Jump to content

Fortney Captures First Career Victory at Brill's Motor Speedway

Recommended Posts

Fortney Captures First Career Victory at Brill's Motor Speedway

by Dusty Wiegert



MEEKER, Okla. -- A full moon, 100 degrees, and a big group of spectators provided many thrills on June 26 as the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series visited Brill's Motor Speedway for the first time ever.



And the night also ended with a driver in Victory Lane for the very first time in his career.



The main event kicked off with Cliff Morrow and Richard Leatherman on the front row to pace the field, while Texan Bryan Sugg quickly closed in and took the lead in only the 2nd lap. A melee on the backstretch involving Brian Bolster, points leader Gary Gorby, Damien Patocka, and Brad Fortney brought out a quick caution. Gorby was unable to continue as the field restarted.



Only a few laps later Bolster and Tyler Gottschalk were involved in an accident on the frontstretch, leaving Gottschalk's car unable to continue.



Once the race got underway with a long green stretch Sugg took off with a huge lead and began lapping cars. Another yellow came out and while slowing to take the yellow Sugg's car stalled on the front stretch. A coil wire was to blame and Sugg was unable to continue, handing the lead over to Leatherman.



On the restart Leatherman spun his tires allowing Fortney, who worked his way from the back to the front after the early caution, to get underneath entering turn 1 and take away the lead. Cale Gottschalk was also able to slip by to take second. From there Fortney held on for his first victory, followed by Gottschalk, Leatherman, Morrow, and BMS owner Mark Brill.



Sugg took the win in the Alternative Pest Management Cash Dash as well as his heat race. Gorby won the other heat race earlier in the night.



The series now moves on to the Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee, Oklahoma on Saturday night July 3 as part of the Speedway's 4th of July celebration.



For more information on the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series please visit www.mdlms.net or call 336-DIRTCAR






A Feature

1. 59 Brad Fortney

2. 28C Cale Gottschalk

3. 16 Richard Leatherman

4. 99 Cliff Morrow

5. 95 Mark Brill

6. 56 Darin Busch

7. 18 Bryan Sugg

8. 81 Doug Sieh

9. B1 Brian Bolster

10. 19 Damien Patocka

11. 25T Tyler Gottschalk

12. 7C Gary Gorby

13. 20 Ron Grover - DNS

14. 60 Kip Hughes - DNS



Heat 1

1. Gorby

2. C. Gottschalk

3. Fortney

4. Sieh

5. Patocka

6. Grover

7. Hughes - DNS



Heat 2

1. Sugg

2. Leatherman

3. Morrow

4. Bolster

5. T. Gottschalk

6. Busch

7. Brill

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...