Jump to content

Chaffin Becomes Sixth Winner in NCRA Mods at Creek County

Recommended Posts

Chaffin Becomes Sixth Winner in NCRA Mods at Creek County




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Kellyville, Oklahoma – June 26, 2010 - Well folks, you can add Craig Chaffin to your list. The Glenpool, Oklahoma resident started on the pole and with stood several cautions and a last lap challenge to become the sixth different feature winner in as many races as the O’Reilly/NCRA modified south division made their first ever appearance at Creek County Speedway in Kellyville, Oklahoma on Saturday night.


Due to earning the most heat race and passing points earlier in the evening, Chaffin took the lead from his pole position and quickly set the pace on the rest of the twenty-two car field for the thirty lap feature. Randy Bailey started along the outside and settled into the runner up position while fourth starting Alan Sharpensteen, Chad Davis and Kevin Lacy gave chase.


Chaffin, driving the D C Motorsports/6D’s Auto Sales/Parker Heating and Air Conditioning sponsored BMS powered modified, quickly opened a six car length lead before the first of several cautions fell on lap two.


It was green flag racing for several laps with Chaffin still in command but behind him the battle for position was intense as Bailey and Sharpensteen battled for the runner up position with Davis and Lacy doing the same for the fourth position.


It looked like lapped traffic would come into play on lap thirteen but while Bailey would close the distance to two car lengths around the midway point, Chaffin would then power away and at one point opened up a half stretch lead.


After a couple caution flags fell within ten laps to go, racing then got interesting as the rest of the feature would go caution free for the final eight laps.


With four laps to go things started to get intense behind your race long leader Chaffin as Sharpensteen, who had battled all race long with Bailey for the runner up position, finally moved into that position with Davis making the same move down the backstretch to take over the third position with Bailey fading to fourth.


Bailey’s car started getting loose at the end and with one lap to go, Sharpensteen and Davis set the leader up with one last chance for victory entering turns three and four. But Bailey would hold on to take his first career NCRA victory by one car length over Sharpensteen and become the sixth different feature winners in as many races in 2010 and the tenth different feature winner in eleven races held between last year and this.


“I got a little nervous there at the end because the car was starting to get real loose,” said an elated Chaffin in victory lane. “I could hear those guys behind me but I felt comfortable because I run with him (Bailey) all the time and we always race each other clean. This is just great and I am really glad to be a part of this deal here tonight.”


Davis would settle for third at the checkered while Kevin Lacy caught Bailey at the end to finish fourth.


The four, eight lap heat races were won by Bailey, Thomas Tillison, Jr., Lacy and Chaffin while the two, ten lap “B” features were won by Greg Burt and Alan Oliva.


The next scheduled stop for the O’Reilly/NCRA modified south division is set for Saturday night, August 14, for their third and final appearance of the season at Cowtown Speedway in Kennedale, Texas.


The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following for their contribution and involvement with the modified south division for 2010: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels,


Official 2010 Modified South Contingency Sponsors: Arizona Sports Shirts, Bassett Wheels, Belleville Motor Sports, C&E Performance, Hooker Harness, The Joie of Seating, On Another Level Designs, M&M Custom Graphics, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Taylor Cable Products and Ultra-Shield Race Products.


O’Reilly/NCRA Modified South


Creek County Speedway/Kellyville, Oklahoma


29 Cars


A Feature (30 Laps) 1) Craig Chaffin 2) Alan Sharpensteen 3) Chad Davis 4) Kevin Lacy 5) Randy Bailey 6) Mickey Lassiter 7) Roger Sawyer 8) Dusty Robbins 9) Matt French 10) Jason Hilliard 11) Alan Oliva 12) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 13) Ho Dean 14) Cam Case 15) Joel Hill 16) Gene Weaver 17) Greg Burt 18) Chris Cole 19) Brandon Hacker 20) Dena Wilson 21) Dann Gray 22) Jason Redman


1st B Feature: 1) Greg Burt 2) Chris Cole 3) Matt French 4) Jason Hilliard 5) Dann Gray 6) Tony McCollom 7) Jim Estes 8) Brett Wilson 9) Jim Pearcy


2nd B Feature: 1) Alan Oliva 2) Ho Dean 3) Joel Hill 4) Brandon Hacker 5) Robert Scott 6) Colt Goodman 7) Jason Redman 8) Nick Henson (DNS)


1st Heat: 1) Randy Bailey 2) Chad Davis 3) Roger Sawyer 4) Joel Hill 5) Nick Henson 6) Jason Redman 7) Ho Dean 8) Jason Hilliard


2nd Heat: 1) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 2) Gene Weaver 3) Dusty Robbins 4) Chris Cole 5) Matt French 6) Tony McCollum 7) Dann Gray


3rd Heat: 1) Kevin Lacy 2) Mickey Lassiter 3) Dena Wilson 4) Alan Oliva 5) Colt Goodman 6) Brandon Hacker 7) Robert Scott


4th Heat: 1) Craig Chaffin 2) Alan Sharpensteen 3) Cam Case 4) Brett Wilson 5) Greg Burt 6) Jim Pearcy 7) Jim Estes


Contingency Awards:


The Joie of Seating 2nd Place – Sharpensteen


Saldana Racing Products 2nd Place – Sharpensteen


Rod End Supply 3rd Place – Davis


Hooker Harness 8th Place – Robbins


C&E Performance 12th Place – Tillison, Jr.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...