Jump to content

Don O'Neal Takes Second Straight Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence

Recommended Posts

Don O'Neal Takes Second Straight Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence Speedway



UNION, KY (June 2, 2012) - Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN took the lead at the start of the 26th Annual Ralph Latham Memorial and went unchallenged in taking the $10,000 victory. It was O'Neal's second consecutive win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event at Florence Speedway. Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN came home second; followed by Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, WV; and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY.




O'Neal dominated the event from start to finish. O'Neal had little difficulty, effortlessly racing though traffic as he went on for his eighth LOLMDS triumph of 2012.




"You know, we always seem to run well here. This MasterSbilt Race Car was solid all-night long. I could drive it anywhere on the track! I have to thank all of my crew and sponsors for making this possible. Thanks to the fans for coming out tonight as well," said O'Neal.




O'Neal's Keith and Tader Masters-owned car is sponsored by Optima Batteries, Independence Lumber, Seubert Calf Ranches, Superior Cleaning Services, Jones Core, Budda Bert Transmissions, Dragon Race Fuel, Ohlins, Tarpy Trucking, and O'Neal Mulch. A Jay Dickens Racing Engine powers the car.




Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC had a solid run going, running second for the first 29 laps of the race until he broke something, causing a caution flag. Owens picked up the second spot, but could never muster enough of a challenge to make it close at the finish in his Reece Monument Company, Cornett Racing Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars, Ford.




Bloomquist and Carrier had a good battle for third over the last half of race with Bloomquist edging out Carrier at the finish line. Francis followed closely in fifth.




Completing the top ten were: Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; and Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA.




In preliminary action, Don O'Neal set the Red Buck Cigars Fast Time amongst the 41 entrants with a lap of 17.308 seconds. Heat races were taken by: Don O'Neal, Scott Bloomquist, Ray Cook, and Jimmy Owens. Darrel Lanigan and Josh Williams won their respective B-Mains.






The series will make its way back to the hills of Tennessee tomorrow night as the stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series converge on Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN tomorrow night, June 3rd. The Toyota Knoxville 50 will pay $10,000-to-win, with Red Buck Cigars Time Trials, Full Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 50-Lap main event. For more information, log onto www.tazewellspeedway.com.




For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and be sure to follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.



Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary


Saturday Night, June 2nd, 2012


Ralph Latham Memorial

Florence Speedway - Union, KY




Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:


Don O'Neal / 17.308 seconds (Group A and Overall)


Ray Cook / 17.384 seconds (Group B)




Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O'Neal, Joe Janowski, John Blankenship, Jonathan Davenport, Darrell Lanigan, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chad Stapleton, Rod Conley, Dennis Roberson, Steve Landrum




U. S. Steel Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Brad Neat, Greg Johnson, Earl Pearson, Jr., Mike Jewell, Robby Hensley, Tim Rivers, Nick Latham, Troy Cruse, Scott James




Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Ray Cook, Steve Casebolt, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Brian Birkhofer, Josh Williams, John Gill, Eric Wells, Stephen Breeding, Jared Landers, David Spille, Mason Combs-DNS




HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Tyler Reddick, Austin Hubbard, Dustin Neat, Chad Smith, Barry Doss, James Rice, Greg Kendall, Jesse Lay



JRi Shocks First B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Advance): Darrell Lanigan, Mike Jewell, Dennis Erb, Jr., Robby Hensley, Chad Stapleton, Rod Conley, Tim Rivers, Nick Latham, Dennis Roberson, Steve Landrum, Troy Cruse, Scott James-DNS


PAC Racing Springs Second B-Main (12 Laps - Top 3 Advance): Josh Williams, Dustin Neat, Chad Smith, John Gill, Jared Landers, Barry Doss, Stephen Breeding, James Rice, David Spille, Greg Kendall, Eric Wells, Jesse Lay, Mason Combs



Feature Finish:


























Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...