Jump to content

Copeland Scores Salute to Indy Triumph at Canyon Speedway Park


Recommended Posts

Copeland Scores Salute to Indy Triumph at CSP


by Lonnie Wheatley


PEORIA, Ariz. (May 27, 2012) – Colby Copeland captured his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win in impressive fashion by topping Sunday night’s 30-lap ASCS Canyon Region non-wing Sprint Car feature to finish off Canyon Speedway Park’s Inaugural Salute to Indy.



Colby Copeland snared his first career ASCS Canyon Region feature win by topping Sunday night's Salute to Indy finale at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ. (Terry Shaw photo)


While Copeland stormed to victory lane in the Sprint Car ranks, other Salute to Indy winners on Sunday included Anthony Madrid in the Pure Stocks, Isaac Zaragoza in the X-Mods, Dustin Cormany in the ASCS2 Micro Sprint Cars and A.J. Martin in Southwest Mod Lites.


After finishing second in Saturday night’s Sprint Car feature event, Copeland drove to victory lane from the sixth starting position ahead of three-time ASCS Canyon Region champion Jeremy Sherman, with Rick Ziehl, Shon Deskins and R.J. Johnson rounding out the top five.


Anthony Madrid became the fifth different Pure Stock winner of the season at CSP by taking the checkered flag ahead of Saturday night winner Ty Weidner, Steve Bitting, Chris McCurdy, Jr., and 14th-starter Kevin Parker.


Isaac Zaragoza advanced from seventh for his first X-Mod score of the year in front of 13th-starter Cody Graham, Jake Johnson, John Foster and Cody Caldwell.


Dustin Cormany raced from fifth to take top ASCS2 Micro Sprint Car honors in front of Adam Milsap, Jacob Hawkins, 20th-starter Ryan Walter and Dave Van Ess, while A.J. Martin improved upon his runner-up finish the previous night to win the Southwest Mod Lite feature over pole starter Scott Domine, Mike Ryan, Tony Martin and Terry Cornwell.


Action resumes at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night, June 9, with the track’s 31st Anniversary event featuring IMCA Modifieds, Pure Stocks, Southwest Mod Lites, ASCS2 Micro Sprint Cars and Bombers.


Canyon Speedway Park – Inaugural Salute to Indy Sunday Results:


ASCS Canyon Region Sprint Cars:


Locked in from Saturday’s feature: 77-Dalten Gabbard, 23-Colby Copeland, 51-R.J. Johnson, 16-Mike Martin.


First Heat: 1. 78-Chris Bonneau, 2. 94-James Aragon, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 5. 5x-Jody Wirth, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 0-Stevie Sussex, 8. Xxx-Zach Sawyers, 9. 53-Tom Lee, 10. 93-Justin Quinn.


Second Heat: 1. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 2. 2-Josh Shipley, 3. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 4. 17k-Kyle Danielson, 5. 7j-Kiley Fellars, 6. 29-Michael Bonneau, 7. 14-Darrell Sickles, 8. 74b-Derek Williams, 9. 6jt-Michael Curtis, 10. 2x-Larry Gibson.


Third Heat: 1. 20-Shon Deskins, 2. 7k-Bruce St. James, 3. 32b-Brian Hosford, 4. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 5. 23x-Josh Castro, 6. 82-Tom Kamrath, 7. 9-Ryan Linder, 8. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 9. 19-Andrew Reinbold


B Main: 1. 23x-Josh Castro, 2. 93-Justin Quinn, 3. 6-Ronnie Clark, 4. 0-Stevie Sussex, 5. 9-Ryan Linder, 6. 14-Darrell Sickles, 7. 82-Tom Kamrath, 8. 17k-Kyle Danielson, 9. 29-Michael Bonneau, 10. 5x-Jody Wirth, 11. 6jt-Michael Curtis, 12. Xxx-Zach Sawyers, 13. 2x-Larry Gibson, 14. 53-Tom Lee, 15. 74b-Derek Williams.


"A" Feature: 1. 23-Colby Copeland, 2. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 3. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 4. 20-Shon Deskins, 5. 51-R.J. Johnson, 6. 78-Chris Bonneau, 7. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 8. 93-Justin Quinn, 9. 2-Josh Shipley, 10. 7k-Bruce St. James, 11. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 12. 6-Ronnie Clark, 13. 32b-Brian Hosford, 14. 23x-Josh Castro, 15. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 16. 0-Stevie Sussex, 17. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 18. 7j-Kiley Fellars, 19. 16-Mike Martin, 20. 94-James Aragon.


Pure Stocks:


Locked in from Saturday’s feature: z28-Ty Weidner, 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 40-Jeff Stafford, 2c-Terry Churchwell.


First Heat: 1. 444-Anthony Madrid, 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 9-Jeff Carter, 4. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 5. 2j-Jeremiah Stevens, 6. 3-Ashley Stafford, 7. 14-Chase Alves, 8. 96-Patrick Preston, 9. 44s-Steve Shumaker.


Second Heat: 1. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 2. 7-Steve Bitting, 3. 25-Steve Duffy, 4. 78-Kevin Parker, 5. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 6. 8n-Todd Palmo, 7. 52-Mike Goodwin, 8. 08-Tyler Vache.


Third Heat: 1. 92-Ryan Ruiz, 2. 64-Vance Honea, 3. 49-Brandon Parker, 4. 2m-Robert McClelland, 5. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 6. 54f-Guy Fite, 7. 2-Joshua McClelland, 8. 31-Harry Roud.


“B” Feature: 1. 2j-Jeremiah Stevens, 2. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 3. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 4. 54f-Guy Fite, 5. 8n-Todd Palmo, 6. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 14-Chase Alves, 8. 3-Ashley Stafford, 9. 08-Tyler Vache, 10. 96-Patrick Preston, 11. 31-Harry Roud, 12. 2-Joshua McClelland, 13. 52-Mike Goodwin.


"A" Feature: 1. 444-Anthony Madrid, 2. Z28-Ty Weidner, 3. 7-Steve Bitting, 4. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 5. 78-Kevin Parker, 6. 21m-Matt Martinez, 7. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 8. 49-Brandon Parker, 9. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 10. 54f-Guy Fite, 11. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 12. 40-Jeff Stafford, 13. 8n-Todd Palmo, 14. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 15. 2m-Robert McClelland, 16. 2j-Jeremiah Stevens, 17. 25-Steve Duffy, 18. 9-Jeff Carter, 19. 64-Vance Honea, 20. 92-Ryan Ruiz.




First Heat: 1. 99-Bobby Eardman, 2. 19w-Chris Weimer, 3. 77-Keith Krenklis, 4. 3z-Isaac Zaragoza, 5. 27-Jake Johnson, 6. 4-John Foster, 7. 43-Cody Graham.


Second Heat: 1. 2-Jason George, 2. 5-Ronald Webster, 3. 23-Dave Barnes, 4. C11-Chris Caldwell, 5. 56-Don Zoll, 6. 55-Joey McCullough.


"A" Feature: 1. 3z-Isaac Zaragoza, 2. 43-Cody Graham, 3. 27-Jake Johnson, 4. 4-John Foster, 5. C11-Cody Caldwell, 6. 77-Keith Krenklis, 7. 19w-Chris Weimer, 8. 5-Ronald Webster, 9. 99-Bobby Eardman, 10. 23-Dave Barnes, 11. 2-Jason George, 12. 55-Don Zoll, 13. 55-Joey McCullough.


ASCS2 Micro Sprint Cars:


Locked in from Saturday’s feature: 11-Garrett Guilkey, 5k-Joshua Shipley, 14-Dustin Cormany, 6-Dave Van Ess.


First Heat: 1. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 2. 88-Adam Milsap, 3. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 4. 7s-Wesley Slawson, 5. 77x-David Tardiff, 6. 53-Joe Pitts, 7. 6c-Heath Kowacz.


Second Heat: 1. 7-Nick Aiuto, 2. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 3. 81-Tyler Dean, 4. 21-Johnathon Patrick, 5. 55-Greg Pritts, 6. 29-Paul Martin.


Third Heat: 1. 77-Colby Copeland, 2. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 3. 91-Austin Quick, 4. 41-Colton Hardy, 5. 3-Jim Mattison, 6. 4-Ryan Walter.


"A" Feature: 1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 88-Adam Milsap, 3. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 4. 4-Ryan Walter, 5. 6-Dave Van Ess, 6. 29-Paul Martin, 7. 81-Tyler Dean, 8. 41-Colton Hardy, 9. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 10. 77x-David Tardiff, 11. 21-Johnathon Patrick, 12. 53-Joe Pitts, 13. 7-Nick Aiuto, 14. 5k-Joshua Shipley, 15. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 16. 3-Jim Mattison, 17. 77-Colby Copeland, 18. 7s-Wesley Slawson, 19. 91-Austin Quick, 20. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 21. 6c-Heath Kowacz, 22. 11-Garrett Guilkey.


Southwest Mod Lites:


First Heat: 1. 22-Scott Domine, 2. 58-Scott Strei, 3. 00-Jason Burstein, 4. 5j-P.J. Jinzo, 5. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 6. C11-Chris Caldwell, 7. 90-Lance White.


Second Heat: 1. 14-Tony Martin, 2. 41-A.J. Martin, 3. 88-Terry Cornwell, 4. 19d-Davey Bateman, 5. 11-Mike Ryan, 6. 19-Mark Hammill, 7. 19-Johnny Vigil.


“A” Feature: 1. 41-A.J. Martin, 2. 22-Scott Domine, 3. 11-Mike Ryan, 4. 14-Tony Martin, 5. 88-Terry Cornwell, 6. 5j-P.J. Jinzo, 7. 00-Jason Burstein, 8. 58-Scott Strei, 9. C11-Chris Caldwell, 10. 19d-Davey Bateman, 11. 9-Mark Hammill, 12. 90-Lance White, 13. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 14. 19-Johnny Vigil.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...