Jump to content

Jeff Swindell pockets $2,000 with ASCS Lone Star at Boyd Raceway

Recommended Posts

Jeff Swindell Pockets $2,000 with ASCS Lone Star at Boyd Raceway


BOYD, Texas (May 16, 2014) - It's not about leading the most laps, just the last one as Jeff Swindell worked past Aaron Reutzel for his first ASCS score of the season; topping the Smiley's Racing Products Lone Star Region at the Boyd Raceway.


Surviving two green, white, checkered attempts at the a finish, the Heartland Catfish No. 94 stalked Reutzel from the start. Finding the center groove rubbered near the half-way point, the field situated single file, giving Swindell the chance to run down the BC Funds No. 87 who had worked to a straight-a-way advantage.


With Sam Hafertepe, Jr. in tow, the pair set sights on Reutzel in traffic.


A caution with two to go for the No. 18 of Tony Bruce, Jr. the next attempt followed the red after Josh Baughman and Ryan Hall made contact, sending the No. 17x flipping down the front straight-a-way.


On the final restart, Aaron dove low to block Swindell, but the smallest slip out of the groove was all it took for Jeff Swindell to grab the win. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. worked by for second with Kolt Walker also taking advantage to grab third. Aaron Reutzel ended up slipping to fourth with Blake Hahn completing the top five.


Johnny Herrera, Kevin Ramey, Shawn Petersen, Michal Lang, and Patrick Stasa filled out the top ten.


The Smiley's Racing Products Lone Star Region resumes competition on Saturday, May 17 at the Devil's Bowl Speedway. For news and updates, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Smiley's Racing Products ASCS Lone Star Region
Boyd Raceway - Boyd, Texas
Friday, May 16, 2014


Car Count: 31


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell; 2. 4X-Shawn Petersen; 3. 18-Tony Bruce Jr; 4. 19-Patrick Stasa; 5. 17X-Josh Baughman; 6. 02-Brandon Long; 7. (DNF) 95-Matt Covington; DNS 79-Charlie McDonald


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn; 2. 12M-Kolt Walker; 3. 79V-Ryan Hall; 4. 30-Brandon Corn; 5. 4J-John James; 6. 5X-Tyson Hall; 7. 21-Michele Melton; 8. (DNF) 111-Morgan Montgomery


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 2. 1A-Kevin Ramey; 3. 14-Michael Lang; 4. 74B-John Carney II; 5. 17W-Harli White; 6. 2K-John Kelly; 7. 45-Martin Edwards; 8. 11-Justin Melton


Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera; 3. 76-Zane Lawrence; 4. 58-Gary Floyd; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III; 6. 94L-Layne Himebaugh; 7. 25-Sterling Hoff


B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 74E-Claud Estes III[1]; 2. 5X-Tyson Hall[6]; 3. 11-Justin Melton[14]; 4. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[7]; 5. 17W-Harli White[4]; 6. 4J-John James[3]; 7. 45-Martin Edwards[12]; 8. 58-Gary Floyd[2]; 9. 02-Brandon Long[5]; 10. 79-Charlie McDonald[15]; 11. 2K-John Kelly[10]; 12. (DNF) 21-Michele Melton[11]; DNS 95-Matt Covington; DNS 25-Sterling Hoff; DNS 111-Morgan Montgomery


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell[3]; 2. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[6]; 3. 12M-Kolt Walker[2]; 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel[1]; 5. 17-Blake Hahn[5]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 7. 1A-Kevin Ramey[8]; 8. 4X-Shawn Petersen[4]; 9. 14-Michael Lang[13]; 10. 19-Patrick Stasa[9]; 11. 74B-John Carney II[10]; 12. 74E-Claud Estes III[17]; 13. 30-Brandon Corn[15]; 14. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[20]; 15. (DNF) 17X-Josh Baughman[16]; 16. (DNF) 79V-Ryan Hall[12]; 17. (DNF) 18-Tony Bruce Jr[11]; 18. (DNF) 11-Justin Melton[19]; 19. (DNF) 76-Zane Lawrence[14]; 20. (DNF) 5X-Tyson Hall[18]


Lap Leader(s): Aaron Reutzel 1-24, Jeff Swindell 25

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...