Jump to content

Kevin Kile wins Cedar County Deery


Recommended Posts

Kevin Kile wins Cedar County Deery - Kile’s race day decision pays off with career first Deery Series feature win at Cedar County


TIPTON, Iowa (June 12) – The race day decision Kevin Kile made paid off with his career first Deery Brothers Summer Series feature win Tuesday night at Cedar County Raceway.


After a tough weekend on the track, Kile had spent much of the afternoon repairing and replacing parts on his IMCA Late Model before deciding to make the trip to Tipton.


He’d run at or near the front all 40 laps and go home with $2,000, taking the checkers half a dozen car lengths ahead of Denny Eckrich in front of an appreciative and record-setting grand­stand crowd.


Dan Shelliam, Justin Kay and Mike Garland rounded out the top five.


Kile drew the pole start but it was Shelliam who shot into the lead from outside the front row. Never able to get much separation, Shelliam stayed in front until lap 21, when Kile darted inside.


The only caution of the race came on lap 25 and Eckrich passed Shelliam for second on the ensu­ing restart.


Kile stayed in control however and with lapped cars staying out of the equation, won comfortably ahead of Eckrich.


Two-time defending series champion Ray Guss Jr. was sixth while point leader Mike Murphy Jr. was 10th. Jay Johnson and Tyler Bruening both moved up eight spots from where they started to finish 13th and 14th, respectively.


Winner of the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing was Jeff Aikey.


Next up on the Deery Series schedule is the Wednesday, June 20 show at Southern Iowa Speed­way in Oskaloosa.


Pit gates open at 5 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. and racing starts at 7:30 p.m.


The Oskaloosa date is the ninth of 20 events on the 2012 Deery schedule. Eckrich is the other driver to have won for the first time in his series career this season, on May 22 at Marshalltown Speedway.


Milo Veloz Jr. won Tuesday’s JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature for IMCA Modifieds at Tipton.


Feature results – 1. Kevin Kile, West Liberty; 2. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 3. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis.; 4. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 5. Mike Garland, Morrison, Ill.; 6. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 7. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 8. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 9. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill.; 10. Mike Mur­phy Jr., Colona, Ill.; 11. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo; 12. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 13. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 14. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 15. Kurt Kile, Nichols; 16. Stephan Kammerer, Blue Grass; 17. Mike Zemo Jr., Davenport; 18. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 19. Mike Klinkkammer, West Branch; 20. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 21. Doug Yates, Monticello; 22. Travis Denning, Ster­ling, Ill.; 23. Colby Springsteen, Wapello; 24. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher.


1st heat (top three qualify) – 1. Guss; 2. Shelliam; 3. Murphy; 4. Beuseling; 5. Hinrichs; 6. Kam­merer; 7. Nick Marolf, Moscow; 8. Drake Ostrom, Moline, Ill.

2nd heat – 1. Aikey; 2. Ryan; 3. Zemo; 4. Klinkkammer; 5. Kurt Kile; 6. Matt Strassheim, Morning Sun; 7. Bruening; 8. Callahan.


3rd heat – 1. Springsteen; 2. Kevin Kile; 3. Andy Eckrich; 4. Gary Webb, Blue Grass; 5. Andy Nezwor­ski, Buffalo; 6. Bryan Klein, Cedar Rapids; 7. Brunson Behning, Calamus; 8. Dave Stichter, Morrison, Ill.


4th heat – 1. Denny Eckrich; 2. Kay; 3. Denning; 4. Jay Chenoweth, Wapello; 5. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 6. Spencer Diercks, Bettendorf; 7. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction; 8. DeFrance.


5th heat – 1. Zrostlik; 2. Garland; 3. Yates; 4. Jeff Mitrison, Oskaloosa; 5. Johnson; 6. Ryan Duhme, LaMotte; 7. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque; 8. Tom Pestka, Maquoketa.


1st “B” feature (top three qualify) – 1. Beuseling; 2. Kurt Kile; 3. Kammerer; 4. Bruening; 5. Webb; 6. Gustin; 7. Utter; 8. Duhme; 9. Ostrom; 10. Klein; 11. Mitrisin; 12. Pestka; 13. Stichter.


2nd “B” feature – 1. Klinkkammer; 2. Hinrichs; 3. Johnson; 4. Nezworski; 5. Chenoweth; 6. Marolf; 7. Merfeld; 8. DeFrance; 9. Strassheim; 10. Diercks; 11. Behning; 12. Callahan.


Hard charger provisional – Bruening. Point provisionals – DeFrance and Callahan.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...