Jump to content

Wayne Johnson Victorious in Speedweek Opener

Recommended Posts

Wayne Johnson Victorious in Speedweek Opener


Bryan Hulbert - Mesquite, Texas (June 15, 2012) After drawing the

lowest pill for his heat race, Wayne Johnson looked like a man

possessed; redrawing into the second row and proceeding to wire the

night’s 25 laps feature at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway.


“This is one of my favorite race tracks we ever get to come to and

sure seems like we get rolling pretty good too every time we come down

here” commented a very satisfied Wayne Johnson. “I seen on the restart

I had Lasoski and Herrera behind me. I knew it wasn’t going to be a

cakewalk and just didn’t want them to get a run and be able to slide

me there in turn one. I think there were afraid to really try it

‘cause there wasn’t much to hold you on the top over there.”


Positioning the Oil Medics No. 77x on the bottom grove, a quick move

to the inside line on the start of the night’s feature event would see

Johnson leading the opening lap.


Utilizing a single file restart after a caution for debris on the

track with twenty-four laps remaining, Johnson would find himself in

heavy lapped traffic in a matter of no time with the Casey's General

Store No. 21 of Brian Brown in hot pursuit until a failed quick change

gear sidelined the Grain Valley, Missouri driver on lap twelve.


Rolling back to green with thirteen remaining, Johnson led the

MVT/Champion Brands No. 45x of Herrera and the Burch Motorsports/Wolf

Weld Chassis No. 1m of Danny Lasoski with a pair of slower cars in the

mix. Allowing Johnson to pull to a sizable advantage, the battle for

the runner up spot would see Lasoski move into second before the red

flag waved on lap eighteen for the No. 45 of Martin Edwards.


Taking the green for a pair of laps, the caution would fly for the

final time as the T&L Foundry No. 11c of Matt Covington came to a stop

after contact on the front straight.


Taking the green for the final five laps the Oil Medics No. 77x of

Johnson would run away to a comfortable victory with Danny Lasoski

holding onto second. Johnny Herrera would round out the podium. Jason

Johnson would march from sixteenth to fourth with Aaron Reutzel

earning the Pitstopusa.com Hard Charger of the night; advancing from

twenty-second to fifth.


Brady Bacon, who started fourteenth, would take sixth with Danny Wood

taking seventh. Racing out the B-Feature, Kolt Walker would move from

nineteenth to eighth with Brad Loyet following suit by advancing from

seventeenth to finish ninth with Gary Wright salvaging a tenth place

run with the fuel cell going dry on the final lap.


Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV


Devil’s Bowl Speedway - Mesquite, Texas


Summer Nationals/Speedweek - Night #1


June 15, 2012


Car Count: 33


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 9-Gary Wright[1]; 2. 21-Brian Brown[3]; 3.

77x-Wayne Johnson[9]; 4. 45K-Kolt Walker[2]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[8];

6. 74E-Claud Estes III[4]; 7. 12w-Dale Wester[5]; 8. 23-Seth

Bergman[7]; 9. 14b-Robert Byrom[6]


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 19-Klint Angelette[1]; 2. 1m-Danny Lasoski[2]; 3.

81-Danny Wood[4]; 4. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 5. 11c-Matt Covington[6]; 6.

87-Aaron Reutzel[8]; 7. 10-George White[5]; DNS 27-Andy Shouse


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 5h-Logan Forler[1]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 3.

224-John Carney II[5]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[3]; 5. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 6.

11s-Patrick Stasa[6]; 7. 11-Justin Melton[8]; 8. 17-Bruce Griffith



Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 45-Martin Edwards[5]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[8]; 3.

4x-Shawn Petersen[1]; 4. 69-Larry Howery[4]; 5. 74x-Joshua Hodges[6];

6. 3-Raven Culp[3]; 7. 35-Barry Gifford[7]; DNF 54-Evan Pardo[2]


B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 2. 11c-Matt Covington[2]; 3.

45K-Kolt Walker[4]; 4. 11s-Patrick Stasa[6]; 5. 23-Seth Bergman[13];

6. 87-Aaron Reutzel[5]; 7. 74E-Claud Estes III[8]; 8. 11-Justin

Melton[7]; 9. 54-Evan Pardo[15]; 10. 12w-Dale Wester[11]; 11.

10-George White[12]; 12. 35-Barry Gifford[10]; 13. 14b-Robert

Byrom[16]; DNF 74x-Joshua Hodges[3]; DNF 27-Andy Shouse[17]; DNF

3-Raven Culp[9]; DNS 17-Bruce Griffith Jr.


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson[3]; 2. 1m-Danny Lasoski[9];

3. 45x-Johnny Herrera[5]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson[12]; 5. 87-Aaron

Reutzel[22]; 6. 99-Brady Bacon[14]; 7. 81-Danny Wood[11]; 8. 45K-Kolt

Walker[19]; 9. 05-Brad Loyet[17]; 10. 9-Gary Wright[8]; 11. 23-Seth

Bergman[21]; 12. 2-Dustin Morgan[16]; 13. 19-Klint Angelette[1]; 14.

4x-Shawn Petersen[13]; DNF 224-John Carney II[4]; DNF 11c-Matt

Covington[18]; DNF 45-Martin Edwards[6]; DNF 5h-Logan Forler[7]; DNF

11s-Patrick Stasa; DNF 21-Brian Brown[2]; DNF 18-Tony Bruce Jr[10];

DNF 69-Larry Howery[15]Lap Leader(s): Wayne Johnson 1-25


Lap Leader(s): Wayne Johnson (1-25)


Pitstopusa.com Hard Charger of the Night: Aaron Reutzel +17


FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Johnny Herrera


Provisional(s): N/A


2012 Feature Winners: Brady Bacon-3, Jason Johnson-3, Wayne Johnson-3,

Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1,

Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1


Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson

2,102 2. Jason Johnson 2,086; 3. Brady Bacon 2,073; 4. Johnny Herrera

1,945; 5. Brad Loyet 1,896; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 1,779; 7. Danny Wood

1,762; 8. Seth Bergman 1,694; 9. Dustin Morgan 1,596; 10. Gary Wright



2012 Lucas Oil ASCS Speedweek Points (top 10) 1. Wayne Johnson 150; 2.

Danny Lasoski 142; 3. Johnny Herrera 135; 4. Jason Johnson 130; 5.

Aaron Reutzel 125; 6. Brady Bacon 122; 7. Danny Wood 119; 8. Kolt

Walker 116; 9. Brad Loyet 113; 10. Gary Wright 110


The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is

scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United

States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s



The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing

for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint

Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and

into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also

consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.


Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car

Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at

www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American

Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings

in your area log onto www.mavtv.com.


Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series

presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3

Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, FSR Radiator

and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld

Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing

Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...