Jump to content

Bobby Pierce powers to biggest career win at Macon Speedway


Recommended Posts

Pierce Powers to Biggest Career Win Thursday Night at Macon Speedway

MACON, IL (May 1, 2014) - Bobby Pierce scored the biggest win of his young racing career tonight at Macon Speedway. Pierce pocketed $12,000 for his win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned, St Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100.

Pierce crossed the line a half a lap ahead of second place finisher, Brian Shirley. Steve Francis finished third followed by Jimmy Owens, who rallied from twenty-fourth to finish fourth. Eddie Carrier Jr. rounded out the top five.

"I can't believe how good the car was tonight, everything was great from the get-go. We set fast time, won our heat and led every lap in the feature. I got a little worried in traffic a few times, but everybody gave each other plenty of room. I hope the fans enjoyed the show tonight. To win the first Lucas Oil race here at Macon is special. My dad has a lot of wins here, and this is only the second time I have raced here in a Late Model."

"The track was good all night. That rain in the Modified feature, I think helped a little. There was enough cushion up against the wall to keep me from hitting it. I have to thank my mom and dad, all of my crew, Pierce Race Cars, Bill Schlieper with Pro Power Engines, and all of my sponsors: Champion Spark Plugs, The Pierce Posse of course, Queen City Appraisals, Brown's Quality Paint & Body, Petersen Aluminum, Keyser and everyone else." It was Pierce's second career LOLMDS victory. His first LOLMDS victory came in February at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL.

Shirley took over the second spot from Francis on lap six and never looked back. Shirley stayed close to Pierce for the first half of the race, but faded over the final 50 laps and maintained 2nd place. "I have to thank Scott Riggs for letting me drive his car. We were good for most of the race; I was married to the bottom and he stayed up against the wall. I thought I could get him a few times, but it was a long race and he just got away from me."

Francis, in the Clint Bowyer, Georgia Boot Barry Wright entry, held off Owens to claim third. "Bobby and Brian were great tonight. If someone had told me we would finish third at Macon, I would have taken it in a heartbeat. It was a great points night. The car was a little tighter than I wanted it to be, but we will definitely take this third and head to Tri-City tomorrow night."

Completing the top ten were Kevin Weaver, Brian Birkhofer, Brandon Sheppard, John Blankenship, and Dennis Erb, Jr.

In preliminary action, Bobby Pierce set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 31 entrants, with a lap of 10.768 seconds. Steve Francis set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 11.239 seconds. Steve Francis, Brian Shirley, Bobby Pierce, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Jason Papich and Roger Brickler won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary - Thursday Night, May 1st, 2014 - Macon Speedway - Macon, IL

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Steve Francis/ 11.239 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Bobby Pierce / 10.768 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Don O'Neal, Brian Diveley, Jared Landers, Jason Papich, Jason Hughes, Chris Dick

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brian Shirley, Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Erb, Jr., Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dennis Vandermeersch, Jake Little

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, John Blankenship, Matt Taylor, Joseph Hughs, Roger Brickler, Jimmy Owens, Billy Moyer, Andrew Barnes

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Kevin Weaver, Randy Korte, John Beck, Greg Kimmons, Jason Feger, Ryan Little

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jason Papich, Jared Landers, Shannon Babb, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dennis Vandermeersch, Jake Little, Chris Dick, Jason Hughes

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Roger Brickler, Jason Feger, Billy Moyer, Greg Kimmons, Ryan Little, Andrew Barnes, Jimmy Owens



Race Statistics
Entrants: 31
Lap Leaders: Bobby Pierce (Laps 1 - 100)
Caution Flags: Don O'Neal, Eddie Carrier, Randy Korte (Lap 2); Jason Hughes, Earl Pearson Jr., Jared Landers (Lap 2); Roger Brickler (Lap 9); Roger Brickler (Lap 13); John Beck (Lap 19); Debris (Lap 27); Jason Hughes (Lap 36)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson, Jr. and Jimmy Owens
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Jason Hughes
Wrisco Feature Winner: Bobby Pierce
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Started: 24th; Finished: 4th; Advanced: 20 positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O'Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Jimmy Owens
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Papich
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Papich
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Pro Power Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Pierce Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Aaron Faugust (Brian Shirley)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Bobby Pierce - Lap 2 - 10.826 seconds
Time of Race: 40 minutes 46 seconds


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...