Jump to content

Bone Dries Up NCRA Modified Field at 81 Speedway

Recommended Posts

Bone Dries Up NCRA Modified Field at 81 Speedway


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Park City, Kansas – May 26, 2012 - Johnny Bone, Jr. of Pea Ridge, Arkansas took the lead on a lap two restart and never looked back as he won Saturday night’s National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products modified feature finale at 81 Speedway in Park City.


Tyler Davis started on the pole for the thirty lap feature and beat outside front row starter Ross Shipman into turn one and two on the start to take the early lead with third starting Bone taking the runner up position.


Only one lap was complete before the first caution of the race fell when rookie contender Jon Thompson got loose coming out of turn three and hit the back stretch wall.


On the restart Bone got around Davis entering turns one and two with both drivers still battling for the top spot coming out of turn four but the caution would quickly wave again before that lap was complete when Marc Hurd spun in turns three and four. At this same point, Jason McGehee, who won the season opener, came to a stop with damage to his #5* car ending his night.


The restart saw Davis and Bone once again battle for the lead but this time Bone would make the pass heading down the back stretch for good. Brian Franz, the career modified feature winner at 81 Speedway, also got around Davis for the runner up spot and looked to chase down Bone.


Bone, aboard his familiar #12 Home Grown Racing Engines powered TRE by Bone chassis, would pull away from the field, opening up to a ten car length lead by lap eight. That’s when the caution would wave again, this time for a Travis Johnson spin in turn four.


Once racing action resumed so did Bone’s torrid pace out front as he had opened a half stretch lead by the races midway point over Franz.


Behind the two front runners, however, the battle for third was a back and forth effort between Davis and Shipman. Former five-time series champion John Allen, who had worked his way up from the “C” feature, joined to make it a three car battle for third with ten laps to go.


A couple more cautions for spins slowed the pace, including one with two laps to go. However there was no catching Bone on this night as he went on to claim the $1000 victory by ten car lengths over Franz.


“The track was really good tonight,” said Bone in victory lane. “I tried the top there early and then down in one and two there was enough moisture where I could get a good bite. I just stayed there until somebody showed me different.”


Davis and Allen traded body panels and positions the final five laps for the third spot before Davis claimed the position coming out of turn four on the final lap. Allen’s start from thirteenth ended with a fourth place finish with Shipman rounding out the top five.


The ten lap heat races for the thirty-six car field were won by Thompson, Davis, Straun Taylor and Franz.


Thomas Tillison, Jr. won the eight lap “C” feature while Tanner Mullins claimed the twelve lap “B” feature.


The tour will load up over night before making their first and only appearance of the season during the annual Dwaine Whitworth Memorial at Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas to wrap up the Memorial weekend of racing for the series on Sunday night.


NCRA Modifieds - 81 Speedway/ Park City, Kansas - 5/26/2012


1st Heat: 1) Jon Thompson (Superior, Ne), 2) Richie Wilson (Wichita, Ks), 3) Josh Lanterman (Wichita, Ks), 4) Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 5) Gary Kilbourn (Hutchinson, Ks), 6) Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks), 7) Mickey Lassiter (Piedmont, Ok), 8) Shane Campbell (Wichita, Ks) 9) Robbie Simmons (Wichita, Ks)


2nd Heat: 1) Tyler Davis (Derby, Ks), 2) Johnny Bone Jr. (Pea Ridge, Ar), 3) Jim Johnson (Derby, Ks), 4) Tanner Mullens (Wichita, Ks), 5) Justin Moler (Wichita, Ks), 6) Thomas Tillison Jr. (Wellston, Ok), 7) Kirby Robe (Colwich, Ks), 8) Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 9) Shawn Langhover Jr. (Haysville, Ks)


3rd Heat: 1) Straun Taylor (Hutchinson, Ks), 2) Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 3) Scott Miller (Hutchinson, Ks), 4) Bryce Schniepp (Wichita, Ks), 5) Kevin Newell (Wichita, Ks), 6) Jimmie Hobbs (Bentley, KS), 7) Shawn Langhover (Haysville, Ks), 8) Cody Schniepp (Wichita, Ks), 9) Shane Hutson (Woodward, Ok)


4th Heat: 1) Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 2) Kirk Coleman (Wichita, Ks), 3) Travis Johnson (Enid, Ok), 4) Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 5) Jase Wedel (Wichita, Ks), 6) Dustin Belcher (Wichita, Ks), 7) John Allen (Chanute, Ks), 8) AJ Brochu (Enid, Ok), 9) Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks)


C Feature: 1) Thomas Tillison, Jr. (Wellston, Ok), 2) Mickey Lassiter (Piedmont, Ok), 3) John Allen (Chanute, Ks), 4) Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks), 5) Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 6) Jase Wedel (Wichita, Ks), 7) Jimmie Hobbs (Bentley, KS), 8) AJ Brochu (Enid, Ok), 9) Kirby Robe (Colwich, Ks), 10) Robbie Simmons (Wichita, Ks), 11) Shawn Langhover Jr. (Haysville, Ks), 12) Shawn Langhover (Haysville, Ks), 13) Shane Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 14) Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 15) Cody Schniepp (Wichita, Ks), 16) Shane Hutson (Woodward, Ok)


B Feature: 1) Tanner Mullens (Wichita, Ks), 2) Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 3) John Allen (Chanute, Ks), 4) Thomas Tillison Jr. (Wellston, Ok), 5) Travis Johnson (Enid, Ok), 6) Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 7) Jim Johnson (Derby, Ks), 8) Dustin Belcher (Wichita, Ks), 9) Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks), 10) Bryce Schniepp (Wichita, Ks), 11) Gary Kilbourn (Hutchinson, Ks), 12) Mickey Lassiter (Piedmont, Ok), 13) Kirby Robe (Colwich, Ks), 14) Jase Wedel (Wichita, Ks), 15) Justin Moler (Wichita, Ks), 16) Kevin Newell (Wichita, Ks), 17) AJ Brochu (Enid, Ok), 18) Josh Lanterman (Wichita, Ks), 19) Jimmie Hobbs (Bentley, KS), 20) Robbie Simmons (Wichita, Ks)


A Feature: 1) 12x Johnny Bone Jr. (Pea Ridge, Ar), 2) 86 Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 3) 65 Tyler Davis (Derby, Ks), 4) 98 John Allen (Chanute, Ks), 5) 91 Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 6) 02 Tanner Mullens (Wichita, Ks), 7) 85 Thomas Tillison Jr. (Wellston, Ok), 8) 10 Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 9) 96 Jim Johnson (Derby, Ks), 10) 3k Kirk Coleman (Wichita, Ks), 11) 4 Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 12) 2 Richie Wilson (Wichita, Ks), 13) 22 Dustin Belcher (Wichita, Ks), 14) 21b Bryce Schniepp (Wichita, Ks), 15) 711j Straun Taylor (Hutchinson, Ks), 16) m1 Scott Miller (Hutchinson, Ks), 17) 51 Travis Johnson (Enid, Ok), 18) 5* Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 19) 75 Jon Thompson (Superior, Ne), 20) d8 Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks),

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...