Jump to content

Lomax, Short repeat as feature winners at the Plymouth Speedway


Recommended Posts

Lomax, Short Repeat as Feature Winners at the Plymouth Speedway


By: Andrew Hayn


Saturday night at the Plymouth Speedway was filled with great racing throughout the fields while the winners were able to show dominance over their competitors in four of the five main events. Jamie Lomax went back to top of the podium for another back-to-back performance along with David Short for his first repeat of the year.


The action for the main events were kicked off by the Dickies Restaurant 600 Sprint division in their first ever B main. A stout field of cars including some of the top contenders in the points had to work their way through this event to make the A main. Racing to his first checkered flag of the season as the victor was Chad Hartzell. Hartzell the top contender for Rookie of the Year honors was determined to make the main event by finishing on top. He was followed across the line by three other rookies including Justin Bell, Caleb Woods, and Austin Marlow. Ryan Ball was the last to transfer while top five point contender Brad Nichols was sidelined early with brake issues.


The Dickies Restaurant 600 sprint A main was a hard fought battle with three different flips by lap nine. The final flip of the night was on lap nine when Garrett Saunders made contact with Eric Saunders’s right rear tire, in a battle for second, sending him into a violent roll over out of turn two landing him halfway down the back straightaway. Saunders walked away from the incident; however unable to return. Billy Cribbs dominated the event by taking the lead on lap one and was able to hold off Eric Saunders for another feature win. Eric crossed the line in second with Dawson Stealy rounding out the podium in third. Randy Shilling finished fourth and Nick Yoder got his best finish of the season in fifth.


In the Swan Lake Resorts UMP Modified feature, Jamie Lomax drove through the top five with ease taking the lead in the first five laps and never had an issue to grab his second checkered flag of the weekend. In second was Tommy Beezley and Frank Marshall in third right beside him. Fourth went to Zeke McKenzie while Donald Rance rounded out the top five.


The Vores Compact Touring series made their only appearance of the season on Saturday with a twenty-five lap feature. Mike Richardson ran out front the entire race for the first ever front wheel drive winner on the dirt at the Plymouth Speedway. In second was Chris Jennings and third was Nick Jenema.


The Super Streets had to watch David Short dominate the twenty lap affair with a straightaway lead for over half the event to get back-to-back feature wins. Bob McLean worked hard to move up the field for a second place finish while Michael Clark got another podium finish in third. Fourth went to Randy Akers and Nathen Jordan rounded out the top five.


The closest feature of the night came down to a final lap pass in turn two by Bryce Shidler as he cleared Kevin Kerlin for another Thunder Stock feature win on the season. Kerlin held on for a season-best finish in second just ahead of John Rhodes in third. In fourth was Tony Bowman and Randy Lambert rounded out the top five.


This Saturday night, July 26, the Playground of Power will feature another great night of racing at seven o'clock. It will feature the Swan Lake Resorts UMP Modifieds, Super Streets, Thunder Stocks, and the Dickies Restaurant 600 Sprints. For more information visit www.plymouthspeedway.net.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...