Jump to content

Davenport, Jackson County, Dubuque dates next for Deery Series


Recommended Posts

Davenport, Jackson County, Dubuque dates next for Deery Series


DAVENPORT, Iowa (April 13) – After opening his 2010 Deery Brothers Summer Series campaign with back to back feature wins, Mark Burgtorf looks to add another accomplishment to his already stellar IMCA Late Model tour resume.


Burgtorf owns three championships and 24 victories over the course of his Deery career. He’s now won consecutive races for the third time and will try for a third straight trophy when the series travels to Davenport Speedway on Friday, April 16 for the first show in a weekend tripleheader.


Night two is Saturday, April 17 at Jackson County Speedway in Maquoketa. Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway hosts its first ever tour event on Sunday, April 18.


Six-time and defending series champion Jeff Aikey is the last driver to have won three straight Deery features, in 2000. Curt Martin is the only driver to have achieved the feat twice in the same season, enroute to the 1990 tour title.


The series record is four straight wins, established by Gary Webb in 1994 and matched by Rob Toland in 2004. Not surprisingly, both drivers were Deery champions those years.


Burgtorf is the defending race winner at Davenport, where a track record 61 Late Models contended last April. Aikey has won four of the other 14 previous series events there.


Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. Friday at Davenport. Hot laps are at 6 p.m. and racing starts at 6:30 p.m.


Terry Neal had won three straight Deery races at Maquoketa before Ray Guss Jr. snapped the string last summer.


Jackson County opens the pit gates at 4 p.m. and the grandstand at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 6 p.m.


Grandstand admission to both Bob Wagener promoted tracks is $14 for adults, $12 for seniors and teenagers and $6 for kids ages 7-12, with youngsters six and under admitted free.


IMCA Modifieds will run for national, ButlerBuilt North Central Region and Allstar Performance State points Friday and Saturday.


Dubuque becomes the 40th different track visited by the series in the weekend finale. Gates open at 4 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. and hot laps are set for 6 p.m., with racing to follow.


Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and $12 for seniors. Students 13 years and older with a school ID pay $10 while kids 12 and under get in at no charge.


All three main events pay $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start. Pit passes are $25.


Sixty-eight different drivers competed at season opening shows April 10 at 34 Raceway and April 11 at Quincy Raceway.


IMCA’s regular point season for Late Models begins April 23; the Deery Series resumes with a Tuesday, May 18 show at Marshalltown Speedway.


Deery Brothers Summer Series Top 20 Point Standings


1. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill., 100


2. Rob Toland, Davenport, 90


3. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 89


4. Jason Frankel, Quincy, Ill., 88


5. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 87


6. Tom Goble, Burlington, 86


7. Matt Strassheim, West Burlington, 75


Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis, 75


9. Keith Pratt, Mendon, Ill., 67


10. Kevin Blum, Colona, Ill., 66


11. Ryan Giles, West Des Moines, 65


Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun, 65


13. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 64


14. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 63


15. Terry Neal, Ely, 62


16. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 61


17. Justin Reed, Quincy, Ill., 60


18. Jason Perry, Payson, Ill., 57


19. Nick Ingalls, Quincy, Ill., 56


20. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 55



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...