Jump to content

Gustin again in NCRA and MARS Late Models

Recommended Posts

Gustin Again in NCRA and MARS Late Models

Park City, Kansas May 4, 2014 - A month ago Ryan Gustin announced his intentions on taking a break from his modified racing to concentrate on his late model endeavor. After this weekends performance he may have got it all figured out as he led from drop of the green flag and was never challenged in claiming the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products and MARS DIRTcar late model feature victory Sunday night at 81 Speedway in Park City and Border War champion.

Starting on the pole for the thirty lap, $3000 to win feature, The Reaper quickly jumped out into the lead over fellow front row starter Brandon McCormick. Driving flawlessly on the bottom of the three-eighths mile oval, Gustin quickly opened up a half stretch advantage early and as he began to approach lapped traffic for the first time on lap nine built a full stretch lead.

While Gustin, aboard the #19r Mullins Race Engines powered Rocket chassis, made quick work of lapped traffic, McCormick and Jesse Stovall had a brief battle for the runner up position with McCormick finally taking control for good near the races midway point.

It was a popular win for Gustin as his car owners Ed and Cinde Gressel are from Wichita. The victory was Gustins third with the NCRA and fifth career with the MARS DIRTcar series and with a total of 65 laps run between last nights event at Dodge City Raceway Park and tonights show at 81 Speedway, Gustin led every lap. McCormick would finish second, followed by Stovall, Bill Leighton with his second consecutive fourth place finish and Tony Jackson, Jr.

The three heat races for the twenty car field were won by McCormick, Leighton and Gustin.

Next up for the NCRA late model tour will be the annual Hoosier Daddy Fathers Day special at 81 Speedway on Sunday night, June 15th.

NCRA/MARS Late Models at 81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas, May 4, 2014

20 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Brandon McCormick, 2) Chris Kratzer, 3) Tommy Weder, Jr., 4) David Dietz, 5) Leroy Johnson, 6) Kasey Beckham, 7) Wylan Petrie

2nd Heat: 1) Bill Leighton, Jr., 2) Jesse Stovall, 3) Terry Phillips, 4) Justin Asplin, 5) Garrett Alberson, 6) Jeremy Petty, 7) Bill Leighton, Sr.

3rd Heat: 1) Ryan Gustin, 2) Tony Jackson, Jr., 3) Jeremy Payne, 4) Kyle Berck, 5) Gary Gorby, 6) Jacob McGee

A Feature: 1) Ryan Gustin, 2) Brandon McCormick, 3) Jesse Stovall, 4) Bill Leighton, 5) Tony Jackson, Jr., 6) Terry Phillips, 7) Chris Kratzer, 8) Justin Asplin, 9) Jeremy Payne, 10) Kyle Berck, 11) Tommy Weder, Jr., 12) Leroy Johnson, 13) Gary Gorby, 14) Jeremy Petty, 15) David Dietz, 16) Jacob McGee, 17) Wylan Petrie, 18) Garrett Alberson, 19) Kasey Beckham, 20) Bill Leighton, Sr.

Lap Leaders: Gustin 1-30

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...