Jump to content

Friday USMTS show at Junction rained out; Saturday still on


Recommended Posts

Friday’s show falls to rain, USMTS Casey’s Cup Series battle for $3,000 to win Saturday at Junction Motor Speedway


McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (June 1) – Rain drops began to fall with two laps remaining in the first heat race Friday night at the Junction Motor Speedway, and by the time the checkered flag waved the rain was coming down hard enough to force officials to cancel the remainder of the program for the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series powered by Swan Energy.


The 9th Annual Nebraska Shootout will now be a one-day show on Saturday paying $3,000 to win.


Two-time event winner Jon Tesch won the heat race with 2010 winner and defending USMTS National Champion Ryan Gustin finishing second ahead of Stormy Scott.


The first heat race on Saturday takes the green flag at 7:00 while the ticket window opens at 5:00 for spectators. Saturday’s racing card will be rounded out with NASCAR Late Models, B-Mods and Hobby Stocks.


Admission is just $15 for adults, $4 for kids ages 6 to 12 and children ages 5 and under get in for free. Pit passes are $30, but NASCAR members get in for $20 on Saturday.


Race fans can pick up discount coupons good for $2 off adult admission at Casey’s General Stores locations in Aurora, Geneva and York. For more information or to find the location nearest you, visit www.caseys.com online.


Located five miles south of I-80 on US 81, the Junction Motor Speedway is a state-of-the-art facility entering its ninth year of operation. The track is a super-fast, 3/8-mile clay oval boasting 80-foot-wide straight-aways, making for a lot of racing room for the drivers and a lot of wheel-to-wheel action for fans. For more information, call 402-773-5538 or check out www.junctionmotorspeedway.com.


To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit www.usmts.com online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =



USMTS Casey’s Cup Series

9th Annual Nebraska Shootout

Junction Motor Speedway, McCool Junction, Neb.

Friday, June 1, Date], 2012


Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.



1. (2) Jon Tesch, Watertown, S.D.

2. (4) Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa.

3. (3) Stormy Scott ®, Stewartsville, Mo.

4. (7) Daniel Hilsabeck ®, Waukee, Iowa.

5. (5) Wesley Summers, Wellington, Mo.

6. (6) Andy Wilkinson ®, York, Neb.

7. (8) Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa.

8. (1) Mike Lineberry, Fremont, Neb.


Remainder of program rained-out


® = Rookie of the Year contender.


Next Race: Saturday, June 2, Junction Motor Speedway, McCool Junction, Neb.

USMTS Casey’s Cup Series Points: Sanders 99, Gustin 74, S. Scott 64, Jason Hughes 52, Rowland 48, Johnny Scott 47, Terry Phillips 46, Kelly Shryock 42, Dereck Ramirez 38, Jeremy Payne 30.

Rookie of the Year Points: S. Scott 1533, Hilsabeck 820, Ron Keith 710, Casey Penn 678, Thomas Tillison Jr. 413.

COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Year Points: Mullins 166, Geddes 153, ProPower 141, Sput’s 113, Yeoman 102.

Tiger Rear Ends Manufacturers Championship Points: Hughes 196, GRT 182, Skyrocket 152, TRE 62, Shaw 57.


Contingency Awards:

AERO Race Wheels – not awarded.

American Racer – Dan Neeman.

Beyea Custom Headers – Tesch.

Dominator Race Products – not awarded.

Eibach Springs – not awarded.

Forty9Designs.com – not awarded.

Hooker Harness – not awarded.

Integra Racing Shocks & Springs – not awarded.

KEVKO Oil Pans & Components – not awarded.

KSE Racing Products – not awarded.

Marsh Racing Wheels – not awarded.

Nitroquest – not awarded.

Mesilla Valley Transportation – not awarded.

PBM Performance Products – not awarded.

R2C Performance Products – not awarded.

Real Racing Wheels – not awarded.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...