Jump to content

Bumper Jones Dominates El Paso Season Opener

Recommended Posts

Bumper Jones Dominates El Paso Season Opener


El Paso, TX (April 5, 2010) - The 2010 Season Opener at the El Paso Speedway Park featured a blazing fast surface as the new clay applied over the off season made for a great night of racing with the UMP DIRTcar West Modifieds, Street Stocks, Super Trucks, and the Legends.



Bumper Jones. Photo courtesy of El Paso Speedway Park


Starting off the nights A-Mains was the Super Trucks with Dr. Dave Deetz grabbing the race lead early. As the Rio Grande Foot Clinic 1 pulled away, the battle for second through sixth was never ending as Crystal Sampson, Brent Deetz, Ishmael Garcia, Garrett Alberson, and Tom Mahle fought it out for 15 straight laps. As the race began to run down, the battle now turned to the top spot as Dr. Dave Deetz went side by side for the last 6 laps of competition with the Mike’s Performance 3d of Brent Deetz. With the 1 to the highline, the 3d dived low lap after lap; gaining the advantage one lap only to fall back to second the next lap and as the checkered flag waved it was the 1 of Dr. Dave Deetz coming out on top with the 3d of Brent Deetz second. Garrett Alberson fought to third with Ishmael Garcia and Tom Mahle rounding out the top five.


Up next, the Legends of the Southwest saw a wild battle as the 3d of Don Reynolds would get the jump on the field and begin to run away. As the race was half gone, the 3d looked like he was going to be cruising to victory but the race was about to be on as lapped traffic became a factor. On the move, Dylan Harris was on the move from his eleventh starting position as the defending Legend Champion ran into the top five after a good battle with Vince Malone. Up front, legend newcomer Allen Gattis was running second and closing in as Reynolds ran in lapped traffic as Dylan Harris moved into third. With less than five laps to go, lapped traffic had allowed Gattis and Harris to close in and make a run for the lead on Reynolds with Gattis flying into the race lead with only two to go. Smooth and steady, Allen Gattis would race his way to his first A-Main victory in the Legends of the Southwest; edging out Dylan Harris on the final lap. Vince Malone would steal third on the final lap with Don Reynolds, and Kevin Buntyn rounding out the top five.


A light start to the season for the Street Stocks would see only eight cars make the call with the 33h of Mark Kimpel grabbing the lead early. As the 33h ran away, the battle for second through fifth was good one as Jeremy Easterwood would see a hard charging Kohl McCutcheon make several unsuccessful runs before finally grabbing second; leaving Easterwood to battle with Ozzie Noder but up front no one was close to Mark Kimpel as the Hobbs Performance Cylinder Heads 33h cruised to victory with Kohl McCutcheon, Jeremy Easterwood, Ozzie Noder, and Garrett Stearns rounded out the top five.


UMP DIRTcar Modifieds from three states made their way to the El Paso Speedway Park as Bumper Jones and Christy Georges were set to go from the front row. With the four-wide complete, the caution lights were down and the green flag was out with Georges running into turns one and two as hard as she could be off of two, it was the 111 of Bumper Jones showing the way before the caution would bring the field to an idle with only a couple laps in. On the restart, the El Paso Speedway Park unveiled the Delaware Double-file Restart, giving Bumper Jones open line choice out front and stacking the field side by side from second on back. With the green flag waving, the action was immediate as Stormy Scott took full advantage of the restart to come from the back of the field in a hurry but his run would be halted by a caution for Holly Jones and Donovan Ooley. On the restart, Scott was still the car to watch as he dashed through the field to crack the top five before the caution waved for the final time. Up front, Jimmy Ray had worked his way up to second and with the green flag out was about to give the 111 of Jones a run for his money as the 60 year old veteran dove to the bottom line to pull side by side with Jones but as the 9 looked to make his move, his engine would begin to miss, giving the lead back to the 111. With the laps now winding down, Stormy Scott made a great pass into second but it was all Bumper Jones as the TRE 111 grabbed the win. Stormy Scott took second with Jimmy Ray holding onto third. Royal Jones and Christy Georges would round out the top five.


With night one of the 2010 season in the books, next battle will take place on Friday April 9, 2010 with the first night of racing for the Renegade Sprint Car Series. The Advanced Towing Limited Late Models will also open their season as the Street Stocks and Legends will continue their 2010 racing season.


Gates open at 5:30pm with racing getting underway at 7:45pm with Admission only $10. Children 11-15, Military Id, Senior Citizen, and University Id will get $3 off Admission with Children 10 and under getting in FREE. For more information, log onto www.epspeedwaypark.com.


Unofficial A-Main Results:


Super Trucks A-Main- Dave Deetz, Brent Deetz, Garrett Alberson, Ishmael Garcia, Tom Mahle, Chrystal Sampson, Nita Deetz, Dylan Alberson, Alan Sampson, Odie Black, Teddy McCutcheon, Sherman Barnett


Legends A-Main- Allen Gattis, Dylan Harris, Vince Malone, Don Reynolds, Kevin Buntyn, Benjamin Garcia, Landis, Jim Funk, Dave Snyder, Mike Baker, Jennifer Munn, Krystin Noder, Ralph Fountain, Tristan Gattis, Terry McCreery, Phil Baker


Street Stock A-Main- Mark Kimpel, Kohl McCutcheon, Sean Bowman, Jeremy Easterwood, Ozzie Noder, Garrett Stearns, Chris Mijares, David Fountain


UMP DIRTcar West Modified A-Main- Bumper Jones, Stormy Scott, Jimmy Ray, Royal Jones, Christy Georges, Paul Banghart, Dickie Gorham, Holly Jones, Rob Madrid, Chad Falco, Curt Barnett, Kevin Clark, Jake Boles, Sherman Barnett, Donovan Ooley, Jacob Gallardo, Fito Gallardo


This entry was posted on Friday, April 2nd, 2010 at 11:50 pm and is filed under Site News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...