Jump to content

TPS at Red River Speedway

Recommended Posts

Texas Pro Sedans at Red River Speedway - September 5


The Texas Pro Sedans (TPS) touring series returns to Red River Speedway (RRS) in Wichita Falls, Texas for the Labor Day Holiday weekend on Saturday night, September 5. The event will celebrate the TPS 34th consecutive season of four cylinder stock car racing in the southwest. The race at RRS will be the ninth TPS 2009 season event. It will be held at the RRS quarter mile, 13 degree banked asphalt track.


Texas Pro Sedans Series Race and Administrative Director, Neil Upchurch has announced an official paid, pre- entry list of 24 TPS drivers to date. Red River Speedway Race Director Mike Nowels said, “I am excited about having such fine field of Texas Pro Sedans back to our track to race. Our fans were treated to some highly competitive racing when TPS contested two events at RRS earlier this season on May 23rd and 24th”.


The Texas Pro Sedans racing program will consist of 2 laps of Qualifying Time Trials. The TPS drivers will attempt to break the Red River Speedway Texas Pro Sedans track record of 14.938 seconds which is held by Mike Merrell of Kingsland, Texas in the #70 VW Scirocco. The RRS/TPS record was set on May 24, 2009 at TPS’s last race at RRS. The 40 lap Feature Grid will be based upon the results from Time Trials and a Last Chance Qualifying Race.


The event will compete under Texas Pro Sedans rules and procedures in which yellow flag laps are not scored. The RRS transponder system will score all TPS competition. A green-white-checkered flag is required to officially finish a TPS race under full racing conditions.


Included in the official entry list are all of the drivers who have won TPS feature races during the first eight races

of the 2009 Texas Pro Sedans series season:


Mike Merrell of Kingsland has won four feature races at Thunderhill Raceway and one at Red River Speedway.

He will again drive the George Merrell #70 VW Scirocco. He leads Tom Johnson by five TPS Championship points.


Tom Johnson, who also resides in Kingsland, Texas has won two 2009 season TPS feature races. Johnson will likely be up on the wheel of his #15 Ford Mustang.


Six time TPS Champion Bill LaBarge of Bryan has won one TPS Feature race at Corpus Christi. He has filed entry for his #27 BMW “Beamer”. LaBarge won the TPS Championship in 1992, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2003 and 2004.


The defending TPS Champion, Sergio Hexsel of Live Oak, Texas will drive his #20 VW GTI. He won the TPS Championship in 2005, 2007 and 2008 TPS. Hexsel won the final 2008 TPS season race at Red River Speedway.


Several outstanding Wichita Falls area drivers will compete. Josh Cournoyer won two of the three 2008 TPS races at RRS in his #84 Ford Pinto. Cournoyer has filed his entry with TPS.


Provisional entries are expected from Mike Wright, David Wright, Bobby Isaacs and John Ricketts of Wichita Falls and Scott Fortin of Burkburnett, Texas.


In addition to the Texas Pro Sedans race, also highlighting the Labor Day Holiday weekend race night schedule, will be a full racing program which features all RRS classes: Thunderstock, Mod 4’s, Chargers, and the Hornets.


Grandstand Tickets Prices - $10 adults, $8 - Age 7-14, Seniors, Military, Police, Fire and Students (with ID).

$5 ages 7-14, Children under 7 years age are admitted FREE.



For further information regarding this News Release, contact the TPS Office at 210/655-3222, or by Email message to: neilupchurch@sbcglobal.net

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...