Jump to content

Ark-La-Tex Spwy. $5000 to win I-Stock win goes to

Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release Contact Bill Martin

Jan. 26, 2004 (319) 472-2201, x225


Christians cashes in at Ark-La-Tex Stock Car Nationals

VIVIAN, La. (Jan. 25) – The tow to Louisiana paid off big time for

Wisconsin’s Jeremy Christians, winner of Sunday’s inaugural I.M.C.A. Sunoco

Stock Car Nationals at Ark-La-Tex Speedway.

Christians started on the pole and led all 50 laps to collect $5,000, the

biggest payday in division history. From Horicon, Christians took the checkers

ahead of defending national champion Duain Pritchett of Combine, Texas.

Rounding out the top four were hard chargers Damon Murty of Chelsea, Iowa,

and Texan Raymond King of Mesquite. Murty was third after starting 17th while

King made his fourth place run from dead last in the field of 20.

Cautions came out in a hurry in the early going, with outside front row

starter Chad Estes, Scotty Brown and Mike Nichols making hurried trips to the

pit area to change flat tires following a lap two fracas.

Steve Jackson and Mark Mohon were looking for ways around Christians before

another round of flats struck. Jackson exited on lap eight, Modified regular

David Murray Jr. on lap 10 and Nichols on lap 15. Estes broke and brought out

what would be the final yellow flag of the race on lap 15.

King needed just 12 times around the track to get into the top five while

Mohon fell off the pace around midway. Murty passed King for third with 10 laps


Getting faster as the laps counted down, Christians stuck to the low line

and finally began to pull away with 15 circuits left. Pritchett, in turn, had a

six car-length advantage ahead of Murty at the end.

Ninety-eight cars vied for spots in the main event.

The entire Stock Car Nationals program was held Sunday after Saturday’s

scheduled qualifying races were rained out.

Feature Results – 1. Jeremy Christians; 2. Duain Pritchett; 3. Damon Murty;

4. Raymond King; 5. Todd Inman; 6. Kevin Nixon; 7. Mark Mohon; 8. Travis Evans;

9. Jason Schoenberger; 10. Charlie Wilson; 11. Jason Schlangen; 12. Jimmy

Moreland; 13. Steve Jackson; 14. Shawn Hoskins; 15. Mike Nichols; 16. Chris

Ullrich; 17. David Murray Jr.; 18. Scotty Brown; 19. Chad Estes; 20. Billy

Melton Jr.




IMCA Modified results

Modified A FEATURE Jeff Dykes, Wes Armstrong, B.J. Robinson, David Alen McKay, Ronny Yielding, Brandon Melton, Jamie Burford, Jayson England, Joel Couvillian, Chris Henigan, Alan Brown, Jesse James Freelen, Kevin Simpson, Rick Duke, Billy Melton, Tommy Joe Henigan, Butch Groben, David Trauernicht, Scotty Brown, Adam Martin


B FEATURE #1: Jesse James Freelen, Kevin Simpson, Scotty Brown, Jamie Burford, Kyle Taylor, Lee Patton, Kayle Campbell, Sammy Thomson, Lew Lyles, Jim Bryant, John Riley, Mike Morris, Clint Chambers, Mike Birkenstock, Brian Angell, Dennie Gieber, Troy Keith, Robert Taylor, Blaine Shives, Rob Roy, Robbie McClain, Bonny C. Perry, Jason Cooper


B FEATURE #2 Butch Gruben, Chris Henigan, Billy Melton, Rick Duke, Chris Glick, G W Ebert, Shane Clement, Jim Burford, Chase Glick, Dwight Angell, Tim Motley, Chad Cunningham, Brad Thomas, Donnie Powers, Terry Tucsey, David Pickett, James Shinn, James B. Lewis III, Ron Dousay, Jeremy Ishman, Rod Sims, Keith McCullough, Spud Charlton, Jeff Long, Steve Crane, Windle Gaston

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...