Jump to content

Armadillo Nationals winners crowned

Recommended Posts

Armadillo Nationals winners crowned; Texas State Championships up next at LoneStar Speedway

Kilgore ,TX (9/28/14) - 155 race teams from 8 states competed in the $73,000 Armadillo Nationals presented by DAY Motorsports, Blaine's Motor Supply and Smiley's Racing Products at LoneStar Speedway. And last night after the final flag was thrown, three new Armadillo winners were crowned:

In the DAY Motorsports Modifieds division, Chris Brown from Cleveland, TX battled race long with Steven Whiteaker Jr. to take the $10,000 win that also included a massive trophy with custom made Texas plaque and a jumbo-sided check. Whiteaker would collect $5,000 for his efforts, while first-ever LoneStar visitor Rodney Wing, of Meridian Mississippi, would run a very solid 3rd place finish and be rewarded $3,000 for his efforts.

Longview, Texas' Jason Ingalls would survive an intense and exciting race long battle with Steven Whiteaker Jr. to take the Armadillo title in the Smiley's Racing Products Limited Modified division. The win was worth $3,000 and the entire 24-car feature race was caution-free.

Ralo Pilkington of Marshall, Texas and Billy Meazell of Rusk, Texas waged a spirited battle the entire length of the 30-lap Blaine's Motor Supply Factory Stock division. Pilkington would conquer the battle and grab $3,000 winner's share. Special thanks to Meazell team owner, Michael Jones, for adding $1,000 to purse. Meazell would receive $1,500 for second place.

Complete results are posted at the following link:


We would like to thank all of the great LoneStar Speedway fans, race teams, track workers, sponsors for making the $73,000 Armadillo Nationals an exciting and memorable event. All three nights of races were completed before midnight, and a fantastic crowd was on hand for the championship finale.

Lots of pictures and video clips are posted at the event website, www.darinshort.com/arm.html and at the LoneStar Speedway Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/LoneStar-Speedway-Fan-Page/172714742765279

The evening kicked off with an driver's autograph session for the race fans. The top qualifying drivers in all three racing divisions were invited to greet the fans, sign racing memorabilia and apparel...and it was a big hit with the LoneStar fans.

Next up at LoneStar Speedway is another big special event with the running of the Texas Sprint Car Championships for ASCS Sprint Cars on Saturday, October 11. This is a double-header event as it is also the Texas Factory Stock Championships. Click www.LoneStarSpeedway.com for complete event information and flyer.

The 2014 LoneStar Speedway season will conclude with the Turkey Nationals on Saturday November 29th, featuring $2,500 to win and $600 to start in the SUPR Late Models. A special purse is being planned for the Modifieds, Limited Modifieds and Factory Stocks as well. The event flyer and press release will be posted soon.

Once again, on the behalf of LoneStar Speedway, thank you to everyone who helped make the 2014 LoneStar Armadillo Nationals three days of exciting racing - and all at family-friendly prices...and see you at the next big LoneStar race, Saturday October 11.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...