Jump to content

Roberg and Fose Pick Up First Wins at Salina Speedway

Recommended Posts

Roberg and Fose Pick Up First Wins at Salina Speedway


by Dusty Wiegert





SALINA, Kan. -- First time winners seem to be happening often this season at the Salina Speedway, and the regularly scheduled event for Friday June 1 was no exception.





With a full year of racing already on his resume it was only due time before Tommy Fose would make his way to victory lane. Fose started third on the grid for the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock A Feature and jumped out to the early lead. Cautions at the middle of the race bunched the pack up but Fose was able to hold off a late race charge from last week's winner Tony Slothower to pick up the win. Tony Slothower was second, GW Fuller third, and Rick Slothower fourth. Tony Slothower was the Hard Charger after starting sixth. Fose and Tony Slothower won the heat races.





For young driver Russell Roberg, it only took two races for him to find Victory Lane in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks. Roberg started at the front but drifted to the back while a great side by side battle took place between Paco Montague and Wade Heller. With only a few laps left Roberg came flying through the top three and picked up the win. Montague finished second with Heller third and Stacey Fuller fourth. Dallas Dunn was the Hard Charger after starting twelveth and finishing sixth. Fuller and Roberg won the heat races.





It was another first time accomplishment for Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMod A Feature winner Kurtis Pihl, as he won his second race in a row. Pihl had no problem powering to the front and the win in a race that went caution free. Tyler Frye settled for second with Fred Traskowsky third, and Seth Schroer fourth. Jesse Levin was the Hard Charger after starting eleventh and finishing fifth. Eric Ingram and Pihl won the heat races.





Usually being sent to the back of the pack during a race is bad news. But not on this night, as Joe Cleveland did so, and in turn ran back up through the field to record another win in impressive fashion. Cleveland and Corey Lagroon made contact early in the race sending both to the rear. Cleveland made it to the front and checked out for his third win on the season. Mike Petersilie was second, with Troy Johnson third, and Danny Morrison Jr. fourth. Cleveland was the Hard Charger after starting eleventh. Cleveland, Geoff Jermark, and Brian Knoell won the heat races.





A class continuing to grow and put on some great races is the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors and Cave Diver's Liquor. This week Delbert Smith finally got the monkey off his back and snuck around Kelly Dunn and Dave Conkwright to take the win. Chad Dolan made a late charge to finish second, with Conkwright third, and Dunn fourth. Dolan was the Hard Charger, gaining eight positions. Scott Phillips and Dunn won the heat races.





Racing continues next Friday night June 8th.





For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit www.racesalinaspeedway.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...