Jump to content

DeVilbiss, Metz win EQ WWMT features at Idaho Falls‏

Recommended Posts

DeVilbiss, Metz top opening weekend features in EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour


IDAHO FALLS, Idaho (May 14-15) – Zane DeVilbiss led most of the way in winning the first EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour event of the season.


Travis Metz led all he needed to in winning the second.


DeVilbiss took charge on the eighth of 30 laps in topping Friday’s opening night series event for IMCA Modifieds at Idaho Falls Raceway. Metz finally caught race-long leader Richard Mueller on the final circuit to score Saturday honors.


Each win paid $750.


After taking the initial green from the fifth spot, DeVilbiss quickly found the fastest way around the 3/8-mile dirt oval, catching Aaron Spangler and running in front the last 23 laps despite the best efforts of eventual runner-up Ryan Cotrell.


Rounding out the top five were Metz, defending tour champion Justen Yeager and Richard Anderson.


Ricky Alvarado ran a steady third until he looked under Cotrell and went head on with a tire at the bottom of the track. Alvarado continued and worked his way back up through the field with heavy front end damage to finish 11th.


Don Baisch was the hard charger as he started 25th and worked his way up to ninth. Yeager made the top four after winning his “B” race.


Mueller started third spot in the Saturday show, took the lead on the opening lap from Spangler and checked out on everybody before a caution with six to go bunched the field back up.


The late yellow helped put Metz in position to steal the win on the white flag lap.


Cotrell, Spangler and hard charger DeVilbiss, who’d started 18th, completed the top five.


DeVilbiss and Metz were also winners during the series-ending doubleheader last September at Atomic Motor Raceway. DeVilbiss now owns four career series victories while Metz collected his third tour trophy.


The next EQ Cylinder Heads IMCA Wild West Modified Tour twinbill is June 4-5 at Desert Thunder Raceway in Price, Utah.


Feature Results


Friday – 1. Zane DeVilbiss; 2. Ryan Cotrell; 3. Travis Metz; 4. Justen Yeager; 5. Richard Anderson; 6. Kelly Shaw; 7. Richard Mueller; 8. Jake Holland; 9. Don Baisch; 10. Michael Hale; 11. Ricky Alvarado; 12. Jeff Cooper; 13. Rick Spangler; 14. Josh Dingman; 15. Joe Kent; 16. Chris Clark; 17. Jason Donnelly; 18. Dwayne Skaar; 19. Nick Nelson; 20. Jake Donnelly; 21. Aaron Spangler; 22. Wade Taylor; 23. Michael Yost; 24. Blake Lyle; 25. Butch Vernon.


Heat winners: were Aaron Spangler, Jason Donnelly, Cotrell, DeVilbiss, Cooper and Mueller. “B” feature winners were Yeager and Kent.


Saturday – 1. Metz; 2. Mueller; 3. Cotrell; 4. Aaron Spangler; 5. DeVilbiss; 6. Yeager; 7. Alvarado; 8. Kent; 9. Hale; 10. Chase Hansen; 11. Anderson; 12. Cooper; 13. Holland; 14. Jason Donnelly; 15. Lyle; 16. Brian Ungaro; 17. Jake Donnelly; 18. Nelson; 19. Shaw; 20. Craig Russom; 21. Mickey Stubbings; 22. Baisch; 23. Dingman; 24. Clark; 25. Rick Spangler.


Heat race winners were Anderson, Yeager, Metz and Hansen. “B” feature winners were Kent and Alvarado.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...