Jump to content

Top check is $1,500 for Hamilton County Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature


Recommended Posts

Top check is $1,500 for Hamilton County Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature


WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (May 31) – The JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour makes its first-ever appearance at Hamilton County Speedway next Tuesday, June 5, with the winner of the IMCA Modified main event earning $1,500.


Hometown driver Mark Elliott is the defending series champion and he’ll be part of a strong contingent of Iowans, along with long tows from Illinois, Minnesota and Kansas for the event doubling as the inaugural Wayne Redmond Memorial.


The Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier pays $1,250 for second and $1,000 for third. The tour purse for second place on back will be paid to fourth-24 place finishers at Webster City.


IMCA series and additional contingency awards will be given, as will a special Redmond Memorial trophy.


Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. Hot laps are set for 6 p.m. with racing to follow.


Spectator admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, $5 for students ages 13-17 and $2 for kids 12 and under. Kids get in free when accompanying a paying adult. Pit passes are $25.


While Jeff Waterman of Quincy, Ill., and Mike Hanson of Alton own series wins this far, it’s Richie Gustin of Gilman who brings the tour point lead to town. Delhi’s Mark Schulte is a single marker behind in second and Jeremy Mills of Garner is three points off the first place pace.


The third Fuel The Thunder 2 documentary segment will be filmed during the program.


Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks are also on the card next Tuesday, vying for IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National and Allstar Performance State points. Stephenville Starter Northern Region points will also be given to Hobby Stocks.


More information about the Webster City show is available by calling 515 297-3050. While drivers must have a 2012 IMCA license to compete, no special series license is sold or required this season.


Round four of the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour is Tuesday, June 12. Cedar County Raceway at Tipton also hosts the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models that evening.


JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 69; 2. Mark Schulte, Delhi, 68; 3. Jeremy Mills, Garner, 66; 4. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, 62; 5. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill., 61; 6. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 59; 7. Rich Smith, Davenport, 58; 8. Kelly Meyer, Big Rock, and Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, both 57; 10. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, and Darin Duffy, Hazleton, both 53; 12. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 50; 13. Vern Jackson, Waterloo, 41; 14. Mike Hansen, Alton, 40; 15. J.J. Wise, Manly, and J.D. Auringer, Waterloo, both 39; 17. Levi Nielsen, Mason City, 38; 18. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, Brad Dierks, Clarence, and Mitchell Morris, Eldridge, each 37.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...