Jump to content

Wes Hurst Memorial @ Central Ariz. Raceway Fri results


Recommended Posts

Dirt Modifieds


Heat 1: Curt Barnett, Fito Gallardo, Jack Sullivan, Jay Rosales, Don Earvan, Stormy Scott, Darren Williams, Joe Carr, Bumper Jones, Corey Hemphill


Heat 2: Tim Ward, Bryan Barsness, Royal Jones, James Pautot, Tony Steele, Rob Mayea, Jay Parvin, Christy Georges, Jason Hughes, Dave Dulceak


Heat 3: Kelly Shryock, Jesse Stoval, Steve Arpin, Alex Stanford, James Seaton, Mike Strobl, Terry Belcher Jr., Sherman Barnett, Robert Sanders, Dave Baker


Heat 4: Eddie Martin, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jason Noll, Butch Reid Sr., David Nekula, Peyton Taylor, Dave Craft, Alex Majalka, Ryan Hennessey


Heat 5: RC Whitwell, Dana Fite, Kenny Hawkins, John Morris Jr., Robbie McClain, Dennis Heath, Mike Masters, Alan Sharpensteen, Jeff Stafford


Heat 6: Anthony Madrid, Lance Mari, Tommy Weder Jr., Bo Hatfield, Chris Sims, Roy Poeling, Jeff Taylor, Brad Lovelady, Jeff Thomas


Heat 7: Chad Ayers, Johnny Scott, Chris Olexowicz, Anton Salopek, Dave Rosales, Aaron Mari, Steve Carter, Mark Harrison, Robert Adams


Heat 8: Terry Phillips, Scott Drake, Kellen Chadwick, Dylan Kelfer, Richard Johnson, Jay Foster, Ty Warner, Nick O’Neal, Brian Clark


Heat 9: Jack Sullivan, Johnny Scott, Fito Gallardo, Jay Rosales, Bumper Jones, Joe Carr, Don Earvan, Darren Williams, Corey Hemphill


Heat 10: Royal Jones, Jason Hughes, Rob Mayea, Christy Georges, Bryan Barsness, Tony Steele, Jay Parvin, Dave Dulceak, James Pautot


Heat 11: Steve Arpin, Jesse Stoval, Alex Stanford, Mike Strobl, Terry Blecher Jr., James Seaton, Robert Sanders, Sherman Barnett, Dave Baker


Heat 12: Jason Noll, Peyton Taylor, Ricky Thornton Jr., Butch Reid Sr., Ryan Hennessey, Alex Majalka, David Nekula, Dave Craft


Heat 13: Alan Sharpensteen, Robbie McClain, Dana Fite, Kenny Hawkins, Dennis Heath, Mike Masters, John Morris Jr., Jeff Stafford


Heat 14: Tommy Weder Jr., Lance Mari, Jeff Thomas, Bob Hatfield, Roy Poeling, Chris Sims, Brad Lovelady, Jeff Taylor


Heat 15: Johnny Scott, Anton Salopek, Chris Olexowicz, Robert Adams, Dave Rosales, Aaron Mari, Steve Carter, Mark Harrison


Heat 16: Scott Drake, Jay Foster, Kellen Chadwick, Dylan Kelfer, Richard Johnson, Brian Clark, Nick O’Neal, Ty Warner


C-Main: Christy Georges, Mike Strobl, Bumper Jones, Terry Belcher Jr., Jay Rosales, Richard Johnson, Dylan Kelfer, Lance Mari, Nick O’Neal, Butch Reid Sr., Alex Majalka, John Morris Jr., Brad Lovelady, Ryan Hennessey, Ty Warner, James Seaton, Bo Hatfield, Robert Adams, Bryan Barsness, Joe Carr, Dave Rosales, Jay Parvin, Kenny Hawkins, Roy Poeling, Mike Masters, Tony Steele, Brian Clark, Don Earvan


B-Main: Jesse Stoval, Rob Mayea, Jay Foster, Jason Hughes, Anton Salopek, Fito Gallardo, Stormy Scott, Christy Geroges, Bumper Jones, Mike Strobl, Ricky Thornton Jr., Chris Olexowicz, Alex Stanford, Aaron Mari, Dylan Kelfer, Jeff Thomas, Terry Belcher Jr., Lance Mari, Kellen Chadwick, Robbie McClain, Dana Fite, Peyton Taylor, Jay Rosales, Nick O’Neal, Richard Johnson


Qualifying A-Main: (Top 5 to Wes Hurst Memorial Main Event) RC Whitwell, Steve Arpin, Kelly Shryock, Jason Hughes, Tommy Weder Jr., Jesse Stoval, Jack Sullivan, Terry Phillips, Chad Ayers, Rob Mayea, Johnny Scott, Royal Jones, Alan Sharpensteen, Bumper Jones, Curt Barnett, Jason Noll, Scott Drake, Anthony Madrid, Christy Georges, Jay Foster (NF), Fito Gallardo (NF), Eddie Martin (NF), Stormy Scott (NF), Tim Ward (NF), Anton Salopek (NS)


** 75 Modifieds**


** 10 states & 1 Canadian province represented (AZ, NC, CA, NM, TX, OK, MO, IA, OR, AR & Ontario)


Race Notes: At the start of the 25-lap qualifying feature, Fertile, Iowa standout Kelly Shryock took the lead at the drop of the green from the pole and jumped out to a sizeable lead over a great side by side battle for second between Curt Barnett and Anthony Madrid. The action was hot and heavy, but was slowed quickly on lap 2 for a 2-car crash in turn two.


On the restart, Skryock again jumped out to a huge advantage and began to drive away, while Eddie Martin and Terry Phillips were racing hard for 5th until Martin jumped to the top side of the speedway and raced by Phillips into fourth, then zoomed by RC Whitwell into third and then screamed by Barnett into second and set his sights on Shryock, but Kelly was running all alone out front until a lap 6 caution slowed the action again and eliminated the lead Shryock had built up.


Just prior to the restart, second running Martin developed some type of mechanical trouble and pulled his #51 into the pit area, ptting Whitwell on Shryock’s back bumper for the restart. Once the green flew, the action was INCREDIBLE as Steve Arpin jumped to the high line and raced from 5th to 2nd in one lap and began to put heavy pressure on Shryock. Meanwhile, 20th starting Jason Hughes has stormed through traffic into the top 10 and was wasting no time on his way to the front.


Back up front, Arpin and Shryock ran side by side for the lead, with Whitwell right there as well, but one more caution flew on lap 10, setting up a killer 15-lap dash for the checkered.


This time on the restart, Arpin, Whitwell and Shryock resumed their battle for the lead, while Hughes slid into 4th and made it a phenomenal 4-car battle for the top spot. The top four were running 3 and 4 wide for the lead until Whitwell slid under Shryock into the lead and began to drive away with about 5 laps remaining. Whitwell then drove off for the qualifying feature win ahead of Hughes, Arpin, Shryock and Tommy Weder Jr. Hughes was then docked 2 spots for over-aggressive driving during the feature, elevating Arpin to second and Shryock to third at the end.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...