Jump to content

Billy Moyer Jr. sweeps Cedar Lake Summer Nationals


Recommended Posts

Moyer Jr. sweeps Cedar Lake Summer Nationals


New Richmond, Wis. - June 16, 2012 - Everyone on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour knows now that Billy Moyer Jr. isn't messing around after the 25-year-old driver won the 50-lap Cedar Lake Speedway finale on Saturday night worth $10,000 and increased his win percentage on tour to 75% in the process.


(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals 'Hell Tour', click here to follow along on Twitter.)


Moyer grabbed the lead on the opening lap and wouldn't relinquish the top spot over the course of the main event withstanding a late run by Solon Springs, Wis., driver Brady Smith that saw Smith make multiple attempts at Moyer Jr. with less than 15 laps remaining. Smith would settle for the runner-up spot and 3-time Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb finished third. Pole sitter Jason McBride of Carbondale, Ill., finished fourth and Chatham, Ill., driver Brian Shirley rounded out the top five.


The tour will move to Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wis., Sunday for a $5,000-to-win event. Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., won the tour's last race at Wilmot in 2010. Moyer Jr. currently leads the DIRTcar Summer Nationals point standings by 29 markers over his father, late model legend Billy Moyer. Defending Hell Tour Champion Shannon Babb is third, 35 markers behind.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Cedar Lake Speedway; New Richmond, Wis.; June 16, 2012 A-Main (50-laps): 1. Billy Moyer Jr. ($10,000), 2. Brady Smith, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Jason McBride, 5. Brian Shirley, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Jimmy Mars, 8. Chad Simpson, 9. Billy Moyer, 10. Mike Spatola, 11. Don O'Neal, 12. Terry Casey, 13. Frank Heckenast Jr., 14. Brian Birkhofer, 15. A.J. Diemel, 16. Ryan Unzicker, 17. Dennis Erb Jr., 18. Jason Feger, 19. Charlie McKenna, 20. Bobby Pierce, 21. Jon Henry, 22. Chris Simpson. Fast qualifiers (among 32 cars): Sheppard, Babb, Moyer Jr., McBride. Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Babb, Moyer Jr., McBride. B-main winner: Feger. Provisional starters: Pierce, Unzicker, Henry, Erb.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...