4 Team Finals at Pine Valley Raceway.


San Antonio Raceway won the team championship by three points over Big Country Raceway in a closely contested team battle. San Antonio Raceway finished the event with 43 points, just ahead of Big Country Raceway with 40 points. Host track Pine Valley Raceway was third with 36 points, followed by Redline Raceway (29) and Little River Raceway (28). Other teams in competition at the Division 4 Team Finals were Lonestar Motorsports Park, Wichita Raceway Park, Edinburg Raceway and State Capitol Raceway.





In the Division 4 Summit SuperSeries presented by AMSOIL runoff, Kevin Henry, Sambo Tyra and Justin Hutto won their respective classes, joining runner-up finishers Amber Rose-Smith, Billy Janousek and Michael Turman as all six drivers advance to the championship runoff October 10-11 at the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals.


Kevin Henry kicked off Friday's Summit SuperSeries runoff action with a victory over Amber Rose-Smith in the finals of Top ET. The only non-Texan to reach the finals, Henry, representing State Capitol Raceway in Louisiana, defeated Rose-Smith in a nearly heads-up affair. Henry and Rose-Smith had identical .031 reaction times as Henry got it done on the top end, running a 4.692-second elapsed time on a 4.69 dial at 147.69 mph. Rose-Smith, from Big Country Raceway, had a 4.645 on a 4.63 at 146.34 mph.





In Mod ET, Sambo Tyra, representing Big Country Raceway, defeated Billy Janousek in another close final. Janousek, from Lonestar Motorsports Park, had a slight advantage on the tree, but Tyra made up for it with a 5.974 on a 5.94 at 109.17 mph. Janousek crossed the stripe with a 6.389 on a 6.33 at 106.99 mph.


Justin Hutto wrapped up Friday's Summit SuperSeries action with a win over Michael Turman in the Junior Dragster runoff. Hutto was .015 on the tree and followed that up with a 7.976 on a 7.96 at 82.04 mph representing Lonestar Motorsports Park. Turman, from Little River Dragway, had a 7.896 on a 7.93 at 83.04 mph.





Other winners from the Division 4 Summit Team Finals include Main Event winners Bart Nelson (Lonestar Motorsports Park) in Top ET, Greg Dollar (Wichita Raceway Park) in Mod ET and Bryant Huesers (State Capitol Raceway) in Junior Dragster.


Complete results from the Division 4 Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL at Pine Valley Raceway are below.



Division 4 Summit Team Finals Team Standings



1. San Antonio Raceway - 43

2. Big Country Raceway - 40

3. Pine Valley Raceway - 36

4. Redline Raceway - 29

5. Little River Raceway - 28

6. Lonestar Motorsports Park - 25

7. Wichita Raceway Park - 21

8. Edinburg Raceway - 7

9. State Capitol Raceway - 4






SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Kevin Henry, State Capitol Raceway, (.031) 4.692 on 4.69, 147.69 def. Amber Rose-Smith, Big Country Raceway, (.031) 4.635 on 4.63, 146.34


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Sambo Tyra, Big Country Raceway, (.010) 5.974 on 5.94, 109.17 def. Billy Janousek, Lonestar Motorsports Park, (.009) 6.389 on 6.33, 106.99


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR DRAGSTER - Justin Hutto, Lonestar Motorsports Park, (.015) 7.979 on 7.96, 82.04 def. Michael Turman, Little River Dragway, (.076) 7.896 on 7.93, 83.04






Main Event Top ET - Bart Nelson, Lonestar Motorsports Park, (.014) 4.794 on 4.78, 142.90 def. Brad Young, Redline Raceway, (.006) 5.957 on 5.93, 109.62


Main Event Mod ET - Greg Dollar, Wichita Raceway Park, (.006) 6.682 on 5.61, 70.17 def. Greg Williams, Pine Valley Raceway, (-.013) foul


Main Event Juniors - Bryant Huesers, State Capitol Raceway, (.065) 9.041 on 9.02, 70.40 def. Michael Stevens, Big Country Raceway, (.111) 8.051 on 7.90, 79.86

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...