Jump to content

Season finale Saturday at Dodge City Raceway Park


Recommended Posts

Season Finale Saturday at DCRP

by Lonnie Wheatley


DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 24, 2014) One more night is all that remains of the 2014 season at Dodge City Raceway Park.

And, in three days, a new set of track champions will be decided upon when the final checkered flag flies on Saturday nights Second Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

While the United Rebel Sprint Series (URSS) headline Saturdays card that goes green at 7:00 p.m., an entire seasons worth of on-track battles will come to a conclusion.

With a couple of division battles hanging in the balance and a couple virtually decided, numerous positions throughout the top ten in each class are up for grabs.

A look at the current top ten in each DCRP championship chase division entering Saturdays ender.

IMCA Modifieds:

Ryan Heger kept his title hopes alive by racing to a runner-up finish last time out on August 23, cutting Austin Allens lead to just 13 points going into the finale. Allen can secure the title by finishing fourth or better. Anything lower than that though and the door is wide open for Heger, who has topped each of the last two season finales.

And keep an eye on the four-some from fourth to seventh (Nick Link, Jesse Smith, Mike Lunow and Kale Beavers), as only 24 points separate them in the battle for position.

The Modifieds have offered up eight different winners in nine events this season.

Feature Winners: Brendon Gemmill 2, Clay Sellard 2, Austin Allen 1, Scott Brown 1, Van Gemmill 1, Danny Keller 1, Joel Lane 1, Jesse Smith 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Austin Allen (Wichita, KS) 1,287, 2. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 1,274, 3. Cole Traugott (Woodward, OK) 1,232, 4. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 1,202, 5. (tie) Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 1,195 and Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,195, 7. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,178, 8. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 1,110, 9. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 1,049, 10. Tracy Link (Hugoton, KS) 1,029.

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Four wins and four runner-up finishes in ten evens has Jeff Kaup a solid 117 points ahead in his quest for a second consecutive track championship. Far enough ahead that showing up on Saturday will put it away.

Toby Witthuhn is just two points ahead of Austin Walker in the battle for third, with both well within reach of second-ranked Josh Appel, who is just 24 ahead of Witthuhn.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 4, Clay Money 2, Michael Shenberger 2, Josh Appel 1, Nate Ginest 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,414, 2. Josh Appel (Dodge City, KS) 1,297, 3. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 1,273, 4. Austin Walker (Utica, KS) 1,271, 5. Tristen Barton (Dighton, KS) 1,196, 6. Jason Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,181, 7. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 1,149, 8. Randle McRoberts (Dodge City, KS) 1,121, 9. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 1,109, 10. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 1,056.

IMCA Stock Cars:

With a 74 point advantage entering Saturdays finale, Perry Misner can secure his second title in three years by taking the green flag in the feature event.

While Dusty Witthuhn could steal the title by winning the feature if Misner somehow doesnt make the start, Witthuhn is more in danger of losing second place to Michael Pepper, who is just 11 points back.

Another battle among the top five is Randy Dowell with a three-point edge over Reagan Sellard in the fight for fourth.

Feature Winners: Perry Misner 4, Angel Munoz 2, Scott Drake 1, Ron Hartman 1, Dusty Witthuhn 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Perry Misner (Garden City, KS) 1,283, 2. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 1,209, 3. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 1,198, 4. Randy Dowell (Ulysses, KS) 1,153, 5. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 1,150, 6. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 1,101, 7. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 1,086, 8. Kyle Tillery (Beaver, OK) 839, 9. Karson Love (Rosston, OK) 789, 10. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 728.

Thunder Cars:

The Thunder Car battle comes down to a one-night showdown between Matt OHair and William Bauer, with OHair holding a slim five-point lead entering the finale.

OHair has won two of the last four to move atop the point charts while Bauers runner-up finish last time out on August 23 was the best of a season in which he has finished no lower than sixth.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 3, Matt OHair 2, Sonny OHair 2, Edwin Elliott 1, Dan Rogers 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Matt OHair (Laverne, OK) 1,242, 2. William Bauer (Ness City, KS) 1,237, 3. Dan Rogers (Buffalo, OK) 1,195, 4. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 1,123, 5. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 1,109, 6. Norman Carr (Garden City, KS) 1,082, 7. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 986, 8. Michael Penrod (Moscow, KS) 865, 9. David Berger (Dodge City, KS) 847, 10. Dustin Walker (Buffalo, OK) 786.


With seven wins in seven features, defending champ Jarett Lunow is one night away from perfection on the inner asphalt oval.

Feature Winners: Jarett Lunow 7.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Jarett Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,050, 2. Brandon Bogner (Wright, KS) 967, 3. Marci OHair (Laverne, OK) 891, 4. Kohl Ricke (Dodge City, KS) 846, 5. Jarred Nightengale (Dodge City, KS) 701, 6. Andy Copeland (Fowler, KS) 676, 7. Zak Moore (Dodge City, KS) 528, 8. Nathan Barton (Dighton, KS) 348, 9. Tyler Olson (Tyrone, OK) 270, 10. Cheryl Copeland (Fowler, KS) 261.

Tickets to Saturdays Second Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event at DCRP featuring URSS Sprint Cars along with IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Thunder Cars and Hornets are just $15 for adults with children 11 and under free when accompanied by an adult.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...