Jump to content

Duel in the Desert Fri Qualifiers


Recommended Posts

Alvarado, Stone roll to Duel night two qualifying feature wins


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 13) – Two of the top guns from IMCA’s

ButlerBuilt Western Region topped Friday qualifying features, on

night two of the Duel In The Desert special at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


Ricky Alvarado ran away with the first IMCA Modified 25-lapper,

getting the victory ahead of Steve Arpin, Will Brack and 2004 race

winner Johnny Saathoff. Paul Stone had to work harder to get into and

then maintain the lead in the second event. Jeremy Mills, Bobby Hogge

IV and Scott Drake followed at the finish.


The top four from each race will start on the outside row in

Saturday’s $7,777 to win main event. Chris Abelson won the dash for

Thursday’s top four finishers and will start on the pole in the big



Brack was the frontrunner early on in the first qualifier, chased by

Alvarado and Benji LaCrosse.


After LaCrosse fell off the pace, Alvarado found his way around

Brack. Both avoided getting caught up in the multi-car tangle near

midway but Brack was unable to hold the 14th starting Arpin in check

following a late re-start.


Hogge led much of the way in the second qualifier before giving way

to both Stone and Mills.


Mills was briefly at the front before Stone could regain the point.


Robby Rosselli passed Kevin Opheim coming to the white flag and won

the 15-lap qualifying feature for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. Jake

Masters, Rex Higgins and Trent Murphy rounded out the top five



Second only to the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals with a

Modified car count of 262, the 2009 Duel In The Desert concludes

Saturday with last-chance qualifying, the Wild West Tour Shootout and

feature events for both Modifieds and Stock Cars.


The Modified winner will be added to the ballot for next year’s Fast

Shafts All-Star Invitational. The Stock Car winner pockets $777.


1st Modified qualifying feature –

1. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.;

2. Steve Arpin, Cornelius, N.C.;

3. Will Brack, Mead, Colo.;

4. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.;

5. Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.;

6. Darrick Klima, Belleville, Kan.;

7. Alex Stanford, Chowchilla, Calif.;

8. Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.;

9. Dennis Durmas, Whitewater, Colo.;

10. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb.;

11. Terry Belcher Jr., Buckeye, Ariz.;

12. Brandon Carley, Farmington, N.M.;

13. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton, Iowa;

14. Jim Graves, Liberal, Kan.;

15. Jeff Conner, Panora, Iowa;

16. William Matejovic, Minot, N.D.;

17. Tommy Purcell, Carson City;

18. Lawrence O’Connor, Port Hardy, B.C.;

19. Robby Haines, Benkelman, Neb.;

20. Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.;

21. Christy Georges, El Paso, Texas;

22. Tony Kinkade Jr., Hesperia, Calif.;

23. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, Iowa;

24. Travis Metz, Blackfoot, Idaho;

25. Cody Gearhart,Turpin, Okla.;

26. Bobby Hogge III, Salinas, Calif.;

27. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, Wis.;

28. Monte Bolton, Lubbock, Texas;

29. Joshua Vogt, Santa Maria, Calif.;

30. Jason Beaulieu, Campbell River, B.C.;


2nd Modified qualifying feature –

1. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.;

2. Jeremy Mills, Garner, Iowa;

3. Bobby Hogge IV, Salinas, Calif.;

4. Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo.;

5. Jeff Taylor, Jonesboro, Ark.;

6. Nate Caruth, Ames, Iowa;

7. Matt Brack, Mead, Colo.;

8. R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.;

9. Sonny Wahl, Mohave Valley, Ariz.;

10. Jeremy Gossett, Amarillo, Texas;

11. Jeremy Payne, Springfield, Mo.;

12. Justin O’Brien, West Union, Iowa;

13. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.;

14. Kellen Chadwick, Oakley, Calif.;

15. Randy Hall, Olean, N.Y.;

16. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.;

17. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.;

18. Dan Fitzgerald, Las Vegas;

19. Brad Pounds, Bakersfield, Calif.;

20. Justen Yeager, Green River, Wyo.;

21. Johnny Malcolm, Corona, Calif.;

22. Paul Donnelly, Great Falls, Mont.;

23. Bryan Burnes, Lemoore, Calif.;

24. Roger Bonneville, Calgary, Alb.;

25. Conner Pullen, Amarillo, Texas;

26. Robbie Chiles, Hooper, Colo.;

27. Anthony Madrid, Phoenix, Ariz.;

28. Eddie Kirchoff, Gillette, Wyo.;

29. Ryan Cotrell, Las Vegas;

30. Shawn Nolan, Annandale, Minn.


Stock Car qualifying feature –

1. Robby Rosselli, Minot, N.D.;

2. Kevin Opheim, Mason City, Iowa;

3. Jake Masters, Graettenger, Iowa;

4. Rex Higgins, Bloomfield, N.M.;

5. Trent Murphy, Jefferson, Iowa;

6. Duain Pritchett, Combine, Texas;

7. Joe Flory, Williston, N.D.;

8. Michael Wadel, Garden City, Kan.;

9. Trevor Wadel, Garden City, Kan.;

10. Kirk Martin, Weatherford, Texas;

11. Cary White, Lamesa, Texas;

12. Tom Randolph, Delta, Colo.;

13. Troy Patee, Hanford, Calif.;

14. Toby Miller, Boyd, Texas;

15. Ron Hurt, Hanford, Calif.;

16, Rick Mitchell, Fernie, B.C.;

17. Michael Higgins, Bloomfield, N.M.;

18. Douglas Kennemer, Boyd, Texas;

19. Steffan Carey, Bloomfield, N.M.;

20. Lee Moss, Flora Vista, N.M.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...