Jump to content


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release



July 1, 2010 | By: Jeff Werderman


[Donnellson, IA] - - Josh Foster (Montrose, IA) drank from the Liberty Cup when the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour visited the Lee County Speedway on July 1st. Foster added to his point lead in the start-up tour with the win in Donnellson.


The third annual "Liberty Cup" saw veteran Rich Smith (Davenport, IA) lead early in the 30-lap main event. Foster worked his way through traffic from his 9th place starting spot. He caught Smith by lap 4. Foster then moved to his trademark highside at his home track and took the lead. Foster and Smith then distanced themselves from the rest of the field.


Foster held almost a straightaway lead over Smith when the checkerd flag waved. Foster has the honor of being the first ever winner on the HDT (May 19, 2010 – Independence, IA), and now he is the first ever two-time winner on the HDT. He leaves Donnellson with the series point lead.


While Foster was "hammer down" at the point, the nail bitter was for third. The Lee County Speedway crowd was locked in on a great battle that included Richie Gustin (Gilman, IA) and Vern Jackson (Waterloo, IA). Gustin was running third when Jackson caught him on lap 12. The two fought door-to-door until the bitter end.


The Harris Clash Hard Charger of the night Mark Elliott (Webster City, IA) joined the battle with two laps remaining. Elliott started 16th for the Liberty Cup main event for the IMCA Modifieds. Gustin hugged the bottom with Jackson just inches to his right and Elliott in tow. Gustin snared the third spot followed by Jackson and Elliott at the end of the thirty-lap affair.


Post-race prizes from Budweiser included a mini-fridge for Foster, $200 for Smith and $100 each to Gustin and Jackson.


Specialty Technologies Heat Race wins went to Wyatt Lantz, Brandon Rothzen, Rich Smith, and Vern Jackson.


Next up for the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour is a the make-up date at the Fayette County Speedway in West Union, IA on July 20th. Originally scheduled for June 15th, Mother Nature had other ideas when she dumped several inches of rain on the 3/8-mile speedplant.


To learn more about the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour, race teams and fans can log on to the tour's web site at dirttour.com



3rd Annual Liberty Cup on July 1, 2010

Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA)

47 IMCA Modifieds


A-MAIN: 30 laps

1. . Josh Foster, Montrose, IA

2. Rich Smith, Davenport, IA

3. Richie Gustin Jr., Gilman, IA

4. Vern Jackson, Waterloo, IA

5. Mark Elliott, Webster City, IA

6. Brandon Rothzen, Raritan, IL

7. Brett Ladehoff, Marshalltown, IA

8. Jacob Waterman, Milan, IL

9. Mike Jergens, Plover, IA

10. Adam Burke, Canton, MO

11. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, IL

12. Todd Shute, Des Moines, IA

13. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, MO

14. Randy Havlik, Madrid, IA

15. Andy Krieger, Burlington, IA

16. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton, IA

17. Greg Cox, Altoona, IA

18. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, IA

19. Dennis Betzer, Central City, IA

20. Wyatt Lantz, Augusta, IL

21. Bill Seyb, Donnellson, IA

22. Ron Pope, Mason City, IA

23. Bill Roberts, Mt. Pleasant, IA

24. Max Corporon, Marion, IA



H1: Wyatt Lantz, Richie Gustin, Hunter Marriott, Dennis Betzer, Dereck Hamm (Donnellson, IA), Michael Long (Quincy, IL), Dustin Crear (Mediapolis, IA), Kurt Krauskopf (Decorah, IA), Ron Pope, Brandon Savage (Keokuk, IA), Darren Thye (Burlington, IA), Tim Murty (Tama, IA).


H2: Brandon Rothzen, Jeff Waterman, Josh Foster, Todd Shute, Ronn Lauritzen, Bill Roberts, Greg Cox, Ed Thomas (Waterloo, IA), Jeff Marriott (Platte City, MO), Matt Gavin (Monmouth, IL), Bill Seyb, Mike Albertsen (Audubon, IA).


H3: Rich Smith, Mike Jergens, Brett Ladehoff, Jason Snyder, Randy Havlik, Andy Krieger, Mark Elliott, Jeff Morris, Lonnie Heap (Mendin, IA), Kevin Goben (Sherrard, IL), Dustin Fenton (Burlington, IA), Rick Speck (Garwin, IA).


H4: Vern Jackson, Jacob Waterman, Adam Burke, Max Corporon, Keith Pittman (Waterloo, IA), Norm Brakeville (Little York, IL), Kirk Hopkins (Bloomfield, IA), Nate Caruth (Ames, IA) James Leffew (Quincy, IL), Mark Schulte (Delhi, IA), Mike Wiekert (Muscatine, IA).


B-MAINS: 12 laps, 5 transfer

B1: Shute, Roberts, Cox, Lauritzen, Betzer, Thye, Savage, Krauskopf, Thomas, Seyb, Pope, Crear, Albertsen, Hamm, Marriott, Murty, Gavin, Long (DNS).


B2: Snyder, Elliott, Corporon, Krieger, Havlik, Morris, Heap, Pittman, Goben, Caruth, Fenton, Wiekert, Hopkins, Speck, Brakeville, Leffew (DNS), Schulte (DNS).



Specialty Technologies Heat Race Challenge: Unclaimed

Harris Clash Hardchager: Mark Elliott

Bob Harris Ent.: Randy Havlik

Aero Race Wheels: Andy Krieger

BSB Manufacturing: Mark Elliott

Bellville Motorsports: Mark Elliott

HDT Provisional: Ron Pope

Lee County Provisional: Bill Seyb


- 30 -

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Foster is fastest in Lee County JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature


DONNELLSON, Iowa (July 1) – The winner of the first-ever JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature event is now the first driver to win twice in the inaugural series for IMCA Modifieds.



Josh Foster checked out on everybody Thursday night at Lee County Speedway, capturing the Liberty Cup special along with a $1,000 check and a spot on the ballot for the 2011 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.



The three-time and defending track champion at Donnellson, Foster closed the gap on early leader Rich Smith on lap six, moved to his trademark high line and wrestled the front spot away on the following circuit.



Setting sail from that point, Foster caught up with the back of the pack on the 23rd of 30 laps. Smith ran alone in second, more than a straightaway off the pace when Foster crossed the finish line.



A tussle over third that started on lap 12 didn’t end until Richie Gustin Jr. pulled ahead of Vern Jackson at the stripe. Mark Elliott qualified from his “B” feature, advanced 11 positions and ended in fifth.



Post-race prizes from Budweiser included a mini-fridge for Foster, $200 for Smith and $100 each to Gustin and Jackson.



Foster, winner of the May 19 tour feature at Independence, now owns a seven point advantage over Smith heading to the fifth tour event of the season, on July 20 at West Union’s Fayette County Speedway.



Feature results – 1. Josh Foster, Montrose; 2. Rich Smith, Davenport; 3. Richie Gustin Jr., Gilman; 4. Vern Jackson, Waterloo; 5. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 6. Brandon Rothzen, Raritan, Ill.; 7. Brett Ladehoff, Marshalltown; 8. Jacob Waterman, Milan, Ill.; 9. Mike Jergens, Plover; 10. Adam Burke, Canton, Mo.; 11. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 12. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 13. Hunter Marriott, Brooklyn, Mo.; 14. Randy Havlik, Madrid; 15. Andy Krieger, Burlington; 16. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton; 17. Greg Cox, Altoona; 18. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup; 19. Dennis Betzer, Central City; 20. Wyatt Lantz, Augusta, Ill.; 21. Bill Seyb, Donnellson; 22. Ron Pope, Mason City; 23. Bill Roberts, Mt. Pleasant; 24. Max Corporon, Marion.



1st heat (top three) – 1. Lantz; 2. Gustin; 3. Marriott. 2nd heat – 1. Rothzen; 2. Jeff Waterman; 3. Foster. 3rd heat – 1. Smith; 2. Jergens; 3. Ladehoff. 4th heat – 1. Jackson; 2. Jacob Waterman; 3. Burke.



1st “B” feature (top five) – 1. Shute; 2. Roberts; 3. Cox; 4. Lauritzen; 5. Betzer. 2nd “B” feature – 1. Snyder; 2. Elliott; 3. Corporon; 4. Krieger; 5. Havlik.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...