Jump to content

Independence Weekend Sees Two for NCRA Late Models

Recommended Posts

Independence Weekend Sees Two for NCRA Late Models




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Midwest City, Oklahoma – June 28, 2010 - After taking a week off it is back to action this Fourth of July weekend as current series points leader Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado leads the O’Reilly/NCRA late model division into a pair of events. It all kicks off on Friday night, July 2, at I-80 Speedway at Nebraska Raceway Park in Greenwood, Nebraska. From there the series will make their second ever appearance at Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa for a Saturday night spectacular.


Both nights will also see both the MARS DIRTCar Series and Lucas Oil MLRA late model divisions compete for two tri-sanctioned events.


After a record setting 2009 season in which he won ten races on the schedule, Boen is once again setting a blistering pace having won five out of the eight events that have been held during this 2010 race season. In earlier action at I-80 Speedway back on Memorial Day weekend, Boen picked up his first career “Alphabet Soup” victory and his fourth career at the track under NCRA sanction.


Corey Zeitner of Bellevue, Nebraska is having a strong 2010 race season thus far with six top ten finishes in the eight events completed and is currently second in the point standings.


Current series rookie of the year Jace Kaser of Lincoln, Nebraska is coming off his best career series finish, a third place at Junction Motor Speedway and is currently sitting third in the series point standings, just


Shawn Harker of Plattsmouth, Nebraska is having a good year with the series and sits fourth in the point standings with Grand Junction, Colorado’s Dean Moore sitting fifth.


Series faith full Wylan Petrie of Soloman, Kansas sits sixth in points followed by Bill Koons (Omaha), Jerry Warner (Lavesta, Nebraska), Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, Iowa) and 2003, 2004 series champion Al Purkey (Coffeyville, Kansas).


Two-time and defending series champion Kyle Berck of Marquette, Nebraska currently sits eleventh in the point standings despite missing three events.


All drivers mentioned above are expected to compete during this Independence weekend of late model racing along with the following from the above mentioned series: Delbert Smith (Wichita, Kansas), Terry Phillips and Jeremy Payne (Springfield, Missouri), Eric Turner (Hermitage, Missouri), Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Oklahoma), Jack Sullivan (Greenbriar, Arkansas), Darrell and Dustin Mooneyham (Aurora, Missouri), Brad Looney (Republic, Missouri), Dave Eckrich (Oxford, Iowa), John Anderson (Omaha), Joe Kosiski (Omaha), Chad Simpson (Mount Vernon, Iowa), David Turner (Adrian, Missouri), Bryant Goldsmith (Corning, Iowa), along with many more of the top drivers from the Iowa and Nebraska area.


Kosiski won last years inaugural visit at Adams County Speedway by the series last year in a thrilling victory, holding off Boen at the finish line.


It all kicks off this Friday night at I-80 Speedway at Nebraska Raceway Park as part of the tracks “Midwest Tri-Fecta Challenge where not only the top three late model regions in the area will be competing but will also be a points race for the ASCS Midwest region sprint cars and IMCA modifieds. Pit gates open at 3:00 PM with grandstand gates at 6:00 PM, Racing is set for a 7:30 PM starting time. Tickets are $20 for adults, $8 for juniors and kids five and under admitted FREE! I-80 Speedway at Nebraska Raceway Park is located off of I-80 to exit 420 (Ashland/Greenwood Exit), then 0.4 mile north on SR 63. For race and ticket information contact the general offices (402) 342-3453 or the track phone (402) 659-3301. You can also check out their website for more information, including lodging information www.i-80speedway.com.


Pit gates at Adams County Speedway on Saturday night open at 4:00 PM with grandstand gates at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:00 PM. Adult general admission is just $15 with youth ages 13-18 $10. Ages 12 and under will be admitted FREE! All three divisions under the tracks NASCAR Whelen All-American series will also be competing. Adams County Speedway is located one mile north of U.S. Highway 34 on State Route 148, then east on 12th (at the Adams County Fairgrounds). For more race information contact the track (641) 322-4184 or check out their website www.acspeedway.com.


For more information concerning the O’Reilly/NCRA late model division, contact NCRA steward Chris Smith (918) 625-6200 or call the series office (316) 755-1781. For more on the National Championship Racing Association check them out on the web at www.ncraracing.org.


The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following contributors for their involvement with the late model division for the 2010 race season:


Official Sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires and Sunoco Race Fuels


Official Contingency Partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Bernheisel Racing Components, Hatfield Racing Engines, Hooker Harness, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Lazer Chassis, Peterson Fluid Systems, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Real Racing Wheels, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield Race Products, Vertex Magnetos, Winters Performance Products




Rank Driver Points


1 Kelly Boen 2090


2 Corey Zeitner 1935


3 Jase Kaser 1820


4 Shawn Harker 1715


5 Dean Moore 1675


6 Wylan Petrie 1605


7 Bill Koons 1530


8 Jerry Warner 1495


9 Jason Obrien 1445


10 Al Purkey 1445


11 Kyle Berck 1260


12 Gary Christian 1180


13 Delbert Smith 680


14 Scott Koskovich 655


15 Mike Wiarda 640

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...