Jump to content

Circuit of The Americas announces Host Committee members

Recommended Posts

Circuit of The Americas™ announces Circuit Events Host Committee members - Central Texas community leaders on board to promote 2012 Formula 1 United States Grand Prix™




AUSTIN, Texas (May 30, 2011) — Circuit of The Americas™ is proud to announce the members of the Circuit Events Host Committee™. More than 50 community leaders from Central Texas have joined together to serve as the Circuit Events Host Committee (CEHC) in preparation for the 2012 FORMULA 1 UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX™ on Nov. 16-18. Members include leaders in business, government, nonprofit organizations, academia and the public sector.


The CEHC will serve as an extension of Circuit of The Americas in the local community and as the regional ambassador organization to incoming fans, guests and corporations. The committee’s goal is to support a successful, inclusive and robust experience for all attendees, as well as to create promotional events leading up to race week. These events will showcase some of the key elements and attractions associated and aligned with Formula 1™, such as music, fashion, technology and celebrity involvement.


“The committee is made up of a variety of leaders, from CEOs and heads of businesses and nonprofits, to leaders in the arts and entertainment industries,” said Steve Sexton, president of Circuit of The Americas. “The committee will provide opportunities for community stakeholders to participate in the excitement of the FORMULA 1 UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX™ and supporting events, and will allow the community-at-large to share in the economic benefits afforded the city, surrounding communities, region and state.”


A complete list of CEHC members can be found below. More information on each member is available at www.circuitoftheamericas.com/circuit-events-host-committee.


2012 Circuit Events Host Committee

Sandy West, Executive Director, Circuit Events Host Committee


Linda Asaf Owner/Designer, Linda Asaf Design

William Atwell President, Atlee Development, Inc.

Ed Bailey VP Brand Development, Austin City Limits

Diana Barrios Vice President/Owner, Los Barrios Enterprises

Joanie Bentzin Philanthropist, The Bentzin Family Foundation

Philip Berber Chairman/Co-Founder, A Glimmer of Hope

Paul Carrozza Co-Founder, RunTex

Ryan Chapple Associate, Cain & Skarnulis

Julie Chase Director, Texas Tourism

Ben Crenshaw Professional Golfer

Julie Crenshaw Board of Directors, First Tee of Austin

Aaron Demerson Executive Director, Office of the Governor

Gloria Dilley Assistant Director of Purchasing, Steves & Sons

George Elliman Publisher, Tribeza

Susan Epstein Philanthropist

Gary Farmer President, Heritage Title Company

Dr. Thomas Gilligan Dean, McCombs School of Business University of Texas at Austin

Julie Huls President, Austin Technology Council

Mitch Jacobson Co‐Director, Clean Energy UT/Austin Technology Incubator

Jennifer Johnson Philanthropist

Trennis Jones Senior Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer & Corporate Responsibility Officer, Seton Healthcare Family

Scott Joslove President and CEO, Texas Hotel & Lodging Association

Laura Kilcrease Managing Director, Triton Ventures

Todd Kinsel Founder, Capital Supply Company

Julie Knox Philanthropist

Bob Lander President/CEO, Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau

Lee E. Lee Philanthropist

Tom Martin CEO/Editor, Director Winding Road Magazine

Andy Martinez President, GAHCC

Casandra Matej Executive Director, San Antonio Convention & Visitors Bureau

Steven McCraw Director, Texas Homeland Security

Carla McDonald President, DynaBrand

Frank Miller Director, San Antonio Airport

Mica Mosbacher Honorary Consul General of Iceland and founder, Mica Mosbacher Interests, LLC

Dacia Napier, M.D. Philanthropist, former partner at M&S Radiology

Marc Ott Austin City Manager, City of Austin

Rolando Pablos Commissioner, Public Utility Commission of Texas

Leslie Pchola General Manager, Hilton Austin

Richard Perez President/CEO, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce

Henri Richard CSMO, Freescale

Mike Rollins President/Chairman, Austin Chamber of Commerce

Manoj Saxena General Manager, IBM Watson Project

Sheryl Sculley City Manager, City of San Antonio

Kim Sexton Philanthropist

Jim Smith Director, Austin Bergstrom International Airport

Lindsay Smith Philanthropist

Carol Thompson Former Chairman, The Thompson Group

Wendy Topfer Board Advisor, Topfer Foundation

Doug Ulman President/CEO, Lance Armstrong Foundation

Ronnie Volkening President/CEO, Texas Retailers Association

Allison Watson Philanthropist

AnaPaula Watson Philanthropist

Linda Watson President/CEO, Cap Metro Transportation Authority

Ashley Weaver Philanthropist

Leo Welder Co-Founder/Operations Officer, ChooseWhat.com

Donna Wilcox Co‐Founder, Holland Wilcox Enterprises, Inc.

Phil Wilson Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation

Tracy Wolff President, Hidalgo Foundation of Bexar County

Rosina Zollino Philanthropist


About Circuit of The Americas


Circuit of The Americas will be a world-class destination for performance, education and business. It will be the first purpose-built Grand Prix facility in the United States designed for any and all classes of racing, from motor power to human power, and be the U.S. home to the 2012 FORMULA 1 UNITED STATES GRAND PRIX™ Nov. 16-18 and V8 SUPERCARS.


The Circuit of The Americas’ master plan features a variety of permanent structures designed for business, education, entertainment and race use. Its signature element will be a 3.4-mile circuit track. Other support buildings will include an expansive outdoor live music space, a conference center, a banquet hall as well as a state-of-the-art medical facility. Future proposed amenities include a driving/riding experience, a motorsports driving club, kart track, grand plaza event center and tower, and a trackside recreational vehicle park. For more information and downloadable video, audio and photos, visit: www.CircuitofTheAmericas.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...