Jump to content

Taylor and Birkhofer on front row for COMP Cams Topless 100


Recommended Posts

Taylor and Birkhofer on front row for COMP Cams Topless 100


LOCUST GROVE, AR (August 15, 2014) Home state driver Stacy Taylor and veteran Brian Birkhofer will make up the front row for Saturday night's 22nd Annual COMP Cams Topless 100- presented by Crop Production Services at Batesville Motor Speedway. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and the Lucas Oil presents the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series co-sanction event.

Stacy Taylor was the Miller Welders Fast Qualifier amongst the 63 entrants. He led heat number one wire-to-wire for the win. He battled early with Jeremy Payne, who left the race under a caution flag. The three-time and defending LOLMDS and 2009 Topless 100 winner Jimmy Owens then applied the heat to Taylor, but Taylor held on for the win in his Ronnie Stuckey-Black Diamond Chassis. Owens finished second, followed by John Blankenship.

Four-time Topless 100 winner, Scott Bloomquist, led the first seven laps of the second heat until his right front shock broke, knocking him out of the race. Don O'Neal then took over the lead and led the rest of the way for the win in the Clint Bowyer-Barry Wright Race Cars entry. Mike Marlar started on the outside of the front row and finished second ahead of two-time Topless 100 winner, Jimmy Mars.

Jonathan Davenport dominated all 20 laps of the third heat in the K&L Rumley-Longhorn Chassis for the win. Former Topless 100 winner, Dale McDowell, placed second followed by another former winner of the event, Shannon Babb.

Brian Birkhofer led all the way as he picked up the heat four win in his ASi Racewear Rocket Chassis. Last year's LOLMDS Rookie of the Year, Billy Moyer Jr., finished second ahead of Bub McCool.

Hometown driver, Wendell Wallace, stormed to the win in heat five. Wallace outdueled 2012 Topless 100 winner, Steve Francis and the defending race winner, Terry Phillips for the triumph in his Barry Wright #6M.

The sixth and final heat race of the night saw the Hall-of-Famer Billy Moyer, in search of a record fifth Topless 100 victory, finish ahead of Chris Brown for the win. Jared Landers, a former Topless 100 winner, charged from his seventh starting spot to nab the third and final transfer spot.

In the redraw for the six heat race winners from Friday Night's preliminary events, Taylor and Birkhofer drew the front row starting positions. Don O'Neal will start third. Four-time COMP Cams Topless 100 winner, Billy Moyer, will start fourth. The third row for the $40,000 to win main event will include '98 winner, Wendell Wallace, and Jonathan Davenport.

In preliminary action, Stacy Taylor set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 63 entrants, with a lap of 13.554 seconds. Brian Birkhofer set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.867 seconds. Stacy Taylor, Don O'Neal, Jonathan Davenport, Brian Birkhofer, Wendell Wallace, and Billy Moyer won their respective heat races.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, August 15th, 2014
Batesville Motor Speedway - Locust Grove, AR

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Stacy Taylor/ 13.554 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Brian Birkhofer / 13.867 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Stacy Taylor, Jimmy Owens ,John Blankenship, Robbie Stuart, Clay Fisher, Rick Hearnsberger, Joey Smith, Jeremy Payne, Jason Papich, Ray Moore, Dwight Falcon

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Jimmy Mars, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr., Ryan Gustin, Jesse Stovall, Jake Davis, Shannon Scott, Scott Bloomquist, Kennith Crowe

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Dale McDowell, Shannon Babb, Jack Sullivan, Doug Drown, Kyle Beard, Brandon Smith, Jason Hughes, Gavin Landers, Chandler Petty

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Brian Birkhofer, Billy Moyer, Jr., Bub McCool, Jeff Taylor, Robert Baker, Jon Mitchell, Jason Hughes, Jason Bodenhamer, Kody Mea, Chad Dupont, Lynn Beach

Fast Shafts Heat Race #5 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Wendell Wallace, Steve Francis, Terry Phillips, Earl Pearson, Jr., Tommy Weder, Mark Dotson, Tony Jackson, Jr., Austin Rettig, Timothy Culp, Troy Berdan

Eibach Springs Heat Race #6 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Chris Brown, Jared Landers, Justin Asplin, Will Vaught, Anthony Burroughs, Tommy Surrett, Chris Wall, Tyler Erb, David Payne

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer) Line Up:


Robbie Stuart 6r 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr.
Jack Sullivan 18x 99 Clay Fisher
Dennis Erb, Jr. 28e 20d Doug Drown
Rick Hearnsberger XXX 19R Ryan Gustin
Kyle Beard 86 13 Joey Smith
Jesse Stovall 00s 115 Brandon Smith
Jeremy Payne 186 7D Jake Davis
Jason Hughes 12 91p Jason Papich
Shannon Scott 4F 77 Gavin Landers
Ray Moore 93m 0 Scott Bloomquist
Chandler Petty 47 F4 Dwight Falcon
Kennith Crowe 77c

CV Products B-Main #2 (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer) Line Up:


Jeff Taylor 5T 44 Earl Pearson, Jr.
Justin Asplin 77A 17mb Robert Baker
Tommy Weder 02 1V Will Vaught
Jon Mitchell 5m 85d Mark Dotson
Anthony Burroughs 1 17H Jason Hughes
Tony Jackson, Jr. 56 27s Tommy Surrett
Jason Bodenhamer 2b 94 Austin Rettig
Chris Wall 71w 5x Kody Mea
Timothy Culp C8 91 Tyler Erb
Chad Dupont F5 02T Troy Berdan
David Payne 7 6b Lynn Beach

Feature Line Up After Heats (100 Laps):


Stacy Taylor 27T 15b Brian Birkhofer
Don O'Neal 5 21 Billy Moyer
Wendell Wallace 6m 6 Jonathan Davenport
Jimmy Owens 20 21jr Billy Moyer, Jr.
Mike Marlar 157 15 Steve Francis
Dale McDowell 17m 21b Chris Brown
John Blankenship 23 57J Bub McCool
Jimmy Mars 28m 75 Terry Phillips
Shannon Babb 18 777 Jared Landers

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...