Jump to content

Scott Bloomquist Blasts to LOLMDS win at Tri-City Speedway


Recommended Posts

Bloomquist Blasts to Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Win at Tri-City Speedway

PONTOON BEACH, IL (May 2, 2014) - Scott Bloomquist led all 100 laps to win tonight's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Spring Classic at Tri-City Speedway. Bloomquist was only challenged a few times by runner-up Jimmy Owens as he won for the second time in the last three LOLMDS races.

Trailing Bloomquist and Owens to the finish line were Randy Korte, Don O'Neal, and John Blankenship.

"Our Sweet-Bloomquist car has been strong all year long, we struggled a little last night, but tonight was a different story. It has been awhile since we have won here. Kevin (Gundaker) and everybody here does a great job with this track, they have built a nice facility here," said the winner afterwards.

"With the rain they had this week, the track was pretty good, there were some rough patches in three and four. I tried to go above them but didn't want to lose my momentum. I saw Jimmy once, and that really got me going. I have to thank Andy Durham of Durham Racing Engine, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Base Fuel, Lucas Oil Products, Hawkeye Trucking and all of my other sponsors."

Bloomquist started on the outside of the front row and held a steady advantage for the entire race. Owens pulled close a couple of times after restarts, but could not maintain the pace that Bloomquist set. Bobby Pierce, who started 11th and was looking for his sixth straight win at Tri-City, made it up to third spot, but hit the wall on the 27th lap, ending his night. Pierce had been pressuring Owens for second when his solid run came to an abrupt halt.

Korte, in his final year of driving, came into the event as the tracks current points' leader. He started eighth in the race and worked his way past Earl Pearson Jr. and O'Neal when Pearson broke on lap 34. Korte would finish a solid third at the checkers.

Completing the top ten were Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Birkhofer, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Brian Shirley.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 14.299 seconds. Scott Bloomquist set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.323 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Billy Moyer, Scott Bloomquist, and Don O'Neal won their respective heat races. Steve Francis and Dewayne Kiefer won their respective B-Mains.

Craig Smith, driver of the #826, was disqualified from this evening's event for actions unbecoming of a competitor during tonight's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, May 2nd, 2014
Tri-City Speedway - Granite City, IL

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens/ 14.299 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 14.323 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Brian Shirley, Brian Birkhofer, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Billy Moyer, Jr., Jason Hughes, Tim Manville, Michael Kloos

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Bobby Pierce, Bub McCool, Steve Francis, Scott Weber, Jason Papich, Rickey Frankel

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jim Shereck, Jared Landers, Jason Riggs, Steve Lach, Dennis Erb, Jr., Shannon Babb, Billy Laycock

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Randy Korte, John Blankenship, Jimmy Mars, Dewayne Kiefer, Craig Smith, Chris Fetter, Mark Burgtorf

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Steve Francis, Billy Moyer, Jr., Scott Weber, Jason Feger, Jason Hughes, Jason Papich, Michael Kloos, Tim Manville, Rickey Frankel

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Dewayne Kiefer, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Riggs, Shannon Babb, Chris Fetter, Steve Lach, Craig Smith

Feature Finish (50 Laps):



Race Statistics
Entrants: 34
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 50)
Caution Flags: Jim Shereck (Lap 13); Shannon Babb (Lap 21); Jimmy Mars, Bub McCool (Lap 21); Bobby Pierce (Lap 27); Jared Landers (Lap 33)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jason Hughes and Jason Papich
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: None
Tri-City Speedway Provisionals: Billy Laycock and Shannon Babb
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Dennis Erb, Jr. (Started: 20th; Finished: 12th; Advanced 8 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O'Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Randy Korte
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Hughes
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Hughes
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Matt Salmons (Scott Bloomquist)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist Lap #2 - 15.061 seconds
Time of Race: 31 minutes 08 seconds


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...