Jump to content

Creek County on Tap for NCRA Modifieds This Saturday

Recommended Posts

Creek County on Tap for NCRA Modifieds This Saturday




FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – June 21, 2010 – Midwest City, Oklahoma - After taking a week off it is back to racing action for the O’Reilly/NCRA modified south division as they set for their first ever appearance at Creek County Speedway in Kellyville, Oklahoma this coming Saturday night, June 26. And not only will the battle for the points championship continue, so will the attempt at parity in the sixth event on the 2010 race season.


Although winless thus far this season, Mickey Lassiter of Piedmont, Oklahoma will come into the night as the current points leader for the modified south division. Fresh off his first career series victory last weekend at Route 66 Motor Speedway in Amarillo, Texas, Thomas Tillison, Jr. of Chandler currently sits in the runner up position while Chad Davis of Tulsa sits third in the point standings. Davis picked up his first career series victory last weekend as well, this at Elk Citys I-40 Speedway.


Tulsa’s Matt French is fourth in the point standings followed by Moore driver Alan Oliva. Despite missing the season opener at Cowtown Speedway in Kennedale, Texas back in March, Alan Sharpensteen of Amarillo sits sixth in the standings while defending series and inaugural champion Gene Weaver is right behind his Amarillo neighbor and seventh in points.


Jason Hllliard of Lawton sits eighth in the point standings while Colt Goodman (Chandler) and Chris Cole (Lawton) round out the top ten. Other series regulars expected include John Webb (Pauls Valley), Jay Sale (Edmond), Casey McClaskey (Ponca City), Chris Roach (Warr Acres), Nick Henson (Tulsa) and Jim Pearcy, who has made all races from his Springfield, Missouri residence.


In just halfway through its second season, the O’Reilly/NCRA modified south division as seen a “whose who” in victory lane as there has been only one repeat winner in the ten races that have been held. Among the victory lane visitors in 2010 are Tillison, Jr., Davis, Triston Dycus, Dusty Robbins and John Allen. The 2009 feature winners were Bryan Rowland, Weaver, Travis Penrod and Chad Wheeler. Only Rowland is a repeat winner with both of his victories coming at Brill Motor Speedway in Meeker.


To date, 107 different drivers from four different states have competed in at least one of the five events on the 2010 race schedule with ten of those drivers having competed in all five events while five drivers have missed only one event.


A strong contingent of track regulars are also expected to compete for the $1000 to win, $200 to start feature finale with $100 for all drivers starting the “B” feature but unable to transfer. They include current track points leader Ho Dean, Jason Redmond, Danny Gray, Robert Scott, Brandon Scott among others.


Gates open at 4:00 PM with racing set for 7:00 PM. From OKC, Creek County Speedway is located off of I-44 east [Turner Turnpike] to exit 211 [Kellyville Exit]. Turn right to stop light [Highway 66] turn right and track is 1 mile on left side of highway. From Tulsa take I-44 west [Turner Turnpike] to exit 211 [Kellyville Exit]. Turn left to stop light [Highway 66] turn right and track is 1 mile on left side of highway. For more race information, contact Creek County Speedway at (918) 247-6675.


Just a reminder to all modified drivers competing, no Schrader valves and no grooving of tires are allowed, however sipping is permitted. For more rules information go to www.ncraracing.org or call NCRA steward Chris Smith (918) 625-6200.


Official 2010 NCRA Sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels


Official 2010 Modified South Contingency Sponsors: Arizona Sports Shirts, Bassett Wheels, Belleville Motor Sports, C&E Performance, Hooker Harness, The Joie of Seating, On Another Level Designs, M&M Custom Graphics, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Taylor Cable Products and Ultra-Shield Race Products


Current 2010 O’Reilly/NCRA Modified South Point Standings


1) Mickey Lassiter 1320, 2) Thomas Tillison, Jr. 1175 3) Chad Davis 1150 4) Matt French 1130 5) Alan Oliva 1110 6) Alan Sharpensteen 1070 7) Gene Weaver 1050 8) Jason Hillard 895 9) Colt Goodman 885 10) Chris Cole 875 11) John Webb 845 12) Jim Pearcy 810 13) Jay Sale 665 14) Chris Roach 650 15) Logan Cabbell 575 16) Cam Case 560 17) Jacob Pirkle 545 18) C.A. Nix 450 19) Terry Pritchett 400 20) Jared Webb 395

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...