Jump to content

NCRA Late Model Nationals at Mid-Nebraska This Weekend!

Recommended Posts

NCRA Late Model Nationals at Mid-Nebraska This Weekend!




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Midwest City, Oklahoma – July 11, 2010 - It is that time of year for the running of the annual O’Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association Super Late Model Nationals coming up this Friday and Saturday night at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan, Nebraska. This year’s rendition marks the eighth annual of the event which has been dominated by four time series champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado.


Boen comes into the weekend as a three-time winner of this event, including three Friday night preliminaries. The career leader in O’Reilly/NCRA late model victories has also won six straight series sanctioned races at the track since Kyle Berck of Marquette, Nebraska took home victory honors back when he won the 2007 NCRA Late Model Nationals. He also comes into this weekend’s event as the current points leader and has also announced he will try for a fifth series championship and leads the tour with five victories thus far this season.


Corey Zeitner of Bellevue, Nebraska is having a solid year on the tour and is currently second in the series point standings. Leading rookie contender Jace Kaser of Lincoln, Nebraska currently sits third in the point standings followed by Wylan Petrie (Soloman, Kansas) and Shawn Harker (Plattsmouth, Nebraska). Other drivers currently in the top ten in the point standings and could also be competing include former two time series champion Al Purkey (Coffeyville, Kansas), Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, Iowa), Bill Koons (Omaha, Nebraska), defending series champion Berck and Jerry Warner (Lavesta, Nebraska).


After experiencing motor problems causing him to miss the past several events, Grand Junction, Colorado driver Dean Moore is also expected to compete along with Mike Wiarda (Aurora, Nebraska), Travis Dickies (Madison, Nebraska), Delbert Smith (Wichita, Kansas) and Bo Egge (Kearney, Nebraska).


Both complete O’Reilly/NCRA late model shows kicks off this Friday night with gates opening at 5:00 PM and racing at 7:30 PM. Then on Saturday night gates will open at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:00 PM. Adult general admission both nights are $20 at the gate or you can get a general admission only advance combo ticket for only $35, only available at all local Pump and Pantry and O’Reilly Auto Parts stores. Kids ages 6-12 yrs. old general admission both nights are only $5 while children five and under will be admitted free.


Mid-Nebraska Speedway is located off of I-80 at exit 314 and two miles south on old Hwy 281. For more race or ticket information contact the office (308) 381-0088 or the track (402) 845-2988.


The 2010 race season marks the 40th year anniversary for the series and the 27th year of sanctioning late model racing in Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Missouri and Iowa. For more information regarding the series late model division, contact NCRA steward Chris Smith (918) 625-6200 or check them out on their official website www.ncraracing.org.


Previous NCRA Late Model Nationals Champions:


2009 – Kelly Boen (Friday and Saturday), 2008 – Kelly Boen (Friday and Saturday), 2007 – Kelly Boen (Friday); Kyle Berck (Saturday), 2006 Kyle Berck (Friday); Darren Miller (Saturday), 2005 – Brian Birkhofer (Friday); Kyle Berck (Saturday), 2004 – Al Purkey, 2003 – Terry Phillips, 2002 – Kelly Boen


Past NCRA Late Model Winners at Mid-Nebraska Speedway


05/28/10 Kelly Boen, 07/17-18/09 Kelly Boen (2), 05/22/09 Kelly Boen, 07/17-18/08 Kelly Boen (2), 07/20/07 Kelly Boen, 07/21/07 Kyle Berck, 05/28/07 Delbert Smith, 07/21/06 Kyle Berck 07/22/06 Darren Miller, 05/26/06 Steve Kosiski, 07/22/05 Brian Birkhoffer, 07/23/05 Kyle Berck, 05/27/05 Kelly Boen, 07/17/04 Al Purkey, 05/28/04 Kyle Berck, 07/19/03 Terry Phillips, 05/23/03 Kyle Berck, 07/19/02 Kelly Boen , 07/20/01 Kyle Berck


Current 2010 O’Reilly NCRA Late Model Point Standings


Rank Driver Points


1 Kelly Boen 2580


2 Corey Zeitner 2405


3 Jase Kaser 2240


4 Wylan Petrie 2040


5 Shawn Harker 1940


6 Al Purkey 1930


7 Jason Obrien 1915


8 Bill Koons 1760


9 Kyle Berck 1730


10 Jerry Warner 1705

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...