Jump to content

Campbell, Johnson to decide NCRA Sprint Championship this Saturday


Recommended Posts

Campbell, Johnson to Decide NCRA Sprint Championship This Saturday Night

Park City, Kansas September 22, 2014 - Twelve events have been completed and it all comes down to one. This one last event for the 2014 race season will declare the season championship as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products sprint car division concludes their 25th consecutive season this coming Saturday night, September 27, at 81 Speedway in Park City.

Despite going winless thus far this season, former tour champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita comes into the event with a 40 point lead over Quinter, Kansas driver C.J. Johnson. Campbell won his lone championship back in 2010 while Johnson has claimed three straight championships and four overall. Johnson claimed his lone feature victory at Dodge City Raceway Park earlier this season in a combined event with the ASCS Sooner region.

Salina, Kansas driver Jon Freeman currently sits third in the point standings and is looking to hold off Wichitas J.D. Johnson, who has been on a tear the last half of the season. Johnson was tabbed as driver of the #8 Whitehead Motorsports sprinter during the Hutchinson Grand Nationals back in late July and looked to be headed to victory before a bolt in the steering box broke causing a DNF. He then went on to claim his first tour victory in four years at 81 Speedway back on August 30th and then finished a strong third at Junction Motor Speedway in McCool, Nebraska on September 8th. Freeman is 90 point ahead of Johnson for the third position in the final point standings.

Sitting fifth is Kingman, Kansas driver Jeff Stasa, who picked up his first career tour victory at the new Longdale Speedway in Longdale, Oklahoma.

Leading rookie contender Jake Greider has all but clinched the rookie of the year standings and sits sixth in the standings with fellow rookie contender Raymond Seeman sitting fourth. Rounding out the top ten is Springfield, Nebraskas Jack Dover, who leads the tour in victories with five, and sits eight in the standings while fellow Nebraska driver Tyler Drueke and Luke Cranston round out the top ten.

Gates for this Saturday night at 81 Speedway open at 5:00 PM with racing slated for a 7:00 PM start time. 81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...