Jump to content

Thornton tops IMCA Desert Classic opener at Canyon Speedway Park


Recommended Posts

Thornton Tops IMCA Desert Classic Opener

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (September 19, 2014) – Ricky Thornton, Jr., added another notch to the win column by topping the opening night of the 26th Annual IMCA Desert Classic atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval on Friday night.

While Thornton’s 13th CSP win of the year in the IMCA Modified ranks was worth $1,500, other winners on the night included Ty Warner in Pure Stocks, Joe Peterson in Renegades, Tyler Merrill in Mod Lites and Tim Cotherman in Dwarf Cars.

Thornton, Jr., raced from the front row outside to capture his 15th overall CSP win of the year in the $1,500-to-win, $150-to-start affair with the same purse on the line in Saturday night’s IMCA Desert Classic Finale.

Thornton, Jr., was chased to the line by ninth-starter George Fronsman, with Mike Strobl racing from 19th to take the show position. Mark Stewart and Jason Noll rounded out the top five.

Ty Warner raced from fifth to take the Pure Stock win ahead of Steve Bitting and Matt Martinez while Joe Peterson climbed from sixth for Renegade honors in front of Trenton Setelin and Jason Crowe.

Tyler Merrill rallied from ninth for AMA Mod Lite laurels ahead of Brenden Priest with Tim Cotherman racing from fifth to take the top spot in Dwarf Car action

The 26th Annual IMCA Desert Classic at Canyon Speedway Park concludes on Saturday night with racing action getting under way at 7:00 p.m. with IMCA Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Renegades, Dwarf Cars and AMA Mod Lites.

Canyon Speedway Park
26th Annual IMCA Desert Classic Night One
September 19, 2014 Results:

IMCA Modifieds:

First Heat: 1. 4az-John Morris, Jr., 2. 7k-Lance Salo, 3. 45-Ryan Roath, 4. 57p-Jim Perkins, 5. X04-Mike Strobl, 6. 12-Guy Norton, 7. 75jr-Chaz Baca, Jr.

Second Heat: 1. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 2. 44-Jason Noll, 3. 5az-James Webster, 4. 8-Nate Warren, 5. 19x-Kenny Gill, 6. 27-John Brinkley, 7. 53-Justin Thornton.

Third Heat: 1. 43-Cody Graham, 2. 41-George Fronsman, 3. 77-Terry Belcher, Jr., 4. 59-Mark Stewart, 5. 87-Clifton Maggard, 6. 40jr-Bubba Stafford.

“A” Feature: 1. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 2. 41-George Fronsman, 3. X04-Mike Strobl, 4. 59-Mark Stewart, 5. 44-Jason Noll, 6. 5az-James Webster, 7. 75jr-Chaz Baca, Jr., 8. 43-Cody Graham, 9. 57p-Jim Perkins, 10. 4az-John Morris, Jr., 11. 45-Ryan Roath, 12. 12-Guy Norton, 13. 87-Clifton Maggard, 14. 27-John Brinkley, 15. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 16. 8-Nate Warren, 17. 53-Justin Thornton, 18. 19x-Kenny Gill, 19. 7k-Lance Salo, 20. 77-Terry Belcher, Jr.

Pure Stocks:

First Heat: 1. 5m-Zack Madrid, 2. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 3. 40sr-Jeff Stafford, 4. XX-Chuck Thornton, 5. 3-Ashley Stafford, 6. 75-Jason Suchta, 7. 92p-John Parmeley.

Second Heat: 1. 7-Steve Bitting, 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 01-Ty Warner, 4. 15-Speedy Madrid, 5. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 6. 28-Mike Herrera, 7. 6s-Kyle Salo.

“A” Feature: 1. 01-Ty Warner, 2. 7-Steve Bitting, 3. 21m-Matt Martinez, 4. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 5. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 6. 40sr-Jeff Stafford, 7. 5m-Zack Madrid, 8. 15-Speedy Madrid, 9. XX-Chuck Thornton, 10. 28-Mike Herrera, 11. 75-Jason Suchta, 12. 3-Ashley Stafford, 13. 6s-Kyle Salo, 14. 92p-John Parmeley.


First Heat: 1. 14m-Mark Killian, 2. 57a-Tate Allen, 3. 99-Treton Setelin, 4. 13-Jason Crowe, 5. 3-David Harrington, 6. 85-Joe Peterson, 7. 18bm-Chris McCurdy, Sr., 8. 69r-Sara Reblin, 9. 16b-Richard Bennett, 10. 24-Brandy McCurdy, 11. 51-Ross Krajack.

“A” Feature: 1. 85-Joe Peterson, 2. 99-Trenton Setelin, 3. 13-Jason Crowe, 4. 3-David Harrington, 5. 69r-Sara Reblin, 6. 18bm-Chris McCurdy, Sr., 7. 16b-Richard Bennett, 8. 57a-Tate Allen, 9. 14m-Mark Killian, 10. 24-Brandy McCurdy, 11. 51-Ross Krajack.

Mod Lites:

First Heat: 1. 88-Tyler Merrill, 2. 14-Josh Rivera, 3. 51-John Priest, 4. 17-Steve Moriarty, 5. 52-Brenden Priest, 6. 99-Adam Etcher, 7. 116-Jim Hock, 8. 9-Mark Hammill, 9. 2k-Taylor Kuehl, 10. 55-Erin Harrison.

Second Heat: 1. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 2. 95-Collin Bender, 3. 15-Ken Young, 4. 96-Hayden Bender, 5. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 6. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 7. 97-Steve Bender, 8. 36-Mike Smith, 9. 30-Lexus Gann.

“A” Feature: 1. 88-Tyler Merrill, 2. 52-Brenden Priest, 3. 99-Adam Etcher, 4. 15-Ken Young, 5. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 6. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 7. 51-John Priest, 8. 116-Jim Hock, 9. 14-Josh Rivera, 10. 17-Steve Moriarty, 11. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 12. 96-Hayden Bender, 13. 97-Steve Bender, 14. 9-Mark Hammill, 15. 36-Mike Smith, 16. 95-Collin Bender, 17. 2k-Taylor Kuehl, 18. 55-Erin Harrison, 19. 30-Lexus Gann.

Dwarf Cars:

First Heat: 1. 90-Randy Deines, 2. 31-Greg Loper, 3. 86-Kyle Klein, 4. 47-Steve Kapaun, 5. 18-Keaton Swane, 6. 09-Elaine Deines, 7. 7-Terry O’Connor.

Second Heat: 1. 43-Tim Cotherman, 2. 11-Heather Hennessey, 3. 10-Helen Hennessey, 4. 99-Rob Deines, 5. 58-Doug Bellissimo, 6. 82r-Dennis Klein, 7. 88-Ed Schuhkle

“A” Feature: 1. 43-Tim Cotherman, 2. 47-Steve Kapaun, 3. 86-Kyle Klein, 4. 18-Keaton Swane, 5. 10-Helen Hennessey, 6. 31-Greg Loper, 7. 11-Heather Hennessey, 8. 88-Ed Schuhlke, 9. 82r-Dennis Klein, 10. 58-Doug Bellissimo, 11. 90-Randy Deines, 12. 99-Rob Deines.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...