Jump to content

TPS Holds 2004 Awards Dinner

Recommended Posts

From: Neil Upchurch, Race – Administrative Director

c/o 3222 Leyte Drive, San Antonio, TX 78217-4018

210/ 655-3222 Phone & Fax

210/ 365-3221 Cell Phone



TPS Holds 2004 Awards Dinner


The Texas Pro Sedans Series 2004 annual Awards Dinner was held on Saturday night, December 4 in Universal City. The TPS custom of holding its annual awards ceremony in conjunction with Thunder Hill Raceway could not be followed this year due to TPS and THR date scheduling situations.


During the TPS Awards Party, the 2004 Texas Pro Sedans Champion Bill LaBarge of Bryan, received his unprecedented 6th TPS Champions Plaque. The 2004 Texas Pro Sedans “Rookie of the Year” Bryce Dishman of Devine was presented with the TPS Rookie Plaque. Both drivers were sent embroidered jackets from Texas Pro Sedans sponsor Tom Lorenz, President of Hoosier Racing Tires Southwest.


Several Texas Pro Sedans sponsors and members received Appreciation Plaques and Awards. They included Lalo Leal of Corpus Christi for outstanding contributions in the acquisition of sponsors for the three 2004 TPS races at C.C. Motor Speedway. Richard and Bea Villanueva and Nelson Skinner of San Antonio will receive appreciation plaques for their sponsorship of seven TPS races, four at Thunder Hill Raceway racing events and three at San Antonio races. Mike and Charysse Knotts of Universal City were presented with an appreciation plaque for their continued website and graphic support of the TPS racing program. Robert and Rebecca Carter of San Antonio received an award in appreciation of 28 years of service to TPS races and officiating. Carter had previously announced his retirement from race officiating at the last TPS drivers meeting on October 16th. TPS Driver Mike Knotts presented Neil Upchurch and Robert Carter with merchandise gifts in behalf of the members.


Texas Pro Sedans Race and Administrative Director, Neil Upchurch presented awards to the recipients and a narrative presentation describing the 2004 TPS racing season. TPS Driver, Bruce Mabrito delivered a humorous Texas Pro Sedan post season ode.


The TPS Awards location was coordinated by Liz (Mrs. Tony Johnson). TPS Race & Administrative Director Neil Upchurch, coordinated the TPS Awards Dinner.


A room full of 18 Texas Pro Sedans drivers, plus more than 30 crew members, sponsors and officials attended the season-ending event. The large TPS member participation at the Awards Dinner put a proper finishing touch to the 29th consecutive season and started the 30th season of Texas Pro Sedan racing.


Also unveiled was the first public showing of the Texas Pro Sedans 30th Anniversary Logo. The special logo will be used during the season 2005. It was designed by Mike Knotts.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would like to add several appreciation comments I made to approximately 50 who attended the 2004 Texas Pro Sedans Awards Dinner on December 4th in Universal City.




Hoosier Racing Tires Southwest, via Tom Lorenz, Thru David Mackey & Bartell Tires

Nelson Skinner, Attorney at Law, San Antonio

Richard & Bea Villanueva, San Antonio

Buggy Warehouse of San Antonio, TX. thru owner, Steve Foster

Airgas Southwest & RED-D-ARC, thru Account Manager, Frank Smith of Corpus Christi

Austin Vee Dub Inc, Austin, thru owner, Edward Martin

Lalo’s Auto Service of Corpus Christi, thru owner, Lalo Leal

Ray’s Auto & Truck Service, San Antonio, TX. thru owner, Ray Becka

Regal Plastics, San Antonio

Affordable Construction Clean Up, Corpus Christi, thru Bruce Goulet

Julio’s Easy Stop Tacos, Corpus Christi, thru owners Julio & Alicia Roldan

Guerra’s Lawn Service, Corpus Christi. thru owner, Johnny Guerra

Speedway Signs, Schertz, TX, thru Mike & Charysse Knotts

Donnelly & Son Concrete, Corpus Christi

Scooter Town, Corpus Christi

Auto Mart, Corpus Christi thru Owner, Dan Webb

Travelodge Airport, Corpus Christi, thru Manager, Dawn Gamill

George Merrell, Kingsland, TX (Scales Sponsor)



2004 TPS OFFICIALS: They deserve thanks for their dedication, fair play and hard work during the 2004 season.

The officials: Robert & Rebecca Carter, Kevin Hallman, Nick Holt, Bobby Castleberry, Bob Sherland, Rusty Martin, Russ Martin, Bucky Hutchison, Charysse Knotts, David Mackey, Andrea Hexsel, Lorraine McCain, Terry Upchurch and Kathy Tiemann.





Brian &Tracie Calloway, Jim Lynch, Nick Holt, David Mackey,

Kathy & Kristina Tiemann, Randy Hubbard & Chuck Licata.



Owen Pittman and Greg Godfrey and all of the CC Speedway staff.



Paul Lozano, Milton Hope, Steven Jung, Debbie Williams



Nick Holt & Jason, Texas Speed Zone.com, Mike Haag, San Antonio Express-News

Mike & Charysse Knotts, TexasProSedans.com and Christine Parks, JM Hallas, RATRAX

Trey Ware, KTSA Radio.


Neil Upchurch

Race & Administrative Director

Texas Pro Sedans

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...