Jump to content

US 131 Motorsports Park takes Division 5 Summit Team Finals


Recommended Posts


US 131 Motorsports Park takes Division 5 Summit Team Finals win in Michigan



Smiley, Pressey, Muchler advance in Summit SuperSeries runoff



MARTIN, Mich. (September 15, 2014) - The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL continued its championship tour over weekend with the team championship and Summit SuperSeries runoffs at the Division 5 Summit Team Finals at US 131 Motorsports Park.





Gary Smiley won the Top ET Summit SuperSeries runoff in Michigan



US 131 Motorsports Park took the team crown over Grand Bend Motorplex. It was the third year in a row US 131 Motorsports Park has taken the Division 5 Summit Team Finals team championship. Wisconsin International Raceway, the last team other than US 131 to win the team championship back in 2011, was third, followed by Osceola Dragway and Cordova Dragway Park. The remaining teams in competition were Marion County International Raceway, Eddyville Raceway Park, Ubly Dragway, Cedar Falls Raceway and Central Illinois Dragway.


In the Summit SuperSeries runoff, Gary Smiley, Mark Pressey and Allison Muchler won their respective classes during the second weekend of Summit Team Finals action in Martin, Michigan. With the win, the trio of drivers advance to the Summit SuperSeries World Championship as part of the Summit World Finals weekend October 10-11 at Memphis International Raceway.





The Division 5 Mod ET Summit SuperSeries runoff was won by Mark Pressey



Smiley, representing Eddyville Raceway Park, won the Top ET championship at the Division 5 Team Finals in a thriller over Kyle Smith. Smiley had a solid .015 reaction time and paired that with a 7.586 second pass on a 7.58 dial at 175.70 mph to take the win. Smith, from Marion County Raceway, had a 7.721 on a 7.71 at 169.15.


In the Mod ET runoff Mark Pressey, from nearby Ubly Dragstrip, defeated Jeff Green with a little help in the form of a red-light start for Green. Green lit the red bulb by just -.001, negating an otherwise solid weekend for the driver out of US 131 Motorsports Park. With the win in hand, Pressey ran out his final pass of the weekend in tremendous fashion, weaving together a .026 package with a 10.118 on a 10.11 dial at 127.20 mph.


Wrapping up the Division 5 Summit SuperSeries runoff was the Junior Dragster pairing as Allison Muchler, representing her home track of US 131 Motorsports Park, put her machine in the winner's circle over Codey Scheland of Central Illinois Dragway. In a double-breakout finish, Muchler had a .050 reaction time coupled with a 7.872 on a 7.90 at 80.79 mph, while Scheland ran an 8.016 on an 8.05 in the runner-up effort.





The Junior Dragster representative advancing out of D5 was Allison Muchler



Other big winners from the Division 5 Summit Team Finals were Main Event winners Brad Smiley (Top ET) from Eddyville Raceway Park, Rob Livingston (Mod ET) from Eddyville Raceway Park, Mike Lapp (Street) from Osceola Dragway and Schuyler Turner (Junior Dragster) from Marion County International Raceway.


The following are the final results from the Division 5 Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL event at US 131 Motorsports Park.



Division 5 Summit Team Finals Team Standings



1. US 131 Motorsports Park

2. Grand Bend Motorplex

3. Wisconsin International Raceway

4. Osceola Dragway

5. Cordova Dragway Park

6. Marion County International Raceway

7. Eddyville Raceway Park

8. Ubly Dragway

9. Cedar Falls Raceway

10. Central Illinois Dragway






SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Gary Smiley, Eddyville Raceway Park, (.015) 7.586 on 7.58, 175.70 def. Kyle Smith, Marion County Raceway, (.033) 7.721 on 7.71, 169.15


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Mark Pressey, Ubly Dragway, (.018) 10.118 on 10.11, 127.20 def. Jeff Green, US 131 Motorsports Park, (-.001) foul


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR - Allison Muchler, US 131 Motorsports Park, (.050) 7.872 on 7.90, 80.79 def. Codey Scheland, Central Illinois Dragway, (.112) 8.016 on 8.05, 80.51






Main Event Top ET - Brad Smiley, Eddyville Raceway Park, (.025) 8.162 on 8.16, 163.03 def. Ken Hebert, Grand Bend Motorplex, (.039) 8.565 on 8.55, 159.57


Main Event Mod ET - Rob Livingston, Eddyville Raceway Park, (.004) 9.929 on 9.92, 136.10 def. Steve Decker, Cedar Falls Raceway, (.004) 10.004 on 10.02, 133.61


Main Event Street - Mike Lapp, Osceola Dragway, (.009) 13.147 on 13.17, 107.39 def. Mitchell Smith, US 131 Motorsports Park, (.093) 12.035 on 12.10, 110.41


Main Event Juniors - Schuyler Turner, Marion County International Raceway, (.045) 7.941 on 7.90, 77.73 def. Bryce Londerville, Wisconsin International Raceway, (.209) 7.855 on 7.90, 81.66

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...