Jump to content

Weekend Rewind: American Sprint Car Series


Recommended Posts

Weekend Rewind: American Sprint Car Series




(September 22, 2014) - An eventful weekend to say the least for the American Sprint Car Series as the Casey's General Store Midwest Fall Brawl III took place at the I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. along with action in the Northwest, Southwest, and 305cid Regions.






Six events took place in Arizona, Nebraska, and New Mexico, with first time winners, and big time winners. Year to date race count stands at 146 for 173 ASCS sanctioned events with 70 winners in both ASCS 360cid and 305cid competition.






This past weekend also saw a pair of ASCS Regions wrap up their 2014 seasons.






The Winners:





Friday, September 19, 2014





Wayne Johnson (National / Midwest) - Career win No. 42 for Wayne Johnson in ASCS National competition, Johnson's win was his first at the I-80 Speedway with the American Sprint Car Series.






Steve Vague (Northwest) - A first time winner with the ASCS Northwest Region, Vague captured the opening night of the 2014 season finale, battling in traffic with Jared Peterson for the win at the Central Washington State Fair Raceway in Yakima, Wash.






Saturday, September 20, 2014





Wayne Johnson (National / Midwest) - The single largest payday of Wayne Johnson's career, the Oklahoma native defied the odds by sweeping the Casey's General Store Midwest Fall Brawl III for a combined weekend payout of $61,150.






Lorne Wofford (Southwest) - The New Mexico shoe captured his first ASCS Southwest win of the season at the Tucson International Raceway on Saturday night, and fifth overall with the Region.





Cesar Fuentes (West Texas 305cid) - The third time in 2014, Cesar Fuentes topped action at the Southern New Mexico Speedway from ninth on Saturday night.






Logan Forler (Northwest) - The No. 2L returned to ASCS Victory Lane with a last lap pass at the Central Washington State Fair Raceway on Saturday night for his fourth overall victory with the Northwest Region and third in 2014.






News and Notes:





Winning Big - Speaking of first time winners, and big time winners, Wayne Johnson was both over the weekend. His first score at the I-80 Speedway in ASCS competition on Friday night, Johnson quickly followed that up with his second at the four-tenths mile oval on Saturday night to claim the Durst Motorplex/Hotrod Paintless Dent Repair Double Down Back to Back $50,000 Challenge.






Numerology? - Something fun to note about the weekend in Greenwood, Neb. is that Wayne's first win at the Nebraska oval was the National Tour's 777th A-Feature. With a number like 77x, you could say that races 777 and 778 had Wayne Johnson's name all over them.






Dodging the Weather - Saturday morning saw nearly 2.5" of rain fall at the I-80 Speedway. The Pits looked like cake batter with cars, rigs, and quads getting stuck. Thankfully the sun was shining early and crews were able to get the Pits rolled in. This did push back the evening's start time, but the show was worth it.





Had it won - Reported by ASCS Southwest Director, Roger Toops, Saturday night at Tucson saw a dominating performance by Joshua Williams. Lapping into the top 10 in the 21 car field, a tangle with slower cars sent the No. 41w flipping hard.






Bouncing Back - Staying with the Southwest Region, one driver that had to overcome a crash was Bob Ream, Jr. Going from fourteenth to seventh by the eighth round, Ream had to visit the work area where his crew got Phoenix driver back to the track to finish sixth.






First for Vague - Drawing the pole for Friday night's feature at the Central Washington State Fair Raceway, Steve Vague picked up his first win with the ASCS Northwest Region. As reported by Ben Deatherage, the race for the lead got dicey in traffic with Jared Peterson but the No. 7n was unable to keep point, putting the Cottage Grove, Ore. driver second at the checkered flag.






Just in time - Starting seventh on Saturday with the ASCS Northwest Region, Logan Forler pulled off the last lap pass on Henry Van Dam to win the 2014 season finale. Running third on a Lap 18 caution, Forler worked by Colton Heath and set sites on Van Dam for a last lap pass in traffic.






Billy Alley - The 2005 Speedway Motors Midwest Regional Champion is now a two time champion with the Nebraska based region of the American Sprint Car Series, wrapping up his 2014 campaign this past weekend at the I-80 Speedway.





Colin Baker - A first time champion with the ASCS Northwest Region, Colin Baker captured the 2014 title by 124 markers over J.J. Hickle. Baker's season included one win, seven top-fives, and twelve top-tens.





No Rain - Almost unheard of in the Northwest, the 2014 season did not see a rain out. This is the first time the region has been able to complete every scheduled race.





All over the place - The points from second through fifth with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour continue to shake up. Entering the I-80 Speedway, it was Loyet, Hafertepe, Swindell, Johnson, and Herrera. Coming out of the Fall Brawl, Loyet still leads but now has Jason Johnson back to second from fourth, Johnny Herrera from fifth to third, Jeff Swindell from third to fourth, and Sam Hafertepe, Jr. from second to fifth.






Coming Up:





The fourth annual Jesse Hockett / Daniel McMillin Memorial takes place this Friday, September 26, and Saturday, September 27 at the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and Speedway Motors Warrior Region headlining the weekend along with the Impact Signs W.A.R. Non Wing Sprint Cars. Tickets are on sale at http://www.lucasoilspeedway.com.





The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region will bring their 2014 season to a close on Saturday, September 27 at the Battleground Speedway in Highlands, Texas.






For a complete listing of ASCS events in 2014, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.





The 2014 season marks the twenty-third year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.





Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.





Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.





Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.





Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.





Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.






Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...