Jump to content

Sam Hafertepe, Jr. Scores at the Devil's Bowl

Recommended Posts

Sam Hafertepe, Jr. Scores at the Devil's Bowl


MESQUITE, Texas (May 17, 2014) - The ASCS Lone Star and Sooner Regions squared off at the Devil's Bowl Speedway on Saturday night with 32 drivers drawing in, and Sam Hafertepe, Jr. leading start to finish in the night's $2,000 to win A-Feature.


Getting the jump over Alex Sewell, the track dictated every move as rubber set in on the bottom line. Alex Sewell held on for the runner up spot, despite several challenges by the No. 45x of Johnny Herrera who held on to the final podium step after several exchanges with Harli White.


John Carney II moved past the No. 17w in the closing laps, relegating White to a fifth place finish.


Tony Bruce, Jr. crossed sixth with Jeff Swindell advancing from fifteenth to claim seventh. Kolt Walker, Patrick Stasa, and Blake Hahn completed the top ten.


The Smiley's Racing Products Lone Star Region resumes competition on Friday, June 13 at Timberline Speedway. The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is back in action on Wednesday, June 18 at the Lawton Speedway. For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


ASCS Sooner / Lone Star Challenge
Devil's Bowl Speedway - Mesquite, Texas
Saturday, May 17, 2014


Car Count: 32


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera; 2. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 3. 74B-John Carney II; 4. 94L-Layne Himebaugh; 5. 3-Raven Culp; 6. 4X-Shawn Petersen; 7. 11-Justin Melton; 8. 02-Brandon Long


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 12M-Kolt Walker; 2. 8-Alex Sewell; 3. 14-Michael Lang; 4. (DNF) 11AM-Mike Goodman; 5. (DNF) 87-Aaron Reutzel; 6. (DNF) 33-Mark Huddleston; 7. (DNF) 30-Brandon Corn; 8. (DNF) 22X-George White


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17W-Harli White; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr; 3. 17-Blake Hahn; 4. 94-Jeff Swindell; 5. 58-Gary Floyd; 6. (DNF) 56-Jarrett Lucito; 7. (DNF) 17X-Josh Baughman; 8. (DNF) 9-Bobby Breen


Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 95-Matt Covington; 2. 1A-Kevin Ramey; 3. 19-Patrick Stasa; 4. 25-Sterling Hoff; 5. 2K-John Kelly; 6. (DNF) 111-Morgan Montgomery; 7. (DNF) 45-Martin Edwards; 8. (DNF) 93-Dustin Morgan


B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[5]; 2. 17X-Josh Baughman[10]; 3. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[1]; 4. 4X-Shawn Petersen[6]; 5. 93-Dustin Morgan[15]; 6. 45-Martin Edwards[13]; 7. 11-Justin Melton[9]; 8. 02-Brandon Long[16]; 9. 2K-John Kelly[4]; 10. 111-Morgan Montgomery[8]; 11. (DNF) 58-Gary Floyd[3]; 12. (DNF) 56-Jarrett Lucito[2]; DNS 33-Mark Huddleston; DNS 30-Brandon Corn; DNS 22X-George White; DNS 9-Bobby Breen


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[3]; 2. 8-Alex Sewell[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 4. 74B-John Carney II[10]; 5. 17W-Harli White[8]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 7. 94-Jeff Swindell[15]; 8. 12M-Kolt Walker[5]; 9. 19-Patrick Stasa[11]; 10. 17-Blake Hahn[13]; 11. 1A-Kevin Ramey[9]; 12. 11-Justin Melton[23]; 13. 4X-Shawn Petersen[20]; 14. 17X-Josh Baughman[18]; 15. 25-Sterling Hoff[16]; 16. 93-Dustin Morgan[21]; 17. (DNF) 95-Matt Covington[7]; 18. (DNF) 02-Brandon Long[24]; 19. (DNF) 3-Raven Culp[14]; 20. (DNF) 94L-Layne Himebaugh[19]; 21. (DNF) 87-Aaron Reutzel[17]; 22. (DNF) 45-Martin Edwards[22]; 23. (DNF) 14-Michael Lang[2]; DNS 11AM-Mike Goodman


Lap Leader: Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
Lighting Wings Hard Luck: Aaron Reutzel and Mike Goodman

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...