Jump to content

Millers misfortune is Whitford’s Thumper Hutchinson Grand Nationals�


Recommended Posts

Millers Misfortune is Whitfords Thumper Hutchinson Grand Nationals

Hutchinson, Kansas July 26, 2014 - Dustin Whitford took advantage of race long leader Scott Millers misfortune to claim victory in the thumper portion of the 58th Annual OReilly Auto Parts Hutchinson Grand Nationals presented by Mel Hambelton Ford on Saturday night at the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

Whitford and Scott Granzella started on the front row of the eight lap feature with third starting Miller getting by both to take the lead as the green flag fell. Whitford and fourth starting Fred Transkowsky looked to give chase as the leader opened up a sizeable lead.

The only caution of the feature fell on lap seven and bunched the field back together. The caution was not what Miller wanted to see as sparks began to show from underneath his #1 thumper on the last lap and entering turns one and two would pull into the infield, disrupting any chance of claiming his third career Hutch Grand Nationals championship.

This would give Whitfiord the lead and he would go on to claim his first ever Nationals championship. Granzella came home second while Transkowsky finished third. Rick Higerd and Dustin Brown would round out the top five.

A Feature: 1) Dustin Whitford, 2) Scott Granzella, 3) Fred Transkowsky, 4) Rich Higerd, 5) Dustin Brown, 6) Rick Mueler, 7) Scott Miller, 8) LK Sisney, 9) Scott Granzella, 10) Joel Hill, 11) Patrick Blevins, 12) John Boyce, 13) Tony Blanton, 14) Clay McConnell

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...