Jump to content

Siemers holds of Powers for first NCRA Modified victory


Recommended Posts

Siemers Holds of Powers for First NCRA Modified Victory


Park City, Kansas – June 19, 2011 - Bill Siemers of Mulvane, Kansas came into the “Hoosier Daddy” NCRA Father’s Day spectacular at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas in unfamiliar territory on the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products modified tour. He would end the night in even more uncharted waters as he won his first career series feature at 81 Speedway in Park City on Sunday night and even retained his never before achieved lead in the series point standings.


Siemers started on the second row inside and quickly over took front row starters Jason McGehee and Kirk Coleman to take the lead as the green flag fell for the twenty-five lap feature event. Fourth starting Jim Johnson took over the runner up position on lap two but found the leader had opened up an eight car length lead.


Siemers was making the top of the three-eighths mile oval work but saw Johnson close to within striking distance by running the middle of the track. Both drivers raced side by side with Siemers holding on to his slim lead before the first caution of the event fell on lap six when Coleman spun in turn two and collected Todd Doty.


The restart saw Siemers try a different line as he went to the bottom of the track and was pulling away from the rest of the field while behind him, fifth starting Dan Powers got around Johnson for the runner up position and looked to reel in the leader.


The final caution would bunch things up at the races midway point when Marlin Farr and David Brack got together on the front stretch.


The final double file restart made things interesting for the final half of the race as Powers looked to get underneath Siemers but couldn’t make the move stick. Both drivers began pulling away from the rest of the field with Powers no more than two car lengths off the leader’s bumper.


With five laps to go it looked like the leader would have things under control as he opened his lead to ten car lengths. But Powers had other ideas as he was able to dive low into the turns and was once again on Siemers bumper, this time with two laps to go.


Powers tried one last ditch effort coming out of turn four on the last lap but Siemers held on to take the victory by just one car length, bettering his previous performance one race earlier at Humboldt Speedway back on Memorial Day weekend where he finished second.


“This is really unbelievable,” said Siemers in victory lane. “I thought the car was working great up top but Jim (Johnson) showed me the middle was working for him. My crew motioned me to the bottom of the track and that’s where the car worked the best. I really can’t believe this.”


Johnson held on for third at the stripe while Tyler Davis worked his way up from the 12th starting position to finish fourth. Former series champion Brian Franz rounded out the top five.


Thirty-two modifieds checked in for the night with the four, eight lap heat races being won by Coleman, McGehee, Johnson and Powers. 2008 series champion Marc Hurd took home the twelve lap “B” feature.


The next event for the NCRA of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products modified division will be held on Sunday night, July 3rd at the famed Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas.


1st Heat: 1. Kirk Coleman (Wichita, Ks), 2. Mike Jarvis (Wichita, Ks), 3. Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 4. Richard Wilson (Wichita, Ks), 5. Bill Stahl (Newton, Ks), 6. Marlin Farr (Nickerson, Ks), 7. Tad Davis (Mt. Hope, Ks), 8. Kevin Newell (Wichita, Ks)


2nd Heat: 1. Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 2. Shawn Langhover Jr. (Haysville, Ks), 3. Todd Doty (Wichita, Ks), 4. Gary Kilbourn (Hutchinson, Ks), 5. Austin Allen (Goddard, Ks), 6. Scott Green (Derby, Ks), 7. Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 8. Dusty Robbins (Enid, Ok)


3rd Heat: 1. Jim Johnson (Derby, Ks), 2. Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 3. Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 4. Tyler Davis (Derby, Ks), 5. David Brack (Great Bend, Ks), 6. Carson McKeen (Benton, Ks), 7. Josh Loffland (Haysville, Ks), 8. Johnny Whitmore (Wichita, Ks)


4th Heat: 1. Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 2. Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks), 3. Casey McClaskey (Ponca City, Ok), 4. Justin Moler (Wichita, Ks), 5. Danny McFadden (Furley, Ks), 6. Josh Lanterman (Wichita, Ks), 7. Tyler Shearhod (Wichita, Ks), 8. Shawn Langhover (Haysville, Ks)


B Feature: 1. Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 2. Tyler Davis (Derby, Ks), 3. David Brack (Great Bend, Ks), 4. Justin Moler (Wichita, Ks), 5. Danny McFadden (Furley, Ks), 6. Richard Wilson (Wichita, Ks), 7. Kevin Newell (Wichita, Ks), 8. Marlin Farr (Nickerson, Ks), 9. Tad Davis (Mt. Hope, Ks), 10. Dusty Robbins, 11. Josh Lanterman (Wichita, Ks), 12. Casey McClaskey (Ponca City, Ok), 13. Austin Allen (Goddard, Ks), 14. Bill Stahl (Newton, Ks), 15. Carson McKeen (Benton, Ks), 16. Shawn Langhover (Haysville, Ks), 17. Scott Green (Derby, Ks), 18. Gary Kilbourn (Hutchinson, Ks), 19. Josh Loffland (Haysville, Ks), 20. Johnny Whitmore (Wichita, Ks), 21. Ross Shipman (Belle Plaine, Ks), 22. Tyler Shearhod (Wichita, Ks)


A Feature: 1. Bill Siemers (Mulvane, Ks), 2. Dan Powers (Wichita, Ks), 3. Jim Johnson (Derby, Ks), 4. Tyler Davis (Derby, Ks), 5. Brian Franz (Halstead, Ks), 6. Mike Jarvis (Wichita, Ks), 7. Justin Moler (Wichita, Ks), 8. Marc Hurd (Wichita, Ks), 9. Jason McGehee (Wichita, Ks), 10. Danny McFadden (Furley, Ks), 11. Richard Wilson (Wichita, Ks), 12. Kevin Newell (Wichita, Ks), 13. Dusty Robbins, 14. Shawn Langhover Jr. (Haysville, Ks), 15. Don Hodge (Wichita, Ks), 16. Kirk Coleman (Wichita, Ks), 17. Tad Davis (Mt. Hope, Ks), 18. David Brack (Great Bend, Ks), 19. Todd Doty (Wichita, Ks), 20. Marlin Farr (Nickerson, Ks)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...