Jump to content

Peltier takes 2nd straight PASS South triumph at South Boston

Recommended Posts

Peltier takes 2nd straight PASS South triumph at South Boston

SOUTH BOSTON, VA (August 16) – Preston Peltier took the lead on a restart with 59 laps to go and led the rest of the way to win the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Super Late Model South Boston 150 Saturday night at South Boston Speedway. The win was his first at the Virginia short track and pushed his series leading wins total to 12.


“I was pretty dejected earlier today when I hit the wall in practice and almost decided to load up and go home, but everybody came over and thrashed to get this thing ready and here we are,” said Peltier after his second straight PASS South Super Late Model win this season. “We wrecked last Saturday down in Georgia and worked all week to get here, worked a lot of late nights, and it all paid off.”


Following some pretty significant wall contact in the first practice session of the afternoon, Pelter bounced back to claim his 16th career quick qualifying time with a lap of 93.349 miles per hour around the quick 4/10 mile speedway. Peltier and second fastest qualifier Harrison Burton would slide back to 8th and 9th starting positions respectively following the top 10 redraw, while Maine’s Joey Doiron and June South Boston winner Cole Timm would move up to the front row.


At the drop of the green flag for the 150 lap feature, Timm quickly moved to the front, but was overtaken for the lead on lap 15 by Doiron in turn one. The first caution of the night waved on lap 30 when championship contender Jared Irvan stopped in turn four due to a fire caused by a steering problem.


On the restart, Timm moved back to the front. On lap 49, rookie Tyler Dippel moved into contention utilizing a slide job in turn one to take the lead from Timm. Following a caution for a spin by Lucas Jones in turn two on lap 56, Timm again had the advantage on the restart as he reassumed the lead from Dippel.

The third caution of the night would wave on lap 63 when Trey Jarrell came to a stop in turn four. On the ensuing restart, it appeared that Burton missed a shift causing the field to stack up behind him. Will Gallaher made hard contact with the inside wall and collected his teammate Spencer Wauters, along with Blake Stallings and Michael Rouse.


Timm continued to pace the field until lap 74 when Doiron moved by in turn three to retake the lead. Following a spin by Tanner Rumburg in turn one on lap 85, Doiron continued to struggle on the restarts allowing both Timm and Peltier to move around.

The sixth caution of the night would wave with 60 laps to go when rookies Jeff Batten and Matt Wallace made contact with the front straightaway wall. On the restart, Peltier took the lead from Timm for the first time in the race. Despite two more cautions, Peltier led the rest of the way to take the win over Doiron, Brandon Setzer, Dippel, and Burton. Rounding out the top 10 were Timm, Trevor Noles, points leader Tyler Church, Jared Fryar and Tate Fogleman.

The PASS South Super Late Models will be in action again on Saturday, September 20th for the 8th Running of the Over The Mountain 150 at Hickory Motor Speedway along with the PASS Pro Late Models and Legends. For more information, please go to ProAllStarsSeries.com, “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14.

PASS South Super Late Model – Southern National 150 – Unofficial Results
1. 26 – Preston Peltier 150 14. 49 – Jeff Batten 89

2. 4 – Joey Doiron 150 15. 6w – Matt Wallace 89

3. 6 – Brandon Setzer 150 16. 42 – Tim Pinion 89

4. 1 – Tyler Dippel 150 17.18s – Kiel Spaulding 85

5. 12 – Harrison Burton 150 18. 5w – Spencer Wauters 64

6. 57 – Cole Timm 150 19. 5g – Will Gallaher 63

7. 2 – Trevor Noles 150 20.18b – Blake Stallings 63

8. 7 – Tyler Church 150 21. 23 – Michael Rouse 63

9. 16 – Jared Fryar 150 22. 16j – Lucas Jones 61

10. 8f – Tate Fogleman 150 23. 12j – Trey Jarrell 60

11. 15 – Tanner Rumburg 150 24. 71 – Nick Robinson 52

12. 13 – Joe Ryan Osborne 150 25. 28 – Jared Irvan 29

13. 104 – Kevin Powell 148

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...