Jump to content

Speed Channel renews for IHRA coverage


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release

Contact: Travis Reynolds

IHRA: 419-660-4225

 

SPEED CHANNEL RENEWED AS TELEVISION HOME FOR HOOTERS IHRA DRAG RACING SERIES

 

NORWALK, Ohio (February 4, 2004) – SPEED Channel has renewed as the television broadcast partner for the 2004 Hooters IHRA Drag Racing Series, airing 24 hours of original IHRA programming, with each broadcast replaying at least once. The deal brings the series a minimum of 48 hours of airtime.

"IHRA is once again pleased to find the Hooters IHRA Drag Racing Series home on SPEED Channel," said IHRA President Bill Bader. "SPEED Channel has quickly become the channel of choice for motor sports worldwide and we’re honored to share TV time with NASCAR, Formula One, Champ Car, World Rally Championship, Hooters Pro Cup and other great series on SPEED Channel. The network’s commitment is a testimony to our six years of growth, as well as the commitment Hooters has made as our series sponsor."

 

Events will be taped in two-hour blocks with Top Fuel and Pro Modified headlining the first one-hour broadcast and Funny Car and Sunoco Pro Stock the second. Race coverage will also feature results from national event Mr. Gasket Pro-Am Tour racing and the Summit SuperSeries World Championship.

 

In 2004, SPEED Channel is the exclusive U.S. cable home for many of the top motor sports series in the world, including Formula One, The Champ Car World Series, the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, USAC, World Rally, ASA, IHRA, ALMS, Grand American Road Racing, F3000, USAR Hooters Pro Cup and live coverage of AMA and FIM motorcycle road racing events. The official network of the SCCA, SPEED Channel is the title sponsor of the SPEED World Challenge Championships. In addition, SPEED’s weekly Auto Focus block of programming brings car enthusiast television to Prime Time Monday through Thursday. Now available in more than 63 million homes in North America, SPEED Channel is the fastest growing sports cable network in the country and the home to NASCAR TV.

 

IHRA is part of Clear Channel Entertainment’s Motor Sports division.

 

Airdates for the Hooters IHRA Drag Racing Series on Speed Channel follow:

 

(All times Eastern)

 

3rd Annual Amalie Oil Texas Nationals, presented by Ancira, Cars, Trucks and RVs

San Antonio Raceway, San Antonio, Texas

 

Saturday, April 17, 4 p.m. Original *

Saturday, April 17, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, April 19, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, April 19, 4 p.m. Repeat **

 

34th Annual IHRA Spring Nationals, presented by Advance Auto Parts

Rockingham Dragway, Rockingham, N.C.

 

Saturday, May 8, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, May 15, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, May 10. 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, May 17, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

4th Annual ACDelco Nationals

Virginia Motorsports Park, Richmond, Va.

 

Saturday, June 5, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, June 12, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, June 14, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, June 14, 4 p.m. Repeat **

 

5th Annual MOPAR Canadian Nationals

Grand Bend Motorplex, Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

 

Saturday, July 10, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, July 17, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, July 12, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, July 19, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

2nd Annual Rocky Mountain Nationals

Budweiser Motorsports Park, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

 

Saturday, July 24, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, July 31, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, July 26, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, August 2, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

2nd Annual Motor City Nationals

Milan Dragway, Detroit, Mich.

 

Monday, August 16, 3 p.m. Original *

Monday, August 21, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, August 23, 2 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, August 23, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

3rd Annual ACDelco Canadian Nationals

Toronto Motorsports Park, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

 

Saturday, September 11, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, September 18, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, September 13, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, September 20, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

3rd Annual Bethesda Softworks Northern Nationals

U.S. 131 Motorsports Park, Grand Rapids, Mich.

 

Monday, September 27, 3 p.m. Original *

Saturday, October 2, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, October 4, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, October 4, 4 p.m. Repeat **

 

27th Annual Sunoco World Nationals, presented by PPG

Norwalk Raceway Park, Cleveland, Ohio

 

Saturday, October 16, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, October 23, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, October 18, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, October 25, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

9th Annual Amalie Oil North American Nationals

New England Dragway, Boston, Mass.

 

Saturday, October 30, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, November 20, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, November 1, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, November 22, 3:30 p.m. Repeat **

 

13th Annual Presidents Cup Nationals

Maryland International Raceway, Washington, D.C.

 

Saturday, November 27, 5 p.m. Original *

Saturday, December 18, 5 p.m. Original **

Monday, November 29, 3 p.m. Repeat *

Monday, December 20, 3 p.m. Repeat **

 

9th Annual Hooters World Finals

Rockingham Dragway, Rockingham, N.C.

 

To Be Announced

 

* - Denotes Top Fuel and Pro Modified competition

 

** - Denotes Funny Car and Sunoco Pro Stock competition

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt


×
×
  • Create New...